We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks all the right boxes for seasoned B & B travellers!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grampian House

Grampian House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grampian House to your Saves list
Grampian House
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   4 Pleasant Street | North Shore, Blackpool FY1 2JA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #409 of 897 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Thetford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ticks all the right boxes for seasoned B & B travellers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

From the minute we arrived to the second we left, Richard & George were extremely pleasant, courteous, friendly & helpful. Grampian House is extremely clean & tidy throughout, the room & en-suite were spotless & kept that way for the whole week and it was an absolute pleasure to stay there.

We had the optional Full English breakfast that I personally can heartily recommend as it was good quality ingredients cooked to an extremely healthy & high standard.

Grampain House is situated very close to the pubs & clubs with approximately just a 10 minute walk to them & the town centre. The seafront is literally a stone's throw away around the corner where you will also find the bus & tram stops for travelling in either direction along the coastline. For me, the added attraction for the position of Grampian House was travelling back at night form the clubs. Take any side route from the main street, look to your left when you get to the end & there you'll see Grampian House in front of you - perfect!

I have visited many B & B guesthouses over the past 20 years & wouldn't hesitate in recommending Grampian House in terms of friendliness, cleanliness & all round great value for money. The Full English breakfast is probably the best I've had at a B & B too, Full Marks all round to the pair of you!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
14
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

This has been our second visit to Grampian house; Richard&George gave us a friendly reception on arrival and found us a free parking space outside, and nothing was too much trouble, they even supplied us with glasses and ice, so we could have a drink in the room before we went out.
The room was very clean and comfortable and everything you need in a room. We were pleased to find that the seafront is literally only 100 yards away as is the nearest tram stop!
However, the hotel is on a quiet street which is a blessing at night!
We took the full English breakfast option which was hot and tasty with plenty of toast!
As regards nightlife, we estimate a 10-12 min walk along the seafront to the nearest bars and restaurants or an 8-10 min walk straight up lord street gets you to funny girls and flying handbag/flamingos etc. (If you go there we recommend gringos fried chicken on the way back from the pubs!.)
We would highly recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

this hotel has good reviews and lives up to them well, we received a lovely welcome upon check in, we did pay full wack although prices are cheaper on the net ( my brother booked it and prefers the human touch). we added breakfast to the room for £2 each per day otherwise its a continental breakfast included.
we went up to our room (al located upstairs) which was very neat and tidy but very small but you don't need much more! all rooms are ensuite with a shower, again very clean. hot water was available at all times.
breakfast is between 9-9.30am and was just served, no choice on contents, saying this it was lovely both days with all the tea , coffee & juice you can drink!
its location is north shore so a good 10-15 minute walk to town and a good 40 mins to pleasure beach so grab a tram! but nice and quiet with friendly neighbours.
we would be happy to stay there next time!
the hotel does say parking available but it isnt, you have to park on the road (if you can!)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

Brilliant little B&B. Friendly service. All rooms were clean and tidy. We travelled in a group of 4 for a weekend mess in Blackpool and the owners could not be more helpful. When we arrived there was no-where to park outside so Richard moved his own car so we could park right outside! Would definately recommend to anyone wishing to stay the weekend in Blackpool. No Frills just down to earth rooms with tea/coffee en-suite and clean. Breakfast was good too!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

I stayed here for 2 nights last weekend and it was 10/10! My father and I had a single room each; both rooms were ensuite and they was very clean. The continental breakfast included was very nice - unlimited cereal / tea / toast until 11am (good for those who like a lie in like me!) It is about a 10/15 minute walk into the town centre and is in a quiet area so you can get a good night sleep. The owners were very nice and helpful too. I will definitely stay here again if I go back to Blackpool.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

We had a wonderful time. The owners were very helpful and attentive from the moment we arrived, showing us to our room (even carrying our case). Although the room was a little on the small side, it was perfectly adequate for our needs and immaculately clean. The hotel is well placed in a quiet area of Blackpool, but within easy walking distance of the town centre. We'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grampian House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grampian House

Address: 4 Pleasant Street | North Shore, Blackpool FY1 2JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #409 of 897 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grampian House 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grampian House is a small, friendly, privately-owned guest house offering quality en-suite bed & breakfast accommodation. Situated in the quiet North Shore area of Blackpool, just 50 metres from the Promenade and close to the Train and Bus stations. The North Pier, Blackpool Tower and the Town Centre are all within a ten-minute walk. Free broadband internet access is available in the lounge and free WiFi is accessible throughout the hotel. Smoking rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Grampian House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grampian House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.