We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Aloha

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Aloha to your Saves list
The Aloha
218 Promenade | North Shore, Blackpool FY1 1RU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #777 of 897 Blackpool B&B and Inns
scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

this is our second stay in the aloha kirsty alex and family are brilliant they made our holiday they are so friendly and very child friendly my grandson says he now has a second family!! the hotel has had lots of work done to it since our last stay in oct and its loookin brilliant, breakfast is excellent and the sevice is brilliant we would not stay anywhere else in blackpool and we will defeniatley be back

Room Tip: the aloha is situated close to all local amenaties
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    7
    2
    23
See reviews for
23
8
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

great place too stay,really worth the cost of hotel,food is excellent ,beds comfy,rooms spacius to move about unlike some,would go back every time i visit blackpool...even great prices in the bar/games room xxxx

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

My husband and I, and my mother in law stayed at this hotel for Blackpool's annual Pigeon weekend.

The family that have taken over this hotel 6 months ago couldnt have been more welcoming or helpful.

This hotel was very typical of many blackpool hotels with the rooms being quite small to accomodate on-suites being squeezed in. However there were some nice touches (additional) Radiator covers, flat screen tv, comfortable chair, nice pictures, just all helped to make our stay as comfortable as possible.

Our bed was quite bouncy (!) but the next surprise was the duvet! We slept like the dead! I havent slept in a bed (other than my own) that I was so cozy in. We even fell asleep when we lay down to read our books!

The food was delicious. It was home made and worth the £7 pp we paid. We had toad in the hole and shepherds pie. The first night we got apple crumble and got massive portions! It was superb. Breakfast as per usual cooked breakfast but still delicious. Maybe bigger cups for breakfast would be good. Having a cup of tea with my dinner and juice was an added bonus and a nice touch.

Location, just up from the north pier, 5 min walk to the pier and shops at the north end.

The hotel was very clean and bright, evidence of redecoration, nice light creams.
The single room was a bit small and in future my mother in law is going to upgrade to a double which I would recommend.

A good plus was no stags and hens are allowed.
We will be returning next year. See you soon guys

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

Upon arriving we were warmly greeted by Kirsty who instantly put us at ease. Our room was perfect for myself and 4 friends, Clean and well presented. The bar was everything needed welcoming, friendly, tv, music, pool table....face painting for the little ones!!! Breakfast was fantastic full english, toast, cereal tea and coffee.
Very close to beach, shops, pubs, clubs...etc.
Overall Kirsty and Alex were fantastic and I hope to take my children next year.
I would definitely reccommend to a friend. :oD

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

On arriving at the Aloha in Blackpool.. we were somewhat worried as the hotel doesnt look the poshest from the outside.. But on going inside all of our fears were instantly taken away! We were met by Alex and Kirsty who cheerfully showed us to our rooms, ours was a sea view room with a double and single bed and an en suite! Once we'd got settled we went out in Blackpool for abit and returned to be greeted at the bar.. Its basic but we liked it ! Beer and a pool table, music and a tv.. Great for what we wanted and my little girl thought it was great! After an excellents night sleep we woke to an excellent breakfast ! Made of a full english, cereal, toast, juice and tea or coffee! The rest of our holiday carried on the same way.. Cheap, friendly and excellent service! Would definaley get the 5*'s from us!! =D

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

After another, remaining nameless, guesthouse in Blackpool locked their doors and went to bed before I could check in, I had to hope upon hope that somewhere would let me lay my head for a night. My Nazarethan situation was salved when the friendly manager of the Aloha gave me a lovely sea-view double room at a very reasonable doorstep price. Breakfast was a welcome addition and, although I couldn't take advantage of it due to driving, the bar was well stocked and welcoming. If I find myself back in Blackpool agian I will check in here for sure.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

I was given the annex, which in a word is PIG STY.
It sounds like I have made this up, but in reality this is a genuine and honest account of this place (I can not bring myself to call it a hotel)
Paid for main part, but was given annex, which I can only describe as a low down, run down filthy slum, not even fit for animals.
Hairs on carpet.
Chair dirty and dusty
Every surface in room dusty
Toilet floor filthy.
Toilet walls had brick dust all over them after someone had drilled holes in the walls.
Toilet seat hinge broken, right hand side.
Toilet seat had excrement on.
Toilet bulb faulty, it took an hour to get bright.
Toilet shelf above cistern dirty.
No kettle for tea making facilities, as advertised.
No bin in room.
No bin in toilet.
No towels as advertised.
Shower broken, leaking into café underneath.
We were given another shower to use, so now we are not en-suit, as advertised.
T.V. stand filthy.
T.V. not fixed and could easily fall off and hit a child below.
Bed sheets not changed.
Pubic hairs on sheets.
Sea view windows that you could not see out of for the dirt.
Annex hallway ceiling flaking and falling on carpet.
Annex carpet was never cleaned during the whole stay and remained filthy.
Mattress springs were so bad it gave my partner a bad back.
Could not open windows for fresh air, as files on the outside of windows.
Wardrobe hinges were broken.
Scuff marks up the wall, needs painting or washing off.
Toilet door broken.
Toilet towel rail coming off.
Hallway and room cold, heating off in annex (but heating was on in the hotel)
Bed cabinets, varnish coming off.
Room ceiling was patched up everywhere.
Annex front door looked like it had been kicked in several times.
And when we went for breakfast it was the only time we managed to get warm, as the radiators were on in the hotel, but not the annex
DO NOT STAY ON ANY ACCOUNT IN THE ANNEX.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alohablackpool, Owner at The Aloha, responded to this review, March 20, 2011
This person go's around the country complaining about every where his argent family stay and use different names on TripAdvisor !!
Just look at all the other reviews to see the truth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Aloha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aloha

Address: 218 Promenade | North Shore, Blackpool FY1 1RU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #777 of 897 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Blackpool's Promenade makes The Aloha ideal place to stay and enjoy all Blackpool has to offer. We offer good family accommodation plus giving the emphasis on comfort, facilities and services. Blackpool is Britain's most popular holiday destination so a stay at The Aloha will be a holiday to remember. The Aloha is just a few minutes walk from Blackpool Tower, Town centre shops, restaurants, and the promenade with it's three piers.We are close to the north train station and Bus stations The Aloha is family run and welcomes families and couples for long or short breaks.We are a budget accommodation.Free WiFi in all areas,We have several large family rooms for up to 9 people ie: 2 adults & 7 children. There is a Child friendly Lounge/bar. So come and enjoy the Illuminations and the Pleasure Beach or just enjoy the Beach The Aloha Lounge/bar now re-furbished Drinks/snack's vending Machines. Games. Cards and Dominoes. Bar snack's/Meals available in season. The Aloha prides itself on the comfort of our bedrooms which are homely. New en-suites added in 2014. Standard rooms are well equipped with showers and toilets close by. All rooms include colour television with free-view. Tea and coffee making facilities. Towels and Hair dryers are available on request for a small fee. ** NO Stag/Hen or Party Groups at The Aloha, ** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Aloha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Aloha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.