We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Blackpool!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rutlands Hotel,

Rutlands Hotel,
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rutlands Hotel, to your Saves list
Rutlands Hotel,
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   13 Hornby Road, Blackpool FY1 4QG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #172 of 897 Blackpool B&B and Inns
1 review
“Best place in Blackpool!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

Can't see how any1 can fault this place it's fantastic! Im 21 and my fiance is 23 and we had great conversations with these Great hosts, they are very very friendly people, I stayed here with my fiancé for her 23rd bday and it was a beautiful room which made it even better, we had whatever we wanted made for breakfast and had a good chat bout footy etc in the mornings and did whatever we wanted in the day, the owners are just a knock away and they will help you with everything we like it that much there we are going back at the end of this month to see the lights. Really can't wait get back to that great hotel

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbo1313, Owner at Rutlands Hotel,, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for your review it is nice to read and be appreciated. We are looking forward to meeting you again and carrying on our chats over breakfast ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    4
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
25
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the rutlands in august 2011 for the second time that year. on our first visit it was owned by lorraine and kevin who were really good hosts so much so that we had stayed there twice a year for 3 years. Before that visit in aug we had a phone call from a woman to say that there would be no sunday lunch as they had to go out (we later found out that it was to a football match) and so we would be refunded the money for that meal - it did'nt happen !!! At breakfast it was very basic with one piece of toast one butter and no offer of any more, the milk which was supposed to be available freely was none existant and the evening meals were a joke Ido not say that lightly. we left the evening before we should and when i went to hand in the keys was ignored. NEVER AGAIN. Cath n Dave, Salford.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbo1313, Manager at Rutlands Hotel,, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
This review has taken over a year to post????? We had indeed only taken over the guest house three weeks earlier so of course things were a little hectic. This wasn't even our booking but the previous owners.
Massive improvement, i would say so;
*New beds/mattresses throughout
*New carpets in majority of bedrooms
*Decorated hall way
*Flat screen TVs in all rooms
* Toiletries supplied in all rooms
*Now spotlessly clean
*New wardrobes in rooms that required

The breakfast had at that time had not changed from your previous owners, so i don't understand why your suddenly complaining and regarding evening meals we don't do on a weekend. Regarding milk not a clue what you are on about - milk is replaced daily in rooms and of course at breakfast milk is there for your cereals, coffee, etc? On departure we dont EVER ignore guests even if it is a quick good bye!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

My Husband & stayed at Rutlands hotel for a week we did not like as the was no eveing meals on Saturday or Sunday and we had to do our own toast at brekfast time we did have eveing meas from Monday- Friday but it was just a dinner & puddings on soup and the bar was not open much of the time when we there and a broken door on the wardobe they take the doors of it when we was stay there so when we went to our room to go to bed we could see all our things that we had put in the wardobe we do not think it was right for them to take the wardobe door off when they had gust in the room & my husband told them that the light above the sink in the ensuit was not working & the door to the Ensuit if we closed it it would not open so we did not close it when one of use went in to the Ensuit & only 1 bedside lamp we not be recommend to any of our friends or family and we will not be going back to it Mr& Mrs Moors Llandudno north wals

Room Tip: do not go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbo1313, Manager at Rutlands Hotel,, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Very shocked at this response, so wish to comment.

We don't do evening meals on a Saturday & Sunday - correct.
The bar wasn't open much - not correct, these guests came down to the bar on two separate occasions only to complain it was too noisy! - we offered to take their shandy's up to the sun lounge for them which they did do so. During their stay the bar was open another two occasions but as they went out they wouldn't have noticed!

The wardrobe scenario - the door did come off the hinges and needed replacing - it now has been replaced with a new wardrobe and two bed side cabinets. The shaving light above the sink - guilty, i unfortunately forgot about it!

The disappointing thing about these comments is we even arranged for their personal laundry to be cleaned and paid for it up front on their behalf - unfortunately it seems you can't please everyone all of the time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

we went to this hotel 29th june 2012 there was 17 of us who stayed there when we arrived maxine and paul really welcomed us the hotel was spotless and very clean the rooms were clean tidy and the beds were very comfortable we only had breakfast there but there was plenty of your choice the couple was very friendly too i would deffintaley go back in the near future as we had so much fun there even though i was the loudest lol they even opened up the bar for us with music to get us in the mood thanks for a great weekend we will be back take care xxxxx

Room Tip: go there you wont be dissapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbo1313, Manager at Rutlands Hotel,, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for your comments. It was a pleasure to meet you all and we both can't wait to see you again soon ;-) x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

My fiance and I stayed at Rutlands for 5 brilliant days with our little dog. The B&B was impeccable and we were very impressed with our nicely decorated, spotless room. The beds were super comfy and the cooked breakfasts each day were to die for! A mere 2 minutes walk from the beach, tower and Houndshill shopping centre, Rutlands offers a great, central place to stay for a very reasonable price. Paul and Maxine are a lovely couple who will go out of their way to ensure that your stay at Rutlands is nothing less than perfect. Thank you both so much for accommodating us and making our stay fantastic. We will definitely return in future! Best B&B in Blackpool without a doubt and i've stayed in 7 different Blackpool B&Bs over the years.

Wishing you all the best - Laura, Allan (& Bailey) x

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

would definitely recommend this hotel for a girls night out, couples or family's. we went, 6 girls and had a fab time, good prices at the bar and very well decorated and clean bed rooms, comfy beds and a lovely breakfast.
thank you so much we had so much fun, you couldn't have done any more for us, everything we asked you did. Paul and Maxine are such a fantastic couple, keep up the good work. we shall be back asap x x x x christine x x x

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

i stayed at the rutlands on sataday night with 5 friends,the hotel is the cleanest we have ever stayed in and we stayed in a few, the breakfast and service was excellent, The prices at the bar was really good but what mad our stay there the best we ever had was the owners maxine and paul i felt like we had knew them for years and they would do anything they could for you. so thank you maxine and paul we will defo be coming back to stay with you x

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rutlands Hotel,? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rutlands Hotel,

Address: 13 Hornby Road, Blackpool FY1 4QG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 897 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rutlands Hotel, 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rutlands Hotel, 13 Hornby Road, Blackpool, Lancashire. FY1 4QG ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Venere, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rutlands Hotel, reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rutlands Hotel,, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.