We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, great location, superb owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Springfield Hotel

Save Saved
You added Springfield Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Springfield Hotel
35 Charnley Road, Blackpool FY1 4PE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #228 of 886 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic hotel, great location, superb owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights, there were 4 of us (all women) staying in a family room which was great, double bed and bunk beds. We only wanted a base for sleeping, getting ready and this place was ideal. Very conveniently located near the tower and the owners couldn't have been more accommodating.

The room was very clean, had new supply's each day of tea/coffee and we were always asked if everything was OK and if there was anything we needed.

The price was amazing and I couldn't recommend this hotel enough for a cheap, clean and extremely lovely hotel. We've all taken cards to pass on to our friends for whenever they come across to Blackpool.

Thanks for a great stay in Blackpool Tash & Jay, we'll be coming again very soon!

Room Tip: Family rooms are ideal for all girl/boy parties also - plenty of room even for four women!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringfieldHotel, Owner at Springfield Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Katherine & Gang!
Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and also the fact you recognised our large family room, location and price.
We have always prided ourselves on not 'overfilling' the rooms with beds as to give our guests more space and to also offer value for money. Take care and we look forward to seeing you all again maybe next year!
Tash & Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    38
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
40
38
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Just back from a 2 night stay, great service, family room was ideal would defiantly stay again if going to Blackpool. Breakfast was great too and hotel close to all attractions. Very friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringfieldHotel, Owner at Springfield Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Angela & Family,

It was a pleasure having you and your family here to stay with us (your children were so polite)!
Thank you for posting such lovely comments and we look forward to seeing you all again!!
Tash & Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife used this hotel for a weekend to see the illuminations. The hotel was very clean and tidy and the rooms were nicely furnished and very clean. The breakfast was freshly cooked to how you want it and the owners could not do enough for you. Overall, we could not fault the Springfield Hotel and would defiantly stop here again!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringfieldHotel, Owner at Springfield Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Chris,
Thank you so much for posting such wonderful comments!
We are both glad you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us during the Illuminations and for mentioning our standard of rooms, service and breakfasts.
We both look forward to seeing you both again soon.
Tash & Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

A very nice freindly atmosphere. The room was small but very clean. The breakfast was decent even though i couldnt finish mine this morning because i was as rough as a gorillas foreskin. All in all i would recommend to families and couples. If it was a stag or hen i would try somewhere a touch rowdier. Also only 5 minutes walk from the tower and town centre

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringfieldHotel, Owner at Springfield Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Dan & Nic,

Thank you for taking the time to write such lovely comments (even with your rather colourful description on the way you were feeling at breakfast time)!

Our small double room is in fact one of our best selling rooms due to the fact that it is heavily discounted. However, this room is still modern in decor and as you say 'very clean'. We do make cleanliness our main priority.

As you rightly mention, we do only cater for families and couples. Our main concern is that all guests are comfortable and feel at ease here at the Springfield and families and couples would not want to be kept awake with the nosier larger parties.

Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you both again in the near future.

Tash & Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The location is fantastic! Everywhere I wanted to go was conveniently within reach (i.e. the beach and city center) without the noise and rowdiness. The hostess was nice and welcoming and the room was clean and nicely designed! I will definitely be going back there next year!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringfieldHotel, Owner at Springfield Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review.

As you mentioned in your review, we are very lucky to be situated in close proximity to the Town Centre and Beach but also away from the larger, noisier, party hotels.

Thank you for also mentioning the cleanliness and design of our rooms. We are continually trying to improve facilities and this (I'm sure) will be an ongoing project so it is always good to get positive feedback which enables us to know that we heading in the right direction.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Tash & Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel a little early after travelling by train and we felt a very warm welcome. As the owners were on holiday we were greeted by Jay's sister Bev and her husband Paul and we were allowed in our room an hour early.

Our room was a small double and was very cosy and clean, the price was very cheap and couldn't ask for anything better. It was nice and modern looking and had the all that we needed.

Morning breakfast was very nice and I was very pleased that they remembered what I didn't eat. The bar was open for us till late and they were very happy to socialise with us and their dog was lovely.

As having never been to Blackpool before they were very informative of what was happening in Blackpool so we didn't miss out on anything.

It was a short walk from Blackpool North Station and just the same to the Central Pier. I would definitely recommend The Springfield Hotel, reasonably priced, clean, modern bedrooms, all needs fulfilled and service was excellent. Nothing was too much for them and they were happy to help. On the last day they allowed us to leave our bags in the hotel so we could do some last minute gift buying and to have a walk around blackpool.

If you are going to pick a hotel, definitely book this one, we will for sure be rebooking. Thank you for your service.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringfieldHotel, Owner at Springfield Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such lovely, positive comments. This is the first time that Bev & Paul have taken over the running of the hotel whilst we go away and your review definitely gave them the confidence to do it again (Bev was wearing a big silly grin when she showed it to us)!!

We are glad you found our small double room to be comfortable and modern and also value for money.

Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you both again in the near future (if we are not on holiday ourselves I am sure that Bev & Paul will make themselves available)!.

Tash & Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Me and my friend stayed her in August and had a lovely stay. The rooms were nice had everything you need and everything worked ok. The only thing I would say is I'm not sure why it's called a Hotel? Any way other than that I would recommend this accommodation. It was near the centre so was perfect for me and my friend who had only been to Blackpool years ago for the day. It was close to all the shops and the pear and attractions which was great, it was easy to find our way back to and not far to walk. The owners were nice and helpful although we didn't talk to them much. Great place to stay and great price. Would definitely stay here again next year maybe.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringfieldHotel, Owner at Springfield Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I have to admit the question about being called a Hotel did get me lost for words (this was called the Springfield Hotel 9 years ago when we took it over and we have never changed it). My understanding was that we had a licenced bar area but I have since looked on 'Hotel & Caterer' and they state the following:
"The distinction between a B&B and a hotel is clear - the former is primarily valued as a real estate asset and the latter as a business".
As we run the Springfield as a business for 12 months of the year and not just for occasional income this should hopefully answer your question (and mine)!!
Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you both again.
Tash & Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Springfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield Hotel

Address: 35 Charnley Road, Blackpool FY1 4PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 886 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Springfield Hotel offers guests quality accommodation at an affordable price in a friendly and relaxed atmosphere, catering for couples, families, and small groups. Located in the heart of Blackpool, we are close to the Town Centre, Winter Gardens, Grand Theatre, Promenade etc... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Springfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Springfield Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.