We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a delight....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Marina

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Marina
Save
You added The Marina to your Saves list
30 Gynn Avenue, Blackpool FY1 2LD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #166 of 897 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“What a delight....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This has got to be the most cleanest and most comfortable hotel we have stayed in ever in Blackpool. Beautiful room on the ground floor with a kingsize four poster bed was just a few steps away from an extremely tasty breakfast in the cosy dining room. The owner Marie was charming and we will definitely be staying there again. Give it a try cos we have now found our new home from home.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
42
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Enjoyed a 2 night stay at the Marina. Spotlessly clean, comfortable , and an excellent breakfast.Ideally situated for Cleveleys + Lytham,If you want a quieter few hours away from central Blackpool.Marie couldn't do enough for us to be made welcome.Recommended!.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I stayed at this B&B with my sister, Mum and Nanna last week and was pleasantly surprised. We originally booked into the Savoy (sounds quite nice right.... Nooooooo) my sister changed this booking due to terrible reviews on here and then chose 'The Marina'.

There is no immediate 'car park' as such but plenty of road side space on the same road as the B&B or the adjacent road - plenty of space. The hotel is nice and secure with 2 doors to enter and the door is always locked this was the first thing I noticed. Me and my sister were lucky enough to get the key for the bigger and brighter room - the colours are turquoise on the images and were more than happy with this room, we presumed it was a family room, it was perfect for a couple of bubbly drinks with all, before going out to eat. The bed was lovely and comfy, the room quiet and a perfect night sleep we had too!
The bathroom was clean, basic but clean and with everything you needed and more i.e. toiletries if you forgot.

The lady who owned the B&B was exceptionally helpful in providing information on the local area and very 'people friendly' - we ate at AJ's Bistro on the night which was cheap and cheerful and recommend by the hotel, a lovely start to our evening. The breakfast was more than enough with all the usual and definitely satisfying after a few too many the night before!
My Nanna also noticed there were lots of games and books too for the kids should the weather treat you as it did us and you fancy a bit of time inside.

The wifi was great too - a usual gripe of mine in B&B's/Hotels etc.

All in all a lovely little find - this place has shown me that there are actually nice B&B's in Blackpool! ;)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My husband, 17 year old daughter & myself have just returned today from a 3 day break in Blackpool during which we had the pleasure of staying at this lovely B&B. The family room we stayed was very spacious and I was surprised at how light & bright & cosy it was. Bedlinen was lovely white, laundered complimented with coordinating throws & we all had a fabulous sleep on the comfortable mattresses. Breakfast was an excellent choice of cereals, grapefruit, toast with various jams& marmalade s, fresh fruit, yoghurts as well as a menu for cooked breakfast, scrambled eggs ...oh and I can't forget the potato scones which my daughter raved about...lol...Marie the owner and Anna her right hand lady were both excellent hosts - very friendly, full of local information and made us feel as if we were visiting friends. I would definitely recommend this B&B to everyone visiting Blackpool as it was close enough to access the prom and was far enough away to allow you peace & quiet from the main area...SIMPLY PERFECT!!!! Free WIFI was a must with a 17 year old in tow and we were happy to say it worked perfectly...Many Thanx to Marie & Anna for our perfect stay & we will definately be back..xx

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We arrived on the 9/4/2013 we booked 2x rooms , staying for 2 nights , firstly researching the Internet for several days and was nearly giving up hope to finding anywhere decent in Blackpool , until this little goldmine turned up .Maria the owner was very obliging from start too the finish of our holiday.on the evening of booking it we rang the Marina late in the hope that we could chat about the rooms we wanted and to our surprise Marina answered and answered all our questions she then gave us time without any obligation time to discuss and call her back ,we did just that .we came with one of our children and her friend they had a lovely clean king size bed with en suite and we were downstairs in a large double room with a four poster bed and en suite ,in both rooms were tea and coffee making facilities and biscuits and chocolates a lovely welcome surprise the bedding was very clean and there were clean lovely White towels and complementary toiletries .breakfast was served promptly and delicious and nothing was too much trouble such as ,crispy bacon ,extra egg and a vegetarian option ect ,in our surprise I mentioned we drink fresh cream in our coffee at home and the very next day there was a pot cream on the table the next day ,maria and Anna could not do enough they were extremely friendly and helpful by explaining prices and places to visit ,eating out places ,trams , buses to try and keep the costs low .all in all we found this gem to be of excellent value ,we even stayed a extra night because of the warm welcome we received ,anyone looking at the Marina should seriously give it a try because I and my partner have high standards ,honest to say I researched about 70 guest / bed and breakfast in Blackpool and none of them came up to any scratch accept this one . All we can say is thank you so much ,we will defiantly come again if we visit Blackpool again .

Room Tip: The front downstairs room ,was great for a disabled person ,had a four poster bed and en suite and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Marina for two nights. The room was very cosy, the service was great, really tasty breakfast which came with entertainment supplied by Sushi the resident Jack Russell!

Blackpool was freezing but we had a very warm welcome at the Marina which was good value for money and a short walk from the centre of town.

We would definitely recommend it as a place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room with a four poster bed which was very comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Just back from a great three night stay at the Marina, our room was lovely, very clean, bright and very spacious, complete with tea/coffee plus biscuits and complementary toiletries Clean towel are available every day if required. Breakfast was very good with a big choice. The Marina is in a quiet street but close to everything. Owners were very friendly and welcoming! Overall great value for money

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marina

Address: 30 Gynn Avenue, Blackpool FY1 2LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 897 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.