We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Darfield Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Darfield Hotel to your Saves list
The Darfield Hotel
54 Charnley Road | Central Blackpool, Blackpool FY1 4PF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #531 of 910 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Birthday weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I booked the Darfield as a place to stay for our annual birthday night out in November! No grumbles about the hotel at all, James was fab looked after us girls well, gave us tips on where to go and was available for our every need! No it wasn't the ritz but u get what u pay for this is your typical Blackpool B and B! Would return :)

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    8
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Stayed here with a group of lads for a stag weekend a few weeks ago. First off, the owners James and Louise are very welcoming and friendly, and willing to help with anything. The bar is well stocked for a small hotel, and a decent size. The rooms are clean, and comfortable.
Very good value for money, and we will def be staying here again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My third time to this hotel. Great value, great staff, very friendly. I wouldn't stay at a different hotel. A stones throw from the town, a well stocked bar, fantastic value for money and the breakfasts really were cracking.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Darfield_Hotel, Manager at The Darfield Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thanks Mike,

Always a Pleasure having you guys. don't forget i want to see ya in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Just returned from a long weekend away with the fellas. This is our third time at the Darfield Hotel and yet again a fantastic weekend all round. The hotel is in a perfect location in the middle of Blackpool with close walking distance to the promenade and drinking establishments. The rooms are nice, comfortable and clean. James and Louise are fantastic as they are fun and very accommodating. We spent a bit more time in the hotel this year due to a couple of the lads being ill but that didn't spoil things as the hotel bar is traditional and brilliant. James works very hard to make sure your having a good time. He even got the Poker table out for us on Sunday afternoon which was great with a few beers. Most of our crowd are motorbike enthusiasts so to ensure they didn't miss the GP over breakfast he put his Ipad (or whatever it was) on the table so they didn't miss it, great work. Talking of breakfast that was yummy and plenty of it.
As long as I keep going to Blackpool I will keep returning to the Darfield. I would fully recommend this hotel to any groups going to Blackpool. Big thanks James and Louise.

Room Tip: Rooms 5 and 7 are big and have a double and single bed. Not far from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Darfield_Hotel, Manager at The Darfield Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Loved having you lads, see you next year
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The staff makes this place very good , very good location walk to town,
nice food .
but ensuite very small on the plus side you can wash your feet while on loo.
Over all nice place to put your head down after a very heavy night out on the town
this is the third time there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The staff were lovely but the bathroom had a few little bugs on the window and toilet. There was also a kind of black mould around the window seal that would take seconds to wipe off. I also dislike the shower curtain but I expect that due to it being small and not wanting drunks smashing the doors.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed in august 2013 for one night, good location, clean, friendly staff, nice food, but the bathroom was so small ive ended up with a huge bruise on my arm from banging it on the sink (on the plus side you can rest your head on the sink while you're on the loo if you're tired after a heavy night!) It was also missing the little things like soap etc, and the door in the bathroom to one of the rooms had fell off its railings and was not fixed even though we reported it as soon as we arrived.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Darfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Darfield Hotel

Address: 54 Charnley Road | Central Blackpool, Blackpool FY1 4PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #531 of 910 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Darfield Hotel is located on Charnley Road two minutes walk from Blackpool Town Centre. We are just around the corner from the new Hounds Hills shopping centre & the Winter Gardens. ALL our rooms are en-suite; we also have a residents bar with a large LCD TV and Free WI-FI access. We cater for everyone whether it be a family break or well behaved groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Darfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Darfield Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.