We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and nice place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mardonia

The Mardonia
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Mardonia to your Saves list
The Mardonia
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   4 - 6 Crystal Road, Blackpool FY1 6BS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #123 of 910 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Convenient and nice place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed here for 2 days and found the hotel to be great. It's ideally located near South Pier making it equidistant to the other piers, Pleasureland and Blackpool Tower (closed at the moment) and the Sealife end. You can walk but if you prefer to use public transport, the trams and buses offer a good service. No parking on site but there's a cheap car park on the same road and you can park on most of the street.

The hotel is more traditional looking and homely. Our own room looked newly decorated and was more contemporary. The rooms are standard sized, comfortable and clean and you have your usual amenities (TV, kettle, shower products, clean towels).

We only met Maria and one of her staff whilst we were there and they were excellent, friendly and very helpful - nothing was a problem. I did speak to Grant prior to the trip and he too was very helpful. Breakfasts were nice and hearty and certainly set you up for the day. We didn't use the communal areas in the evening but there's a bar, comfortable gaming area and a big plus is being able to bring your OWN FOOD into the hotel and eat it in the dining room (not in bedrooms) and the owners are happy to allow this upto 11pm and supply cutlery - not many establishments would allow this and this is further evidence of how easy-going Grant and Maria are and their awareness with regards to families. I was surpised to see "a strange review" here with regard to the booking in procedure. Regardless of who you are, surely that's standard procedure and one cannot trust people purely on their professional status - one rule for all and surely not an issue :)

We'd happily return and would like to thank them for being good hosts/hoteliers and accomodating our special dietry needs. Thoroughly recommended, especially as a base to explore Blackpool or if you have a family.
Thank you

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Hi Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your kind words are vey much appreciated. Lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hope you will visit again in the future.
Warm regards Maria, Grant & Connor x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    14
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
54
37
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oswestry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

mardonia hotel is every thing you need and more .located just in the right place not to far to walk to the center .
the owners maria and grant are friendly and fun .
hotel was very clean and the hotel room very clean and tidy 100%
breakfast was very good 100%.
if we need to stop in blackpool again this is where we would stop.
thank you dave kim and liam.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Hi Thank you for all your kind words and taking the time to write them. Im glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to your return hopefully some time in the future.
Warm Regards Maria, Grant & Connor xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

great hotell,very freindly staff,and owners were really nice ,breakfast was great ,rooms great,very clean ,position of hotel perfect for all amenitees,very close to fair,waterworld,arcades ,beach,prom all in all a very nice place to stay would recommend to anyone especially famillys......

Room Tip: the familly room was big enough for two adults and two kids ,good value....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Hi Thanks so much for your kind words. Welcoming guests back is always special as it tells me that we are getting things right! I look forward to seeing you back here soon.
Warm Regards Maria, Grant & Connor xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

on arrival we were welcomed by maria and grant and shown into hotel, we were shown to our room which was very nice, clean and comfortable. we found maria and grant most welcoming and happy to help with any requests. the hotel its self was situated in an ideal location. had a lovely night in the bar chatting to maria and grant as kids played pool with connor. we would definately recommend and would return in the future.
karen, max, codey & teigan

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Hi Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found the service was to a very high standard. I hope to see you all here again soon. Kind regard. Maria, Grant & Connor x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Me and my partner stayed her last week and upon arrival there was a lovely atmosphere.
(loved the singing) :)
When we got there to ask about parking when a free space become available, the owners kindly called us to let us know about it. I thought it was a lovely gesture!

The owners were very friendly and kind, although they had an akward customer they were still very welcoming, I had read his review and think it is highly unfair.

The hotel itself was very clean and comfortable, the rooms were fantastic and the cleanliness is second to none, prices are more than reasonable, & the location was great being in-between the tower and the pleasure beach is just right your close enough to everything but just far enough away to get a great night’s sleep.

Thank you so much, would most likely return :)
Sam & Matt

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Hi Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. From time to time we do get awkward customers, however most people are lovely and make our job easy and enjoyable. We hope to see you again sometime in the future.
kind regards Maria, Grant & Connor x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

I have put this down as a business trip as I brought my daughter to Blackpool on one of the intensive driving courses that are offered in this area. This is not the sort of accommodation I would normally stay in but I have every sympathy with the owners who are trying to 'turn a buck' on a property like this. But to be quizzed as soon as you arrive as to who the is the name to be put against the reservation as 'they will be responsible for any damage'?! Madam, I am a Certified Accountant and my daughter has just finished her A Levels - we don't go round trashing rooms. To anybody thinking of staying in Blackpool, anywhere in Blackpool, think again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
There are a number of inaccuracies in your account of events. I am appalled that you sympathy with the owners who are trying to 'turn a buck' as you put it, if you are an accountant then these small buissness pay many accountants wages. When you and your daughter arrived i asked your daughter to fill in the registration form as the booking was made in her name via the driving school, as i explained to you at the time. You then tried to snatch the form from my hand, and said i paid for this course so i will fill it in. As i said to you then with out any issue if you are happy to take responsibilty for the room then you can fill it in, your reponse in an untoward manner was (of course i will take responsibilty for the room) looking down your nose at me. I did not imply that you were going to trash the room as you put it this is a slight exaggeration on your part, I then left the room and let my parnter deal with you as i was disgusted in your behaviour. On your departure you told us that a work collegue of yours had taken the same course and recommended this hotel. If you read the review two preivous to your review will see her response to her stay here with us. It is unfortunate that we are not the type of accommodation you normally stay in but at any time you could have left of refused to check in and find more suitable accommodation to suit your taste, needless to say you didn't?????.
Blackpool is not everybodys cup of tea, although millions of people visit every year.
Anyway - have a great trip next time you come to Blackpool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnstone
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

this is a very good hotel to stay in and would recomend to EVERYBODY. was made to feel very welcome from the start. rooms are very modern and very clean could go on but no need just visit. can only thank the owners for a plesent stay regards jason.

Room Tip: go there excellent !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this review, July 24, 2011
Hi Jason
Thankyou for your kind words, good luck for the future, we hope to see you again soon.
Take care Maria, Grant & Connor xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mardonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mardonia

Address: 4 - 6 Crystal Road, Blackpool FY1 6BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 910 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mardonia 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer our guests holiday and business accommodation with quality and style in relaxing surroundings. Whether you are taking a romantic break, seeing a show, attending a sporting event or simply want a few days away, The Mardonia can offer you the personal touches, warmth and friendliness of a Traditional Blackpool Bed and Breakfast.Bed space includes Superior Doubles,Doubles, Twin,and Family rooms(No double beds pushed against walls). Our rooms are clean, spacious and comfortably furnished. All rooms are en-suite and are all equipped with 22" LCD TVs, tea/coffee making facilities, radio alarms,complimentary guest toiletries and WIFi internet is available. For comfort of our guests we have a no smoking policy. We believe we have created a splendid and delightful family run bed and breakfast, with superb hospitality in a relaxing atmosphere, all the necessary ingredients for making your stay in Blackpool a truly memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Mardonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mardonia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.