We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and small” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Winterbourne Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Winterbourne Hotel
Save
You added Winterbourne Hotel to your Saves list
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Clarendon Road, Blackpool FY1 6EF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Dirty and small”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Don't waste your money! Loads of other places that are 15pppn that look much nicer! Room was really small, bed was not a double, bed sheets looks about 20 years old, hole in the skirting board, carpet coming up, toilets seat was broken, window was smashed, breakfast is nothing special.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesreay, Manager at Winterbourne Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
HI thank you for your review
First of all i do remember you and you were shown this room before you paid for it and we did give you a reduced rate as it is one of our rooms that has not been upgraded .
Yes there is a piece of skirting board missing Iam sorry about that but as i said before this room has not been upgraded
the toilet seat was not broken and still is'nt ??????
the window is broken now but was not before ? i am NOT saying this was you as other people have been in that room on rare occasions and it is an oversite on my behalf not to have spoted that (sorry )
You are showing the room as if that is how you went into it with all the clothes and bags all over the bed ???
this is not how we would rent them out !! i believe that was your stuff all over the bed
As for the bedding yes it is old ! but it was clean and unstained and fresh
all our laundry is done in house so we know it has been washed properly and any stained bedding towles etc either get thown away or re washed
Please do not confuse old with dirty
As for the breakfast you did have a choice of full english ie bacon,egg,sausage,tomatoes,beans fried bread ,with toast tea or coffee or cereal toast juice ,tea or coffee , no i agree it is not special but prices we charge the i think it is a good one
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay but i do wish you would have said somthing while you were here , that way we could have alteast done something about you complaints

james reay co owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    21
    1
    2
    15
See reviews for
34
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Me and my family come here every year ,They've got great entertainment (James). The reception's welcoming(Karen) ,the meals are delicious (Magret,Karen and Simon) great bar and lounge (Everyone). Bedrooms are comfortable. Not very far from the great amusements promenade and stuff like that. If you want some advice ignore the idiotic stuff everyone against the hotel (idiots) and if you want a great time stay here and enjoy the hotel :) Zach and family.

Room Tip: Pick rooms closer to the ground floor cause otherwise it takes a while to get down stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

A great place to stay, good for all the family, very friendly staff, excellent food. Great value for money from £20 per night. Loved the new Showcase Bar, pool table and bar open till late. You dont need to go out on a night everything there , great entertainment with james singing. Highly reccomend, great rooms with own shower, toilet, fresh towels and soap. We will go back again wont stay anywhere else in blackpool, thanks again to karen, james and simon for a great weekend, cya soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

what a great place i was there with my girlfriend and my dog !
the service was excellent the food was good well cooked and plentiful!!!!!!!
to much lol
the rooms are small but that was to be expected as advertised in their info .
we spent a long weekend there the total cost was only £170
for the 4 night stay with and evening meal and the dog to .
They have a little theater in the bar wow wow wow i can not believe the shows they put on there !!!!
all free!!! the musical show was unbelievable and so was the neil diamond show
for a small back street hotel the place was brilliant !!
we were gonna go out each night but ended staying in for two of the four nights .
the showers are small but ok plenty of hot water though
the furniture was a bit old but functional
will be going back soon
thanks all for a great stay :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

This hotel is the best I've been to a few in blackpool and this hotel knocks star ratings sky high the staff couldn't be more helpful food was great rooms clean fresh towels and hot water staff always had a smile no matter what time of day alway ready for banter and helpful information where to go in blackpool they make you feel like youre more than just a hotel guest more like a freind don't listen to any bad reviews the shower is not that small you can't turn round as my boyfriend is not small and he never moaned about the shower maybe the went in the broom closet lol anyway please give this hotel a try you won't be dissapointed you leave laughing not cryin ( well maybe tears of laughter) thanks karen james and simon for making my holiday one I won't fo get for a long time

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Staff can,t do enough for you, they go that extra mile, yes rooms basic and (caravan size shower adequate for washing. Water always hot. Entertainment very enjoyable and proffessional. Had a great laugh throughout long weekend. You have to remember rooms are only for sleeping in. We thought we would have to go out for entertainment but if you stay here you can't wait to get back from outing so you do not miss the entertainment. They have James who is a professional singer and very good at what he does,he puts on fab shows at no extra cost, Blackpool is quite expensive. We were astonished at only paying 20 per person for B and B I spend more at a night in the bingo.Bar prices very good they do a double house vodka etc only 2.70. Karen, Simon and James are excellent hosts. The waitress at breakfast was fab we were a party of four adults with different wants at breakfast the young lady was very patient and extremely pleasant when taking our orders. Just remember this is a 1 star hotel with 5 star staff and entertainment much more than we expected after reading some reviews. If you want five star bedrooms and 1 star hosts go elsewhere.


Svq assessor who assesses quantity and quality in meeting national care standards to the public, would recommend this hotel as long as you remember hotel rooms only for sleeping in, everything else more than meets once expectations.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We arrived at the Winterbourne for a 1 night stay, We were greeted by Karen who was very helpful and hospitalble from the word go. After an exhaustive day the entertainment in their own cabaret bar was excellent. The service was second to non and nothing was too much trouble.
I would like to thank Karen and everyone else for a relaxing comfortable stay and look forward to another visit.
Before I go dont believe everything you read when it comes to previous reviews some people are just spiteful and vindictivei f they cant get their own way.
Once again thank you for a great stay. Will return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Winterbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winterbourne Hotel

Address: 22 Clarendon Road, Blackpool FY1 6EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Winterbourne Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family friendly 1 star guest accommodation.we now have a full theatre show bar ! with a great show and great cabaret many rooms have been decorated the bar has now a pool and gaming area although most rooms are small and the shower rooms are also small they are clean and fresh with most of them with new bedding curtains and the shower rooms have also been redone hope to see you all soon. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winterbourne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.