We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Highbank Hotel Blackpool

Save Saved
You added Highbank Hotel Blackpool to your Saves list
Highbank Hotel Blackpool
Highbank Hotel Blackpool
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highbank Hotel Blackpool
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   98 - 100 Hornby Road, Blackpool FY1 4QS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #576 of 886 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Went here for with a Stag party of 11 for the weekend. Alan and his family have only been running the hotel for the last few weeks and could not have done enough for us. Very, very friendly people and the hotel was spotless. Great breakfast and a great little bar thats open late. Good location on Hornby road too. Made the weekend for us, highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    1
    2
    5
    3
See reviews for
6
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

stayed for 1 night 18/8/12. seven men on a stag night .very clean rooms .they are getting updated by new owner only been there 1 week.nothing was to much trouble .great breackfast .would go back with the famly

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisajolly
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We booked 2 family rooms online at £25 a person yet when you get there it says children are half price !! Up on arrival there was a strong smell of damp. The room was ok could of done with a good clean and redecorating, the beds were clean and fresh..The ensuite in one of the rooms was so small you had to squeeze under the sink to sit on the toilet and the shower was covered in black mould!!..the shelf in there had a thick layer of black dust on it and you banged ur head when getting up from the toilet !!. Television in one room was not working and when we asked for another the owner said there was a fault with the aerial and shrugged her shoulders...there was no plug for the sink and a waste bin was placed at the end of the bath to cover broken tiles! breakfast was ok but nowhere near a decent size..there was no parking we had to park across the road at a charge of £12 for the night.Only good thing about this hotel was its location ..

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

This hotel needs to update its photo library on the website! The photos on the website are lovely but I am sure it is not the same B&B as our room didn’t look like any of them.
A few weeks ago I was in hospital and the idea was that I would stay in the room in the afternoon to rest ahead of our night; needless to say I didn’t stay in the B&B any longer than what was necessary. We booked this for ourselves & our 3 year old, a family room; I can safely say that the b&b was as inviting as the weather - horrible! And as a result we spent the afternoon in a cold and wet Blackpool.
The room was filthy, cold and cramp; there was a single bed for a child with a plug socket at the side, not very safe for a family room. There was a hole in the wall behind the door, and the ceiling bowed, the wall paper was missing off the wall and the wall at the bottom was a disgrace. The paper was also missing underneath the radiator.
The ensuite was not big enough for more than 1 person and as we were told if we had a shower then the door needed to be shut as the fire alarm triggered. There was a shelf in the ensuite that was on the wall and I hit my head a couple of times. I found it that cold that I refused to shower before going out that night. When we returned back to the hotel at 10pm the heating had then been turned on for the first time since our arrival at 12pm.
There was a hole in the wall at the back of the toilet and the whole ensuite was uninviting
We were told not to take food or drink on to the premises, and when we arrived I asked if they had a toilet for my son I was told I had to wait until we had been shown our room. There was a £10 deposit required for the TV remotes.
The breakfast was ok but it wasn’t anywhere near a decent size, the plates were small and I would have expected more. The wait on food was quiet long for a family with a toddler and an hour for breakfast was very unrealistic.
If we had been staying for more than one night I would definately not have been staying there, this hotel is not worth the money that is been charged!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

We booked a family room, single and double room, upon arrival all looked ok, although there was a very stronge smell of damp and air freshners.
The room was ok, bed was clean but the bathroom was dirty, the skrtiing boards were thick with dust and har yuk. The bar was cheap but cold, breakfast was nice but that was all that was good.
Check out is 10am and my nephew 2 years old) had a little accident so we had to shower him and was running late. The owner came upstairs at 10.10 to say we should have checked out by now. It seems like once they have your money and the night is over, they want you out as soon as possible.
There are a lot of b&b's on this road which are a lot cheaper, I will go with one of these next time.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lincs
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

If you are going to Blackpool take my advice and don't bother booking this hotel because by my experience you will be disappointed. Travelled with a group of friends for a one night stay, (at least we didn't have to stay longer than that, so there are small mercies). Should really have been warned by the exterior which looked a bit shabby, but we had paid a large deposit so we were stuck with it. On first glance the rooms seemed alright but one had a very fusty, damp smell which must have been strong because the amount of air fresheners along the corridor and in the rooms didn't even come close to masking it, and there were a lot of them, but then we started to find other things that were not up to the standard we would have expected by the amount we paid, far more expensive than other hotels in the same road. The bathroom in the fusty room was so dirty that you wouldn't have wanted to have a shower in there, the toilet seat was not attached to the toilet and the shelves had a film of black dust on them. The bathroom in the other room seemed clean but when you had a shower you had to hold the showerhead in one hand because no matter how hard you tried there was no way to get it to fit into the fixture that was supposed to hold it and you couldn't lock the bathroom door, there was a hole filled with paper where the lock was supposed to go. There were radiators in both rooms but they never got warm while we were there so the rooms were very cold. There was tea and coffee provided in the rooms but when we put the kettle on it blew the fuse in the bedside lamp, might have been a coincidence, but reading the reviews for this hotel, maybe not.
On the plus side the sheets were clean and towels and soap were provided. The breakfast in the morning was ok, apart from the orange juice which wasn't nice, but all in all not an experience I want to repeat.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

We (a group of 5 girls on a Hen Party) stayed at the Highbank for 2nights, we have stayed there for the past 2years for a night out in blackpool and all has been satisfactory........until this year. When we arrived we were informed we would be staying in a room for 4 people and a room for 1 even though when we booked it we stated we wanted a room for 3 and a room for 2. After we complained about this the rooms were eventually swopped over. However, the room that slept 2 had an electric heater screwed onto the wall (which seems very dangerous) we were told that the room was often very cold and that’s why there was a heater. One of the girls turned the heater on because the room was freezing and the electric went, we informed the owner and she came upstairs with a wooden stick and started whacking the plug socket (very dangerous) this electric problem could have easily started a fire. Both rooms were freezing most of the time, the heating came on for about an hour during the middle of the night when we didn’t really need it. We all had a cooked breakfast on the 1st day...everything was cold apart from the croquets. So the 2nd day we all had cereal for the safer option.
We did find the whole experience quite entertaining but next year we will be staying in a different hotel up the same street which looks a lot cleaner and is only £18 for b+b rather than £25 at the highbank.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Highbank Hotel Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highbank Hotel Blackpool

Address: 98 - 100 Hornby Road, Blackpool FY1 4QS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #576 of 886 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Hotel Class:2 star — Highbank Hotel Blackpool 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Highbank Hotel Blackpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highbank Hotel Blackpool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.