We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 new remodel room on the 1st floor and the late music during the week has stopped!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trades Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trades Hotel
Save
You added Trades Hotel to your Saves list
51-55 Lord Street, Blackpool FY1 2BJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Blackpool
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“4 new remodel room on the 1st floor and the late music during the week has stopped!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stopped playing loud music in the late evening during the week so you can sleep now!
They are listened to what people have been saying on here. They have totally remodelled
four rooms on the first floor which I had a look in during the evening's roam and must say they are very nice.
Dot & Dan (Donna) are still serving breakfast and entertaining everyone.
I have met so many really fun people here who are into the samething I am into.
Thanks Neal for running this place and keeping it fun.

Room Tip: The 4 rooms on the first floor that have been redone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    20
    11
    10
    34
See reviews for
Families
0
28
38
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
wallasey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Yes i understand what specialty trades hotel is there fore ,but please even the general cleanliness is getting really bad, we booked in for 3 nights and could only stay for one due to a problem back home and was looking forward to a dirty weekend but not that type of dirty.
carpets filthy with I can only guess whos stains.bedding stained,no curtains etc.
Are we that desperate for some room wandering and fun to pay to stay in a !!!.
BUT.... all the staff are great and the breakfast was brilliant as ever just what you need for the hangover.

Room Tip: Top floor so you cant hear the music that plays all night. or as far away from the toilet as possab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

cologne
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Accomondation is adequate and once you found the right room the bed will do the job. The hotel is a maze of staircases and corridors and the all-male adult-only audience often walks up and down all night. The first visit can be a bit confusing but there is no fear of getting lost as all paths finally lead to the bar on the ground floor where you can either have a reasonably priced beer or start a new journey via the other stairwell. If you need any assistance simply ask the proprietor with the charming grin at the bar who will surely find an elaborate answer to any questions. The facilities are basic with wall to wall carpeting and separate taps for hot and cold water, continental folks will find this a bit oldfashioned and tatty while most brits would call it traditional.
Perfect location close to the railwaystation and the lively Northshore scene. Avoid this part of town like the plague if you are travelling with children, familiy or looking for peaceful tranquility.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I brought my mate this hotel as i live in blackpool and cant put him up here been in the bar before and seemed ok but once you get beyond the bar you get what u think will be big gay sauna ie jacussi peephole and live porn nope it was wooden hut sauna. the room was stained window hanging out of frame booked a double got twin room with no discount for their own fault. dirty bed linen and dirty bathroom tv in room supposed to have all channels including porn had 1 flaky bbc channel. The website promises a lot the best parts about this hotel are the breakfast and the door to leave not worth anything other than £5 and thats for the breakfast.its known localy as the 'meat market' and id be emmbarrsed to bring anyone back to dive............ only one member of staff was good and that was the cook...AVOID EVEN IF YOUR LIFE DEPENDED ON IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: in another hotelie peek a booze
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was extremely run down, dirty and did not smell great. The carpet in our room was disgusting, bed linen and towel were not clean and looked like hadn't been changed. Sink and toilet in bathroom were hanging off the wall and the shower curtain and blind were filthy. I will never stay again even though cheap. I would rather pay more for cleanliness.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Yes, one night only, but the room had been decorated and was actually clean and fresh. Apart from the inventive use of a coat hangar as a handle to close the bathroom window (?!), I think management is realising you can have dirty fun in slightly cleaner surroundings! Staff are good but I had to leave early so missed breakfast which is I know a big feature. So big plea - please keep up with room improvement - it's worth it and it is appreciated!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I have stayed here many times over the years and tolerated the basic conditions in favour of the 'hidden extras'; however my last stay was a disaster! I booked a double room ensuite and was given the room at front overlooking the street which had NO CURTAINS! I was then moved to a room at the back of the hotel where part of the ceiling was literally missing and where people smoked at the outdoor area just below. The noise never stopped and the smoke alarms went off all night. It isn't clean, not even to a basic level either - I really didnt enjoy this visit. On the plus side the staff are nice but a major (even minor) overhaul is desperatley needed here!
Jim
Derry City, Ireland

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trades Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trades Hotel

Address: 51-55 Lord Street, Blackpool FY1 2BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Blackpool
Number of rooms: 30

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trades Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.