We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent Wetherspoons” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Albert and The Lion

The Albert and The Lion
Promenade, Blackpool FY1 4RU, England
01253 743690
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #108 of 533 Restaurants in Blackpool
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
High Peak
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“An excellent Wetherspoons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed the weekend and ate our meals in the Albert. The staff were very helpful, and the service was quick. The food was excellent, and did not cost the earth. We will eat there again. Recommended as you also have a good view of the sea and front.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    157
    66
    33
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Not bad for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Went on a Saturday with my daughter, after another place I wanted to eat at was closed. It was typical pub grub, at typical pub grub prices. It was lunch time, and very very busy, however there were two doormen on, stopping any rowdy people coming in. I would definitely go back tho.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leyland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Where's Woolies?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

As a 'sand grown 'un' returning home I was staggered to see how good the prom looked. Freezing cold day so nipped in to 'Spoons'. Food hot and ok. Good value for money. Beer excellent and Staff exceptionally friendly. Could have been a bit cleaner but ok. Will return. Dread to think what its like in middle of season but hey, this is Blackpool! Don't be snobby or pretentious!
(The title refers to what this place use to be, i.e. the old Woolworth's that adorns every Tower view post-card of Blackpool.)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Had a great day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

had a great day here had a few pints of John Smiths and my partner had a bottle of hardy,s rose wine a cheap day and we decided to eat and choose 2x rump steaks and chips it was really nice and served with a smile , cant fault them at all will go back again soon .

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We go to Blackpool quite regually and have eaten in here lots and also have had many drinks in there aswell, this is one of the nicer Whethersppons they have in Blackpool as they now have 3 there this one is on the front so a lovely view, The food very Good drinks nots to expensive as the food isnt either. A friendly place with a good ambieience .

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Albert and The Lion also viewed

Blackpool, Lancashire
Blackpool, Lancashire
 
Blackpool, Lancashire
 

Been to The Albert and The Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Albert and The Lion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.