We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting! Needs to be closed down” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Belvedere

Save Saved
You added The Belvedere to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Belvedere
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   91 93 Albert Road, Blackpool FY1 4PW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #569 of 886 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Disgusting! Needs to be closed down”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed here with my family in August for 1 night and what a big mistake we made. Considering it was peak season, there was only one other couple staying at the hotel. The reception area is very poor and dated, with holes in the a lot of the chairs. The owner and his wife were not very friendly at all. It felt like a scene from A League of Gentlemen. The only room I would say that was ok was the lift! Everything else was very dated, with grubby carpets, stains on cushions, old beds and more chairs with holes. The rooms are poky and the shower room is very small too. Everything we touched felt dirty. The breakfast was awful, with out of date cereal from the previous year. I would not have stayed here another night if you paid me. We all couldn't wait to leave. I don't know how this hotel is still open for business, they need to get The Hotel Inspector in and also Kymme & Aggie for a good scrub! Do not stay here!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    12
    1
    3
    15
See reviews for
15
14
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

I think people should ignore the negative comments about this hotel. Like the manager said its no hilton, but its a wonderful friendly and family hotel which is excelent value for money. The manager was ever so friendly and helpful and around 99% of the time day and night (i actually wondered when he slept lol) perfect location by the front but not too close that it disturbed you.
I have never slept in such a comfty bed in a hotel before. Shower was always hot and had tv in room.
The breakfast was my favourite bit of the hotel, had a wide selection from toast, to cook, to cereal, to fruit and yoghurt and a selection of drinks.
Could not say one bad thing about it. The manager was always happy to help and explain things to you and give advise. Will be going there again without a doubt :)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We booked here for a nice family weekend as the advertisement online had said it had entertainment of an evening which is good as we had children with us. Also mentioned cocktails, even says this on the sign, but much to our disappointment, the rude manager had said that the bar was closed and there will be no entertainment as it is not peak time. Here's me thinking august was 'peak', silly me!
The manager was extremely rude and unhelpful, his partner was sat picking her feet, no smile or welcoming from her. The manager explained the rules of using a brown/white key to the odd/even room numbers to what front door to use, now when you have children to sort out, luggage and sorting out where to park our car, my mind was not digesting this information so i asked him if he could repeat this, he said, abruptly,no its in the manual upstairs.
Riding an uncomfortable lift journey to the room, he opened our room and handed us the key. The room was dated, felt unclean, the net curtains were torn.
Later that night, came back tired from the fair, i decided to 'run' the shower, standing there fully clothed in my dress, i switched it on, next minute i was drenched from head to toe in water, there was a leak in the hose by the shower head, water was dripping off the ceiling, all over the mirror and splashing me in the face.
Luckily my other family members were having sort of the same luck as me in their rooms.
I had a bad night sleep, the mattress was bulky, the sheets felt unclean and i woke up to hear the hotel manager shouting 'good morning blackpoooooool', i thought hmmm he must be in a better mood. Must have been the pints of bitter he was pouring down his neck the night before. Yes we had seen him at his own bar, the one he had said was not open, pouring drinks.
I skipped breakfast as my family had gave bad reviews.
I laugh now thinking of what an absolute awful hotel and awful people they were.
Please do not make the same mistake as what we did

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Excellent hotel, 5 minutes away from the tower and all attractions. Car parking is arranged upon arrival and is in a secure compound a few minutes away. Breakfast and evening meal was excellent and the kitchen staff were very friendly and anything you requested was forthcoming and no trouble. Rooms were very comfortable and clean, plenty of tea and coffee.Terry and Christine very friendly and helpful in every way, great hosts.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

First time at The Belevedere and could not find fault. Location was just right, the staff were friendly, the rooms were clean and the food was good. The entertainment at night was great and best of all the price was very reasonable. Would go again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donny
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is a brilliant, clean hotel which is suitable for everyone due to its family friendly atmosphere and fantastic service. Would definitely go back. The food was brilliant and the location of the hotel is in the right place for everyone due to the shops being close by as well as the tower and beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Excellent service as always. Stayed here several times and never been disappointed. Food, rooms, service and cleanliness was great. Very welcoming and friendly and would recommend to anyone. Going back in November.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belvedere

Address: 91 93 Albert Road, Blackpool FY1 4PW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #569 of 886 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Belvedere 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a 2 minute walk to Winter Gardens, Town centre, Tower, Deberhans and shopping centre.We have 34 ensuite Bedrooms, a lift to all floors, 2 Bars, open all year, weekly and midweek breaks. We are mainly a families and couples only Hotel contact hotel by telephone to inquire about any group bookings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Belvedere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.