We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manchester House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Manchester House to your Saves list
Manchester House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   77 Withnell Rd, Blackpool FY4 1HE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 910 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
staffs
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed for our 4th time on February 13th 2013 and as usual we were greeted with a nice welcoming and friendly manner. The room was very warm and clean, hospitality is second to none, breakfast was excellent, we were the only ones in the hotel as Heath and Diane were decorating their hallway this did not affect us in anyway and they were still very helpful in recommending things for us to do Thanks and see you hopefully again later in the year.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
32
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

stayed ther 1st wk nov, great location on south shore right next to the pleasure beach, really nice bnb, clean rooms (cleaned daily), heath really helpfull and very welcoming andfriendly.. will deffo be staying there again next year

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

After reading extensive reviews through 100's of hotels looking for a 2 night family trip with 3 teenage children we booked the only 2 remaining rooms (3 days before arriving) at Manchester House during half term. The hotel have a non stag/hen night policy and welcomed families, this and reviews of cleanliness and en-suites made it an an easier decision for us.
We booked late, so we contacted the hotel direct to confirm availability and being family of 5 with 3 young teenagers was ok -as some booking companies advise only suitable for children 12 and under. After confirming, we paid a deposit which was ok even this late and was done over the phone.
The rooms we had were on the top floor, were tastefully decorated, rooms cleaned and beds were made daily. Breakfast was great -nice touch with home made halloween cakes- athough MH has a bar, TV and pool table in Lounge, we did not have time to try these or the evening meals which did smell really good.
The hotel is situated 5mins walk for pleasure beach, promenade and Sth Beach/PB tram stops (£9 for family of 5 for day). Sth Beach rail station is less than 10min walk, Nth Beach rail station along with Tower and town centre approx 2miles away.
2 Days were not quite enough for what we wanted but would return to lovely hosts in Heath & Diana again.
Many thanks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stopped here with our young family in a room with a double, a bunk and a single bunk. It was one of the only guesthouses in the area that could accommodate 5 in a single room as we wanted.

The room was spotlessly clean as was the rest of the hotel. The quality of the breakfast is excellent and there is a wide variety of choice. The children were also well catered for with a choice of smaller breakfast in any combination they preferred.

The hotel has parking to the rear which we were invited to use when we arrived and the owners kindly let us use their space at the front on the hotel on the day we left which was really useful.

The hotel is situated near the south pier and is close to the Water Park which is the main reason we visited Blackpool. It is a good walk to the tower but there is a tram stop at the end of the road if you prefer not to walk.

The owners try very hard to make a good impression and are prepared to go that extra mile to make your stay a pleasant one. This certainly sets them apart in a town with so many guesthouses and choices of accommodation.

Overall highly recommended for young families or couples.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This place is excellent heath and diana were very welcoming and nothing was to much trouble. The room was spotless and the food was lovely. I hope to return in the future once again thankyou for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We booked the Manchester after night after night trawling though reviews and booking sites. We rang the hotel direct, this saved us about £30 than if we booked through a website.

We went to Blackpool via train, the cost of a taxi to the hotel from Blackpool North Trainstation was £8 and Diana (proprietor) advised us not to pay more than £9-£10, so she was right.

When we arrived we were greeted by Heath & Diana. We checked in and were taken to our room.
The room was immaculately clean. We had a family room which consisted of a double bed and bunk beds.

After spending nights out we were greeted but Heath & Diana in the Bar area, where we spent some time chatting. Drinks were reasonably priced and there were options for the kids.

Breakfast was lovely and there was plenty of choice. Our kids thoroughly enjoyed the stay and if we return to Blackpool we will definitely look to book the Manchester Hotel again!!!

Room Tip: We had family room 2 which was lovely. it was overlooking the road, but it was not a busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Excellent, excellent.excellent this is our 4th time staying at the Manchester House and can not wait to go back Easter .Rooms are spotless clean. food excellent plenty of choice for breakfast.The Manchester House is home from home . I traveled with my mum who is 73 years and disabled Diana and Ethe look after my mum like this was there own mum.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manchester House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester House

Address: 77 Withnell Rd, Blackpool FY4 1HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 910 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Manchester House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Manchester House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manchester House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.