We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Hotel

The Royal Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Royal Hotel to your Saves list
The Royal Hotel
57 Clifton Drive | South Shore, Blackpool FY4 1NT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #313 of 897 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had a pleasant 2 day break at the Royal hotel, the room was very nice with a four poster bed and a sea view, tea & coffee making facilities and was spotlessly clean, breakfast was served prompt at 9am the only downside being it ended at 9.30 we could have done with a little more time, However that did not detract form our stay and we we made to feel very welcome and would be happy to recommend The Royal as a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 29 with Four poster was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    16
    1
    0
    5
See reviews for
32
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Many thanks to the staff for their attentive attitude. Both hotel and staff were warm and welcoming. On the cold and wet days we spent in Blackpool. It was good to return to a hotel that was clean warm. With hot water, Friendly staff and a good bar. There was nothing we disliked. The location was near to the attractions but in a quiet location, with good parking.

Room Tip: No problems with the 2 rooms we booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

this hotel is the personal touch which I like although I had to come home a day early for my own reasons the time spent at this hotel I found it to be clean / friendly and very enjoyable. The room we stopped in was a lot better than dearer hotels I have stopped in Blackpool.
breakfast excellent
thank you

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here and cannot fault this hotel it is a good family hotel very clean and comfortable Claire and family make you feel very welcome the breakfast is excellent and the location is perfect for the pleasure beach and close to the tram and bus stops also there is no problem with parking thank you Claire and family we will see you again next year

Room Tip: We have stayed in the same room both times room no 21 it has bunk beds and a double and enough room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have just spent a week in the Royal Hotel with several friends.. It is home from home. Clare, the owner, looked after me wonderfully. Whenever I needed anything, it was looked after immediately. The price was exceptional for the week. Excellent location. Fresh towels everyday, breakfast time changed when needed. Clare even taxied some friends several times ! Michael, Clare's husband has an incredible voice. We were delightfully entertained by their lovely son Ian, with singing, laughter and even somersaults ! Thank you too to John and Norma for your help.
Congratulations on your great standard and for making me feel so much at home !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights in August in one of the four poster rooms. Great friendly hosts especially the landlady. Lovely clean room, (balcony could have been swept, few dog ends left) other than that immaculate. Nice bar area. Lovely veggie and non veggie breakfast.
Great location for the pleasure beach and the front in general. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Worth paying that bit extra for a four poster room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have just come back from the Royal hotel in Blackpool and I have to say, if you don't book into this hotel you will regret it. It's a lovely old building with excellent and very clean rooms. My pet hate is dirty places and this is clean and comfy. We were treated by the very friendly Geordie landlady and her family. Ample parking, and if it seems you can't park they find a solution ...nothing is too much trouble for this family. I wanted a fan as the rooms are so warm and they gave me one from their own room ! Wow, that's service. Breakfast was great and enough to take you through until tea! We loved the fact this hotel didn't have the usual hen/ stag parties, was near to where we waned to be, squires gate/ south shore/ pleasure beach. We had our dog with us and was fully welcome, although very clean for allowing pets.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: 57 Clifton Drive | South Shore, Blackpool FY4 1NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #313 of 897 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.