We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Donna-johnny(scotland)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mardonia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mardonia Hotel to your Saves list
Mardonia Hotel
4 - 6 Crystal Road, Blackpool FY1 6BS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 897 Blackpool B&B and Inns
1 review
“Donna-johnny(scotland)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We have just stayed at the mardonia hotel and would definately return. The owners were very friendly and made us feel at home. The breakfast was brilliant and the rooms were very modern and cosy. The location of the hotel was ideal as it was central and right in the middle of the tower and the pleasure beach. Also there are no curfews on when to be in as you get your own key to get in and out as you please. Next time we come to blackpool we will definately be choosing the mardonia hotel and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mardoniahotel, Owner at Mardonia Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hello Donnalindsay, Thankyou for spending a few minutes to leave us a review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards

Maria,Grant & Connor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    14
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
54
34
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We've just returned from a 2 night stay at the Mardonia and next time we go to Blackpool we will be definitely staying there again. When we got there, Grant had already 'reserved' us a parking spot right outside the hotel; how many places will do that for you?! We were then checked in and our bags were taken up to our room for us on our behalf so that we could go out and explore the town. The hotel is excellently located of equal distance between the tower and the pleasure beach and both are well within walking distance.

Hospitality and service is second to none; last year we stayed at the Travel Lodge and no-one would give us the time of day there, at the Mardonia nothing is too much trouble. Our room was a family one at the front and the double glazing must be good as we didn't hear any noise at night! Everywhere in the hotel is spotlessly clean and our room was newly carpeted and had fresh decor. For breakfast you are spoilt for choice; cereals, toast, fried breakfast or all three! The owners Grant and Maria are really friendly; we sat in the bar in the evening chatting away to them enjoying a pint.

All in all a great place to stay; we wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Mardonia to anyone. Thank you very much to Grant and Maria.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mardoniahotel, Owner at Mardonia Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hello Paul& Gem, Thankyou for spending the time to leave us a review, it was a pleasure to meet you and your family.

We are glad to hear that you all enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Maria,Grant & Connor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We have just got back from a weekend break at the mardonia. There were 3 couples all adults, we have been going to Blackpool now for 12 years, and were told this year our usual hotel had closed down, so we were recommended to go to the mardonia. We was not disappointed at all Maria and grant made us very welcome and it was very clean,maria and grant was so friendly, and I was shocked at the size of the bathroom it was fantastic. The location was also great. In fact everything was superb and we had a fantastic weekend and cannot wait to go back next year. The only one thing that we wished for was the bar to be open for a night cap before we went to bed, we did not ask because they were so busy and it’s nothing really to moan about. Anyone who is thinking of booking at the mardonia do it you will enjoy it, and you will never regret it. Thank you very much for looking after us see you soon xxx the wolverhampton gang Dee, Mark, Pat, John, Karon and Richard xxx

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mardoniahotel, Owner at Mardonia Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Wolves gang, thankyou for taking the time to leave us a review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding the bar opening times, as a rule we are open until midnight everyday, however we may close a little earlier if the guests are either in bed or out enjoying Blackpool attractions.

Maria ,Grant & Connor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Recently stayed at Mardonia Hotel for a long weekend with family and friends.From the moment we arrived (very early !!) nothing was a problem for Maria and Grant.They made us feel so welcome we cant wait to return to Blackpool and stay there again.The hotel is ideally situated right between the pleasure beach and the Tower with the beach 2mins walk,perfect !!! Rooms spotless and breakfast great !! Well done Maria and Grant you run probably the friendliest and cleanest hotel we have ever stayed in.
See you soon.Maureen & Mark x

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mardoniahotel, Owner at Mardonia Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Hi Michael & Maureen
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review, it was lovely to meet you and your family and friends. We had a great weekend with you all and hope to see you all next year,
Take care Maria, Grant & Connor xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashington, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I have been staying at this hotel on and off for 5 weeks now due to work. The rooms are very very clean with en suite bathrooms and modern tv's. The hotel is in a ideal area just off the beach front with easy acess to all Blackpool has to offer. The best thing about this hotel though is without a doubt the owners Grant and Marie who are nothing but helpful polite and really welcoming. Oh and the beer is beautiful which always helps!!!!! Thank you very much for your hospitality. I would recommend this lovely hotel to anyone very very good!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mardoniahotel, Owner at Mardonia Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Hi John
Thank you for leaving us a review, it has been a pleasure having you all staying with us over the last few months. We are pleased you enjoy our hotel, i know working away from home is hard and i hope we have helped you to feel relaxed and comfortable. Take care Maria, Grant & Connor xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of august,from the moment we arrived we felt very welcome,we were givin room 10 which was plenty of room for our family of 4,throughout was very clean,very comfy beds,breky was lovely,and the location is brilliant,the owners are very friendly we loved our stay there,hopefully will return nxt year ,thankyou for a lovely stay ,michelle,steve and girls x

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mardoniahotel, Owner at Mardonia Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Hi Michelle,Steve & girls
Thankyou for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, We hope to see you all next year and hope your daughter forgets her phone or charger lol. Hope you are all well.
Take care
Maria, Grant & Connor x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed at the Mardonia Hotel from the 24th of August 2012 till the 01st September 2012. We would like to thank Maria & Grant for the excellent stay at there Hotel. They are really nice people and very helpfull. When we arrived at the Hotel the smell was something amazing, smell of freshness and cleanliness. Room very nice and also with tea and coffee facilities! Breakfast excellent! For sure we would visit again this hotel! Monique and Renald from Malta!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mardoniahotel, Owner at Mardonia Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Hi Monique & Renald,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. It was lovely to meet you both, hope you had a safe journey home back to Malta. Hopefully we will be able to take you up on your offer of visiting Malta one day, it was a pleasure to have you both saying with us and as ever it gives us great pleasure to know our guests would return. Take care Maria, Grant & Connor xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mardonia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mardonia Hotel

Address: 4 - 6 Crystal Road, Blackpool FY1 6BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 897 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer our guests holiday and business accommodation with quality and style in relaxing surroundings. Whether you are taking a romantic break, seeing a show, attending a sporting event or simply want a few days away, The Mardonia can offer you the personal touches, warmth and friendliness of a Traditional Blackpool Bed and Breakfast.Bed space includes Superior Doubles,Doubles, Twin,Single and Family rooms(No double beds pushed against walls). Our rooms are clean, spacious and comfortably furnished. All rooms are en-suite and are all equipped with 22" LCD TVs, tea/coffee making facilities, radio alarms,complimentary guest toiletries and WIFi internet is available. For comfort of our guests we have a no smoking policy. We believe we have created a splendid and delightful family run bed and breakfast, with superb hospitality in a relaxing atmosphere, all the necessary ingredients for making your stay in Blackpool a truly memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mardonia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mardonia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.