We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly b and b . great location for winter gardens for shows!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alumhurst Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alumhurst Hotel
Save
You added Alumhurst Hotel to your Saves list
13 - 15 Charnley Road, Blackpool FY1 4PE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence 2014
north staffs
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“very friendly b and b . great location for winter gardens for shows!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

we stayed overnight to attend a show at the nearby winter gardens. our telephone booking was easily taken and questions answered thoroughly, relating to our stay.

we received a friendly warm welcome upon arrival and were shown to our room.
the room was clean,large, comfy and had a welcome tray with a selection of drinks provided. the ensuite shower had fresh clean towels provided. our room was clean and tidy with a comfy bed.

breakfast was ample and freshly cooked. all cutlery /crockery and surroundings were clean and comfortable.
would stay here again definitely if returning to Blackpool.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    37
    10
    9
    3
See reviews for
40
51
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Hi ,just back from a lovely week-end at the Alumhurst , this is my second visit and all I can say it was even better than the first .Pat & Steve are lovely , Pat met us at the door and because the hotel was a little quiet this week-end we were given an up grade to a premier room at no extra cost ( which I may add was lovely ) the room is spotless, and the beds very comfortable, , and warm ,breakfast was great ,nothing is to much trouble for them ,they are so friendly your made feel very welcome ,great location , are going back in the summer taking more of the family . a real home from home ,

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed in one of the 70s themed rooms. The place is a good walking location from the main sights. Car parking - you need to ask for this- was free which was great. Bathroom was unfortunately a little dirty inside the shower cubicle and On the shower tap and the curtains let in a lot of light. Blackout lining would be a good addition. Breakfast was good.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Hi all, just stayed at this place for three days to soak in the last of the Blackpool illuminations.
Pat, the proprietress is amazing, her local knowledge of great places to eat is second to none.
Room 22 was sufficient for my wife and daughter plus myself. The beds were very comfortable and warm. The breakfast girls and chef were very attentive, and always cheerful.
The portions were sizable to account for all tastes from vegetarian to a full English, ( but no black pudding)
All in all a very pleasant stay, and the staff made it so.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Recently stayed here for 2 nights. We booked a premier room (room 31), although the furnishings etc. were very nice it was small. However this didn't really matter for just 2 nights.
We were on the top floor, luckily there is a small lift if you can't manage the stairs.
The breakfast room is very nice and there's a great choice of food. I opted for a Full English which consisted of 2 bacon, 2 sausage, 1 egg, tomato, beans, fried bread and mushrooms. We were also given a basket of toast.
The small lounge area is also nice and there's a computer available although we didn't use it.
The bar in the cellar area is a real gem!! VERY big ! Almost like being in an proper pub! Theres a pool table, dart board, tvs & jukebox. We found this very handy as the weather was appalling! after going out for a meal we stayed there for the rest of the evening and Steve stays open very late if you want him too ;-)
Location wise its great, a short walk to the seafront, but far enough away that you don't get too much noise. If you can, request a parking space, there's only about 5 but they're invaluable!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We have just returned from our tenth year with Pat and Steve and as always the welcome, hospitality and service was amazing. The staff at breakfast were a credit to the hotel and Pat has provided yet another great tip for a fantastic meal out. This really is our little home from home and we would not stay anywhere else. Our girls and us are made to feel like part of their own family. Same time next year!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alumhurst, Owner at Alumhurst Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you Lou and Tim for your lovely review. So glad that yet again we have pleased you all.
Nice to see how your lovely girls are growing up and that they have graduated well to their own room this year. The experiment worked well.
Hope you all have a lovely Christmas and we look forward to seeing you next October half term.
Thanks again
Pat & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Pat and Steve were very friendly and helpful couldn't do enough for you what ever time of day!.First time we have stayed in Blackpool and we will be definitely be returning here again.Children are made to feel very welcome,Excellent service,lovely clean rooms,very nice and relaxed atmosphere at breakfast with excellent service!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alumhurst, Owner at Alumhurst Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and it was good to meet you all. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay here and enjoyed Blackpool as well.
Hope to see you again some time.
Warmest regards
Pat & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alumhurst Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alumhurst Hotel

Address: 13 - 15 Charnley Road, Blackpool FY1 4PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long established, family run, town centre, award winning hotel close to Blackpool Tower, Promenade and beach, Winter Gardens, theatres and new shopping centre. Our chef prepares good nutritious breakfasts and evening meals from as much fresh and local produce as possible. The hotel is kept beautifully clean throughout. Our licensed bar stocks a large variety of drinks and there is a pool table, dart board and quiz machine. Come and join the large number of guests who return annually. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alumhurst Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.