We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love Rutlands” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rutlands Hotel,

Rutlands Hotel,
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rutlands Hotel, to your Saves list
Rutlands Hotel,
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   13 Hornby Road, Blackpool FY1 4QG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #172 of 897 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“We love Rutlands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Came on a girls weekend away using a wowcher deal.
Was greeted immediately by Maxine and Paul who where SOO lovely, telling us where to visit and the best places for Blackpool night life. For what we paid we where expecting a lot less! The rooms where so homely and we had the comfiest bed I've ever slept in! Maxine came to check on how we where doing and was so lovely telling us to take care and be safe. Had a lovely cooked breakfast both mornings with cereals and fresh juice! Maxine treated us like her daughters the whole time and we have already decided to come back and stay at Rutlands again later in the year.
We had soap and towels waiting in our room, along with our wine! Had a lovely hot shower everyday. We really didn't expect so much value or such lovely owners. Really chuffed with our visit.
Maxine and Paul where only a knock of a door away and we could have gone to ask them anything at anytime.
Our only fault (being girls) was no full length mirror! But even then Maxine let us use one in another room and advised they where being put into our rooms soon. So will be there for our next visit :)
Not sure why I've seen previous bad reviews as couldn't disagree more.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutlands13, Manager at Rutlands Hotel,, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Hey girls thank you for your kind review very much appreciated! Remember the curfew lol!! Maxine said next time you come she will come out with you to keep an eye on you all or it may be the other way round ;-)
Seriously though thank you again and look forward to seeing you later in the year.

ps: Mirror duly in room now ;-)

Paul & Maxine x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    4
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
25
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We came to the rutlands hotel on a wowcher deal and we was very impressed. On arriving, we was greeted by maxine the landlady who gave us directions to a local, secure and very cheap car park. Maxine was very friendly, welcoming and helpful and has been throughout our stay. Our room was lovely and spotlessly clean and had our bottle of wine waiting for us in the room. The bed was also very comfortable. Breakfast both mornings we stayed was lovely and the lady who worked at the rutlands and served our breakfast was also very
pleasant and helpful. We had tea and coffee facilities in our room which was also topped up the next day. The Rutland is also in a great location, 5 min walk to shops and prom. We enjoyed our weekend ever so much and thank you to maxine and Paul for having us stay. We would definitely book to stay at the rutlands hotel again. :-)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbo1313, Manager at Rutlands Hotel,, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Hi Emily - thank you for your kind review of Rutland's, ourselves and Room 2. Glad you enjoyed your breakfast and that it set you up for the day in Blackpool.

It was our pleasure to have you stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Booked through a wowcher deal landlady was very welcoming to us even though we arrived 20 minutes later than the check in time and was very friendly and chatty when checking in asking us when we would like our breakfast the following morning as we were the only 2 booked into it. The room was very nice and had wine waiting for us as part of the deal. Great location! Breakfast was very nice but I would say it's on the small side and i was asked if I would like mushrooms but the landlady disappeared and never returned not wanting to be rude we sat waiting with clean plates for them to be cleared but had to shout through to kitchen where the landlord appeared from who we only saw the once. After our day out we returned to the room where we had run out of milk and sugar which in the first place had only enough to make three drinks. I went looking for the landlady but couldn't see her which I found on most occasions nobody was ever about and would love to know where the bar was as never even saw it! Would of been nice to have a drink before we went out that night.. unfortunately we had to leave quite early in the morning but couldnt let them know as they weren't around to tell the evening before so had to leave keys on shelf after staying at the Rutland in the week I would say they are less concerned about their guests as they would be at the weekend.I think I would return though if I returned to blackpool as all in all we enjoyed our stay :)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Have to say don't recognise the place from reviews. Arrived Friday evening on weekend of bad weather. Landlady opened door asked if top floor was ok give us key and disappeared no showing us to room. Got to room which had a faulty lock was a family room with double bed and bunk beds not ideal as room was small enough without bunk bed. We were on a Wowcher deal which wasn't particularly cheap the deal included bottle of wine no sign of it in room. Went looking for landlady to give voucher and ask about wine and parking. Said wine was in car and advised using pay car park not to leave car outside at all went to check restrictions clearly stated Mon-Sat 8am-6pm only this was 8pm! Room was disappointing lumpy bed very small TV no toiletries shower very dated and poor water pressure.

