We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Rutlands Guest house, Blackpool.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rutlands Hotel

Rutlands Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Rutlands Hotel to your Saves list
Rutlands Hotel
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   13 Hornby Road, Blackpool FY1 4QG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #151 of 910 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Rutlands Guest house, Blackpool.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We Recently stayed at the Rutlands guest house Blackpool for a weekend. I took a large party of family and friends for pre marital celebrations. We have been going to Blackpool for 15 yrs and stayed at various places I have to say this was the best place we've stayed by far. I feel like we found a true little gem of a bed and breakfast in Blackpool. The place was very well decorated modern and spotlessly clean. The beds were very comfortable and rooms all with en suite were well maintained. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious the owners Paul and Maxine were so hospitable and very accommodating nothing was a problem or any trouble for them. They went over and above any of our expectations to make our full parties stay very pleasurable. Best value money could buy and we will definitely be returning next year and hopefully many more too. Excellent place to stay carol and Kev Middlesbrough.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbo1313, Owner at Rutlands Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hi Carol & Kev - thanks for your kind comments it is really appreciated and that you enjoyed staying with us at the Rutland's. It was a pleasure to host you all and already look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. The "banter" in the bar made it also an enjoyable night for us and it didnt seem like work at all ;-).
See you soon
Love Paul & Maxine xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    5
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
11
27
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at Rutlands hotel for one night in April and I couldn't pick a fault with the whole place. The rooms were kept very clean and were a lot bigger than expected. Unfortunately, I couldn't make it to make it to breakfast as I went for a walk along the beach, however I was reliably informed that the selection was great and everybody thoroughly enjoyed it. The personal touch made the stay for us, the man who worked at the bar was exceptionally friendly and went the extra mile for all of our requests, he had a host of skills and jokes that made everyone laugh all night.

I can't wait until next year!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbo1313, Owner at Rutlands Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay and the accommodation. We certainly enjoyed you staying with us and the drinks in the bar ;-) - look forward to seeing you again next year - you may be able to make breakie next time ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

In a town that 'has more b+bs than the whole of Portugal' your spoilt for choice. This place however is a real gem, Maxine and Paul are wonderful hosts who go out of their way to make you feel at home. No problem is too small so if you need anything just ask. The B+B is in a traditional style. Spotlessly clean and very comfy beds. The breakfast is delicious and served quick with lots of tea and toast. Excellent location and you couldn't ask for anything more.

Support the local companies, forget the big hotels, there dated anyway and you won't get better service.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbo1313, Owner at Rutlands Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
hi Rachael - thank you for your kind considered comments. It was our pleasure to make your stay as comfortable as we could (especially as you were both running a 26 mile marathon!). Hopefully see you both for next years run or sooner if you decide to come on a girly break ;-)
Take care
Paul & Maxine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I was in a party of 15 ladies enjoying a Blackpool hen weekend. We pretty much had the whole B&B to ourselves ! Our hosts Maxine and Paul treated us like family. We raided the bar on arrival, what they didn't have in they bought in just for us...thats what you call good service. Bedrooms were small and compact but spotless as were the bathrooms. The location was a 5 min walk from Town centre and equal distance to the seafront. Full english breakfast on both mornings with unlimited tea a toast was a highlight ;-) Would deffo recommend staying here to anyone. Thanks to Maxine and Paul :-)

Room Tip: Some room were doubles, twins and other had double bed with bunkbeds in, so plenty to choose from !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbo1313, Owner at Rutlands Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your review Tee, it was a pleasure to make your stay enjoyable. Sorry for filling your glass up too much with Martini ;-)
Take care Paul & Maxine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Have just returned from the most perfect weekend in Blackpool. 15 of us stayed here and could not fault not a single. The location was spot on, the rooms were clean and comfy, plenty to choose from for breakfast (the cooked breakfast wasn't even remotely greasy) and Maxine & Paul couldn't do enough for us. They were friendly, helpful and accommodating from the minute we arrived to the minute we left. The downstairs bar was very well priced and well stocked and we were made to feel completely at home. Would recommend it to anyone (and I worked in travel for 8 years so I'm very difficult to please!). Massive thank you to Maxine & Paul :o)

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbo1313, Owner at Rutlands Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments Vicki - it was a fun weekend and glad you enjoyed your stay at the Rutlands and in Blackpool. Look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Paul & Maxine x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Small family run hotel in North Pier area of Blackpool. I recently booked a couple of rooms for a colleague and I when we attended a convention at the nearby Winter Gardens. The rooms were small (normal for Blackpool B&B) but nicely furnished, very clean and kept warm (it was February). Lots of hot water and good water pressure. Excellent tea/coffee facilities and Freeview TV in the room. Very friendly and helpful staff and a substantial well cooked breakfast. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. Very reasonably priced. Thank you. Neil Collett.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbo1313, Owner at Rutlands Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Neil, thank you for taking the time to add your comments, it is appreciated.
Kind Regards
Paul & Maxine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed for two nights during a mini heatwave in May. We had a room right at the top which was clean and comfortable. It was nicely presented with very nice bedding etc and all the facilities you would expect. The bathroom was very compact but perfectly adequate for the length of our stay. The owner was friendly and made an effort to speak to us as we were coming and going. Can't comment on the food as we didn't opt for breakfast. The location is excellent as it is just back from the main strip so still very convenient but a bit quieter than on the front. For what we paid it was excellent value for money and must be one of the cheapest around. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbo1313, Owner at Rutlands Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Hi Treacle - thank you for writing a review ;-)
We have just finished decorating the room you were in so if you visit again it will be even nicer for you ;-)
Take care and hopefully see you again in the future
Paul and Maxine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rutlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rutlands Hotel

Address: 13 Hornby Road, Blackpool FY1 4QG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 910 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rutlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Rutlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rutlands Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.