We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Aloha

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Aloha to your Saves list
The Aloha
218 Promenade | North Shore, Blackpool FY1 1RU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #778 of 897 Blackpool B&B and Inns
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Never Again!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

I thought the bad reviews were a little bit harsh but having stayed there they are not harsh enough!!
Time warped decor stuck in the 70's with furniture and very dirty stained carpets to match,the only half decent part about the stay was the cooked breakfast,the table cloth hadn't been changed for a while and had stains left from previous guests,the waitress was ok but brought my wife's breakfast to the table while she was still eating her cereal but just put the plate down anyway,our luxurious room's ceiling looked like it was going to cave in with all the cracks on it and the very thin mattress had a spring sticking out of the side that my wife cut her leg on,the tv was an outdated portable with a very dirty smeared screen,it was stuck on itv 4 and wouldn't change channel at all,we didn't go in to the lounge bar for a drink but we had a look in there and that was in the same state as the rest of the hotel,they say it's a budget hotel but £100 for 2 nights was too expensive for this place,if you've booked here already book a place under the pier to sleep as you'll have a much better time!!...avoid like the plague!!!,you have been warned!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    7
    2
    23
See reviews for
23
8
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We were booked to stay in the aloha from 6th aug 2012 until the 10th,when we arrived we were shown to our rooms,,well what can I say,,,
Hairs in the bed,,black stains on the carpet, pooh on the bathroom floor,, curtains hanging off the rails,,the whole place was just disgusting I wouldn't let my dog sleep there,,in my opinion the place should be shut down,, this is a honest report STEER WELL CLEAR of the place,,filthy,dirty,mrs Beasley

Room Tip: Avoid this place at all costs ??
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Would not touch this place with a barge pole! booked for a week with my sister, paid a deposit of one nite.

we were given a twin room (with one broken bed)
-the entrance hall was tired and dated,
-the room itself was DIRTY,
-the painting was terrible,
-the sink was stained
-the kettle was dirty (we refused to use it and went to a hotel further down the street who gave us tea even though we were not staying with them)
-we refused to use the water and bought bottled water to use to brush our teeth.
-there was no en-suit with our room,
-the shower room was ROTTEN,
there was a used towel on the floor,
the tiles were cracked,
the cubicle was dirty,
refused to shower in it, (would rather have been stinking myself than use it!)
-the toilet was in a seperate little pokey room,
with no sink(how is that hygienic??)

after one night, followed by a rather basic (and greasy breakfast) we decided we couldnt stay here any longer! we had booked a second room for friends who were coming to stay with us, we couldnt bring them here.

So we all moved to another B&B not 100yrds away! was like heaven! they gave us our own little flat type room with kitchen and bathroom. Fantastic! (Hotel Babylon may I add)

WARNING*****ALOHA HOTEL*****STAY CLEAR****ALOHA HOTEL*****WARNING

Room Tip: stay away for your own good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

stayed at the aloha,8th and 9th of june 2012.i'm typing this from the hotel.on their free wi/fi internet connection.Ihave no bad thing to say about the place,kirsty and alex the owners are very friendly people The roomwe stayed in was clean,bedding included in that statement.what do you expect from a hotel at this price,??I expect a clean room on-suite was also clean.some reviews are misleading in my opinion.this may not be the best hotel,but it's certainly not the worst.as for towels they can be hired from the hotel,cheaply enough.ours were clean white and fluffy.So alex and kirsty thanks for a nice stress free stay.all the best with your hotel in the future.hope to see you soon .

Room Tip: veiw the web site it as all roomdiscriptions on it.if you want seaview ask on booking for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

I arrived at the hotrel and although the owners were very nice and helpful, the rooms were disgusting:

Crumbs on the floor and even in drawers!
Dirty bedsheets.
Foul odour that even air freshner could not remove.
Bathroom was unclean.
Stains on the curtains.

I have never left a hotel before, but had to on this occasion, I could not have slept in there.

As mentioned above the owners are really nice, but the cleanliness is completely non-existent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Booked through trip adviser, it was a good price and a good location. The owners were nice people. My mate paid an extra £3 for the en suite shower, the shower was filthy. My room, i opened one of the cupboards and it was just full of crumbs. The TV was manky filled with dust, the floors had not been hoovered. We then went out around Blackpool. We ended up buying air freshener and a cup to have a brew out of, was not going to have a brew out of the provided cups. We left, and asked for a refund. There was no chance we were staying a night, at one point i was prepared to sleep fully clothed on top of the sheets but not a chance, the air freshener did not work. PLEASE READ ALL COMMENTS BEFORE BOOKING

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

This may not be the best B&B in the world in terms of comforts but for the price you're paying for an hotel with sea view is reasonable. What really makes the difference are the owners who are a lovely and helpful couple who make you really feel welcome. My friend and I went to see the Funny Girls one night and the day after on the breakfast table our souvenir photo of the show was kindly given to us by the owners who were also in attendance with some family. The breakfast was really good, and they also agreed to make it earlier for us who needed to catch a train. Can't complain at all!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Aloha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aloha

Address: 218 Promenade | North Shore, Blackpool FY1 1RU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #778 of 897 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Blackpool's Promenade makes The Aloha ideal place to stay and enjoy all Blackpool has to offer. We offer good family accommodation plus giving the emphasis on comfort, facilities and services. Blackpool is Britain's most popular holiday destination so a stay at The Aloha will be a holiday to remember. The Aloha is just a few minutes walk from Blackpool Tower, Town centre shops, restaurants, and the promenade with it's three piers.We are close to the north train station and Bus stations The Aloha is family run and welcomes families and couples for long or short breaks.We are a budget accommodation.Free WiFi in all areas,We have several large family rooms for up to 9 people ie: 2 adults & 7 children. There is a Child friendly Lounge/bar. So come and enjoy the Illuminations and the Pleasure Beach or just enjoy the Beach The Aloha Lounge/bar now re-furbished Drinks/snack's vending Machines. Games. Cards and Dominoes. Bar snack's/Meals available in season. The Aloha prides itself on the comfort of our bedrooms which are homely. New en-suites added in 2014. Standard rooms are well equipped with showers and toilets close by. All rooms include colour television with free-view. Tea and coffee making facilities. Towels and Hair dryers are available on request for a small fee. ** NO Stag/Hen or Party Groups at The Aloha, ** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Aloha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Aloha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.