Went to breakfast which was quite nice freshly cooked and served by pleasant lady. Tried to connect to WIFI wasn't working. Location was convenient for shopping. Next day went to breakfast quieter in dining room breakfast was left on table whilst eating cereal no pleasantries looked like been cooked for an hour.

Still no WIFI and still no wine left after breakfast rather disappointed in experience.

In summary handy for shops and decent breakfast one day even at discounted price would not use again no free parking either and bring your own wine!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutlands13, Manager at Rutlands Hotel,, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay, if you had pointed out some of your concerns we could have assisted in rectifying them.

In response to some of your observations; you arrived down for breakfast on both mornings 20 minutes late but we wished to provide you with a service, therefore switched everything back on again and made you breakfast. If the food wasn't up to the usual high standard its because it had been left waiting for you to eventually arrive for breakfast.

The wine was waiting for you at checkout but you decided to leave you key without even voicing your problems or giving us a chance to give you the wine - strange that every other guest that weekend received their wine.

Car parking - maybe we should have let you park outside and receive a ticket from the very officious traffic wardens - we don't advertise free car parking and once again was trying to provide you with a service! I will certainly check the lock for the room. As for the size of the room, they are what they are - not the biggest granted but certainly adequate and in line with many hotel rooms in Blackpool, after all we are not the Ritz!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Home yesterday from a lovely weekend away thanks to a wowcher deal. Great value for money as the room was well furnished (comfiest bed I've slept on in a while) and very nice, modern decor (r14). Had good lighting, TV with free view, nice and warm as it was typical February weather. Breakfast was really good, loads to go around and loads of tea, our favourite!! Maxine and staff were very friendly and helpful, as travelling with another couple we got rooms beside each other which made it all the more fun!! Overall, a brilliant little find and if I am back in Blackpool I will come back to the rutlands :D definitely recommend

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutlands13, Manager at Rutlands Hotel,, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for your kind review and the appreciation of the service we offer you and other guests. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to Rutland's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Just back from a weekend in Blackpool at this lovely little hotel/guest house. Maxine and Paul did all they could to make our stay comfortable. Room was very clean and breakfast was amazing. Well cooked, good portions and all you could want. Close to the town centre but not noisy the location was great. Lots of welcome advice about where to go, what to see and where to eat! Will definitely visit again! Thanks again to two great hosts!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutlands13, Manager at Rutlands Hotel,, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Hey guys - thank you for the great review and your feedback. Look forward to seeing you both again in the future, you know where we are. Fair points on the towel rail, I will be on to that ;-)
Take care and once again it was our pleasure to be of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham england
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stayed here on a woucher deal,but i would definateley pay the full price if i ever return to blackpool.we were made very welcome by paul and maxine on arrival and given the keys to our room which was room 3.the room was quite adequate for my wife and i,and was very clean and tidy and the bedding was lovely.the only issue we had with the room was the lack of hanging space in the room,maybe some coat hooks on the wall and a towel rail in the en suite but these are just minor points that didn't effect our stay.the breakfast was excellent and service aswell.
thank you paul and maxine for a great weekend.stayed 22/24 november.
kevin & lynne

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rutlands Hotel,? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rutlands Hotel,

Address: 13 Hornby Road, Blackpool FY1 4QG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 897 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rutlands Hotel, 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rutlands Hotel, 13 Hornby Road, Blackpool, Lancashire. FY1 4QG ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Venere, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rutlands Hotel, reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rutlands Hotel,, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.