We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another fab time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mayfield Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mayfield Hotel to your Saves list
Mayfield Hotel
27 Holmfield Road | Northshore, Blackpool FY29TB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 910 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“another fab time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I said id be back ! and I keep returning back over and over again. I just love this bed and breakfast Ian jay and Jamie make me feel part of the family the meals are lovely and I especially love the chicken tikka its my favourite meal when I go to the Mayfield.
I tend to visit about three times a year and the hotel always has something new and they always make me feel so welcome its just like being at home only your well looked after especially with a cup of tea or coffee on arrival once again thank you Ian jay and of course Jamie
I have stayed in every room since I've been coming here in the last 5 years and can honestly say they are all nicely decorated with comfortable beds.
see you all soon

Room Tip: room 4 has a 32 inch television room in as well as luxury double room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mayfieldhotel, Manager at Mayfield Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
hi Amanda,
always a pleasure to see you. won't be long till you return again, you sit with us and look like part of the furniture because your here so many times and your getting to know most of the guests especially the regular lot. we will see you soon Amanda x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
56
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
rotherham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

myself 2 sisters and nieces have just spent 3 nights at the Mayfield ian jay and Jamie are the best hosts we have ever met nothing is too much trouble rooms are spotless food is excellentand ian makes the best spotted dick in blackpool we met last year as strangers we are now good friends already planning and looking forward to next September THERES NO PLACE LIKE HOMEITS GOT TO BE THE MAYFIELD

Room Tip: All the rooms are as nice as one another
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mayfieldhotel, Manager at Mayfield Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Well what can I say mega thank you to you all its been a lovely and funny three days with you guys and your so organised especially with your days out if only every one would organise there trips more and they would surely enjoy it has you have we will make sure your mince pie is made for you on return next year and yes belly pork as well lol take good care and Jamie says big thank you for the chocolates xx Jay ian and yes little Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Another stay at the wonderful Mayfield hotel. As always greeted by the owners and before anything else sat down and a welcoming brew.As always great food cheap drinks and great company. You are made to feel really at home here from start to finish. This time, Ian and Jay actually made us stay a little longer on our departure day as i had over indulged with the drink the night before. Even to the point of making me a sandwich at lunchtime. Once again it was so enjoyable, we immediately booked again for new year. (Cant come quick enough)

Room Tip: All rooms have been newly decorated and are allocated to the size of your party. All are of the very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mayfieldhotel, Manager at Mayfield Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
thank you Dave and Julie it was as always a great pleasure looking after you and yes new year should be a lot of fun as we do have a few coming to us so well worth looking forward to see you then once again thank you Ian jay and of course little Jamie lol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My stay in Meyfield was great. I felt welcome from the very first second.The room which I've stayed in was really nice,cozily and very clean. I was really surprised about this because the room wasnt more expensive than a hostel! And also was a delicious breakfast include which was fresh and individual made. The thing which I've enjoyed most was to spend some time with the guests and the owners in the living room. It was so fun! I enjoyed to have conversations with them while I could enjoy a drink (with fair prices) from the hotel bar. I'm looking forward to stay one day again in this great,familliar hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mayfieldhotel, Manager at Mayfield Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
hi Rita,
big thank you for joining in with us here at the Mayfield we like to think anyone can join in the fun in the small bar/lounge area we can have some good laughs and one day hope to repeat it you will always be made very welcome once again big thank you Ian jay and Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Myself, my husband and young daughter have just returned home from a two night stay in the Mayfield Hotel and, to quote the Bard, parting was such sweet sorrow; We didn't want to come home. The Mayfield Hotel is a fantastic home from home, where we were immediately made welcome as valued guests and left feeling like friends of the family. The hotel is spotlessly clean, the food is superb and the customer service is second to none. Nothing is too much trouble for Ian, Jay and Jamie; they catered for our every need, going above and beyond to make sure that our break was extra special. Children are well catered for and welcomed with open arms, with individualised menus and a lovely safe area for them to play in whilst the adults relax in the lovely lounge bar. We stayed in rooms 4 and 5, two interconnecting rooms with a private bathroom. This literally was like our own private suite as our daughter had her own, gorgeous, room with her own TV, allowing us to watch what we wanted in the evening for a change!! Ian, Jay and Jamie were always on hand with advice and tips for getting the most out of our stay including some much welcomed travel advice (thanks for the tram ticket tip Ian!). We would recommend the Mayfield to anyone, but particularly if you have children; we are already booking our next stay. Thanks Ian, Jay and Jamie - see you in October :-).

Room Tip: All the rooms are great but if you have children and want them with you but not in the same room, ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mayfieldhotel, Owner at Mayfield Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
thank you very much for our lovely review, it was a pleasure looking after you all, jade was fantastic and settled in with the other children wasn't shy for long. we look forward to seeing you once again in October, it wont feel strange on the second visit. wish all the very best see you soon. jay Ian and Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

My husband and kids aged 10 and 7 just returned from the Mayfield Hotel, we had a great time which was made brilliant because of Ian, Jay and their son Jamie. Lovely clean comfortable rooms, excellent food, and a lovely lounge/bar for us to relax in whilst the kids played in the childrens play area. Nothing is too much trouble, all your needs catered for in a lovely home from home environment, we have never felt so comfortable and been so well looked after, if your looking for a friendly lovely family run hotel to stay in you must go to the Mayfield, you will arrive as guests but go home as good friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mayfieldhotel, Owner at Mayfield Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
hi Helen Sean and family, thank you for your review it's always nice to see you. each year you come back Georgia and Joe are grown that fast they are catching up with jay. anyhow we look forward to next years visit. jay Ian and Jamie x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrewsbury uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

would like to say another nice stay at the Mayfield every time we come back here it just gets better and better they are always upgrading the property and looks nicer and the stay is the most comfortable as ever. jay ian and Jamie make our stay most relaxing, as always the meals are just delicious and we look forward to our plentiful breakfast...ian even does pancakes for the kids. if your looking for a home from home clean and comfortable bedrooms this little gem of a place is for you. thankyou for our stay see you in the near future. dave and linda

Room Tip: you wont be disappointed what room you get but room 1 is a luxury room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mayfieldhotel, Owner at Mayfield Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Hi Dave and Linda so glad you keep returning year after year it really means a lot us here at the Mayfield and we are so pleased to of had a chance to see the pictures of your daughters wedding they were really lovely hopefully we will see Sarah and Andy soon as well see you in late October /November Ian jay and Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mayfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfield Hotel

Address: 27 Holmfield Road | Northshore, Blackpool FY29TB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 910 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mayfield Hotel: The Mayfield hotel was reopened by its new owners in September 2006. With the closed season kicking in it was a perfect time to rejuvenate the hotel to high standards, which has been complemented on by hotels guests over the opening months. With the wonderful views out on to the North pier and the beach, the Mayfield hotel is ideally suited for all the visitors young or old. The Mayfield hotel is literally a ten to fifteen minute walk into the main centre of the busiest north western seaside town in England. A variety of accommodation can be offered at the Mayfield to suit the needs of you and your companions during your stay at Mayfield hotel. Also we do have a variety of evening meals with home from home cooking. We don't take stag or hens or large groups as it's not a party hotel. Like we say, it's home from home. If you like a pint or two, we do have Fosters and Strongbow on tap. We hope to see you all very soon... Ian, Jay and Jamie ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and HostelBookers so you can book your Mayfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayfield Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.