We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fab friendly hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rhoslyn Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rhoslyn Hotel to your Saves list
Rhoslyn Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rhoslyn Hotel
10 Wellington Road, Blackpool FY1 6AR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #562 of 886 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“fab friendly hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

On arrival we were greeted by the owners and shown to our rooms which were clean and fresh. The were comfy best nights sleep I have had in a while. The breakfast was fab didn't need to eat again until evening. The owners were very friendly and went out of their way to help you. Parking was a little bit of an issue for some people as there are limited spaces, "hey it's Blackpool first come first served". The car park's at the bottom of the road. There is a nice bar to the rear of the hotel great for those nights when the kids don't want to be dragged around. Again service was great. There was none of them noisy hen or stag parties as it's couples and families only. Would recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: All the rooms were good from what others were saying during our stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houghon le spring
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

So we were due to arrive at the b&b at 7pm, arrived slightly later at 8pm, contacted them to let them know about traffic, upon arrival we were greeted with 'whose paying the bill?' Then we were showed like children how to open and close the door 'do not touch the handle!!' We then went on to the bar for a well derserved drink for my children to be told not to touch the childrens toys that had been left all over off their grand children, the whole time in the bar for our 1st drink we were not left alone to unwind,constant watch like a prison camp, if the children knocked a beer mat off the table they were there picking them up with a tut! We were then shown to our rooms (room 3 and room7 ) which were clean, spacious and very comfortable.
1st morning we were greeted and shown to our breakfast table (breakfast was good and very accomadating to our needs) we left after breakfast to explore blackpool in its full to return around 4.30pm as it was raining to find the 'bar' was closed and no drinks/snacks were available and had to seek service at a nearby hotel ( the Gainsborough, which was fab) we returned to the rhoslyn around 6ish but atmosphere was poor, got the impression that we weren't welcome, so headed back out......morning after (clocks went back) so had a 5 and 3 year old up extra early, wasn't much to entertain them apart from t.v so went down to see gran n grandad around 8ish and was told to keep the noise down, how is that possible with a 5&3 year old???? In a 'family' guesthouse...........after this we could take no more and left before breakfast was served and found it elsewhere.......would definitely stay in this accomadation again if owners switched hands!

Room Tip: Room and location excellent, did not feel welcome at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda J, Owner at Rhoslyn Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
For yours and others safety we have to show you how the front door operates as it is designed for emergency escape with out having to use a key. This family with their grandparents had no consideration for others, both mornings at 7 ish not 8 ish awoke most of the other guests, and it wasn’t the children making the noise. They came into the bar with a large push chair and parked it at the side of the pool table while two guests were playing pool. Their little girl then turned her ipad on full volume, she was asked by 3 people to turn it down, the reply was NO, NO and again NO this emptied the bar leaving a bad atmosphere..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Linda and John was very very welcoming and made us all feel at home.

The hotel was very clean all round the rooms was brilliant value for money with a bed thats comfy then ours at home, the breakfast included in the room was lovely and very well sized.

We would highly recommend this hotel to family and friends and hopefully in the near future go back ourself, keep up your good work!


















Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I really don't understand most of the negative feedback here. We've just had a great stay (on recommendation). Yes, some bits are a little bit dated but it is a B&B, not a hotel chain and was well priced. It was clean and tidy, new matresses have been put in all rooms and the TV meters are no-more.

The cooked breakfast was big enough that we didn't need to eat until the evening.

We personally found the owners very helpful, friendly and hospitable. We would definitely stay again and would recommend to our friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda J, Owner at Rhoslyn Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
All I can say is WOW thankyou for this review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just had a very nice 4 night break with the family at the Rhoslyn, big advantage getting the motor parked down the side out the way, rooms a little small but very clean and that counts the most..Nice well stocked bar with pool table and slot machine, breakfast time real nice, well cooked and enough to go round. Location is good set between the central and south pier, owners very friendly and always around for help and advice.. All round "Top Notch Place" great bargain hotel, if you looking for value break look no further...PS. They even take in families for the South "Hastings"..lol..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

After a long journey we arrived at the hotel a little early. On arrival our welcome was "Who's paying the balance" which was not the best welcome. The rooms were really clean but we had no hot water in the shower. The best part of the day was the breakfast which was nice. If your a family they wont let you use the pool table with cues they expect you to roll the balls however not a bad stay and agood location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda J, Owner at Rhoslyn Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Reader
We only ask small children to roll the ball if they are unable to use the cue in a proper manner to avoid expensive damage to the cloth. Some hotels state you must be over 14 years old to play
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Welcome wasnt that warm if i'm honest, before we could do anything I was made to demonstrate opening and closing the front door,pretty basic and spoken to like child (bit of a recurring theme), we were give the keys to the room,not shown to it or even told where it was. I'd had a can of lager on the train on the way down with leaving straight from work on the friday afternoon(stress), i'd brought the empty can with our luggage by accident and threw it in the bin without thinking there would be an issue, we put the bags in the rooms then took the kids for a little walk down the pier before bed when we got back people were in the bar and the music on, not a problem but we were given the room directly above the bar, I went down to the owners and asked to change room which they did without any fuss at all, very helpful in fact, then during taking our stuff from room to room the guy came in to clean, I came back to to get the last of out things and was confronted with the empty can of lager out the bin,like he has caught me out or something (if i was trying to hide it i wouldnt put it in the bin) and was spoken to quite rudely about how he "didnt want to see anymore of that in here" if he just would have explained to me like an adult that you cannot have alchohol in your rooms (missed the signs on arrival) I could of explained to him why it was there, so felt a bit on edge from then on, but to be honest rest of the stay was good, apart from the breakfast, although it was cooked very nicley and tasted nice also, it was quite small, myself and my 2 kids are alleric to egg so we asked not to be given any, we wernt offered anything else in replacement and that left my 7 year old girl with 1 sausage and some beans and a bit of toast for her breakfast not alot for day of activites you'll agree, she also has a nut allergy and both cereals available contained nuts. Decor very outdated and a bit of a funky smell in the bathroom, but location is brillaint bang in the middle of the central and south pier and very clean and tidy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda J, Owner at Rhoslyn Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Reader
We stock 4 different cereals 2 of which are suitable for customers with nut allergies. There is a notice in each bedroom requesting you to notify us of any dietary needs. On the dinning room door the breakfast menu is displayed with a heading stating (Unless otherwise requested the night before)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rhoslyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhoslyn Hotel

Address: 10 Wellington Road, Blackpool FY1 6AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #562 of 886 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Rhoslyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rhoslyn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.