We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edward Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Edward Hotel to your Saves list
Edward Hotel
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   27 Dickson Road, Blackpool FY1 2AT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #393 of 897 Blackpool B&B and Inns
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A Great Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

A great stay, nice clean room and en suite and very friendly owner who made us feel very welcome and could not do enough to help. He also had great local knowledge and recomended a great Indian off the beaten track. Would not look elswhere if retuning to Blackpool.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuart c, Owner at Edward Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Many thanks its a pleasure to help, and thankful you enjoyed your stay. look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    30
    8
    8
    5
See reviews for
27
54
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Was made to feel very welcome by Stuart the owner who was there all the time advising us where to eat and best night life. Rooms are spotless and well maintained.Located close to all amenities Will go back for another stay.

Wendy and Val Birmingham.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuart c, Owner at Edward Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thanks girls your welcome back always, many thanks had a lovely time and enjoyed your company
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Room supposed to have had wifi and safe and room had neither,Breakfast was very rubbish very minute.Quite noisy also could hear people talking in next room also coulfd hear everything outside.Owner was very misreble and bar was very minute ,also you where not aloud to take your own alcohol in room had to buy from bar.Orderd non smoking room but room was a smoking room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuart c, Owner at Edward Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Oh my you seem a tad upset, well firstly all of our rooms are, and are advertised as smoking rooms not that you would have known if we had took the ashtray out. apologies about the safe had you said anything we would have got you one to put your valuables in. perhaps i wasnt the only one that was miseable, and as for noise in the next room if it was excessive i wish you had told me its not something im used to hearing about very often. as for noise outside we are a town centre location and if you are used to the countryside where its silent you will notice the difference everytime. wi fi runs through the building but you should have asked for the wifi key which is free. As for breakfast again if its not right please tell me because i dont know what the problem was? False advertising is a bit out of the way as a statement! OUR website has clear pictures and descriptions, and also covers our policy on alcohol within the hotel. would you have bought a drink in our bar im sure i would not have been as miserable as you imply.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

room 8, comfortable bed and thats the end of the comfort, room dirty and smelly (stale tobacco or damp) broken furniture a postage stamp sized t.v no bed side tables or lamps no hair dryer, not really a problem as shower not working either.Breakfast was their saving grace i think ! however could not eat it due to rude staff .Children in room 2 which had quite nice decor however the large T.V did not work the shower run from very cold to boiling hot. On arrival the room was made up as double not twin as booked when i asked for the bed to be split i was told that this would cost an additional £4 as this was an upgrade i was also told to pay on checking out, but at breakfast we over heard staff making unkind comments such as "bet they dont pay the upgrade" and various other rude comments. Avoid, Not a nice B&B so very much wrong with it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuart c, Owner at Edward Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Sour Grapes because you had to wait 10 minutes for breakfast you embarrassed yourselfs and your two lovely daughters who seemed used to it! your behaviour and attitude was offensive to the other guests and the wifes tirade was disgusting in front of them and that is why i told you to pack your bags and leave the hotel asap. you booked the cheapest rooms and wanted dearer ones we acomodated you. all of our tv,s do work. and if there had been a problem why did you tell me everything was fine!!!! when now you say it wasnt! im glad you all enjoyed our COMPLIMENTARY breakfast as well as the extras you got FOR FREE. and may i remind you you never paid for the extra charge for the luxury twin room either that we provided even though its not what you booked at a lesser rate. we go out of our way to try and resolve any problems that may arise. i checked the rooms myself as soon as you left and found nothing of your listed problems. and the new guests who went into those rooms that day were very happy with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

stayed at the edward hotel for 3 nights we found the room very spacious and comfortable and great value for money. the full english breakfast is absoulutely superb. stuart the owner is so welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. we had drinks in the bar every night where stuart made us feel really relaxed and had a bloody good laugh aswell. the edward is in a ideal location for exploring blackpool and puts other hotels too shame. thankyou stuart for a brilliant stay it was awesome you were just what we needed . we will definately be back and we will recomend the edward to everyone. thanks again stuart keep up the good work.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuart c, Owner at Edward Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Brill time glad that awfull family that upset everyone at breakfast didnt spoil anything your great people and always welcome, all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Great location although can be tricky to find, big car park fairly close by (not the multi story).
Rooms were adequate for what we needed, no worries about smells of smoke and the towels and bedding were clean. En-suite was suitable and again very clean. Food in the morning was a really nice full English with extra toast, tea and coffee, small dining area but found a table within 10 minutes.

Its all the small things that let this place down, just a few corners that look slightly dated, a missing handle and a tiny bathroom mirror hung at the wrong height.

An update of the fixtures and fittings of the B&B could turn it from an alright place to stay to a great one.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back, no issues with noise and window open
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuart c, Owner at Edward Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for an honest review of us the room you were in will get a few new fixtures to make it amore user friendly in the next few weeks its our newest room for letting and was done in a bit of a rush but its still larger than most in Blackpool and our 2nd smallest room and still nice, glad you enjoyed breakfast etc. looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Whet down for my mates 18th birthday and stayed from Sunday to wed.The rooms were good, nice size and had everything we needed in them. Nice clean beds and tidy room. Stuart was brilliant and had a good laugh. Very friendly and welcoming hotel would definitely go back again. Cheers mate

P.S pool table widny go a miss haha

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuart c, Owner at Edward Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
It was fun to party with you for young lads you were well behaved and welcome back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edward Hotel

Address: 27 Dickson Road, Blackpool FY1 2AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #393 of 897 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Edward Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean warm comfortable rooms all en suite Bar/Diner seperate lounge with pool table and comfy seating Friendly staff 3* visit britain rated very user friendly rooms and a high volume of repeat guests.Limited Parking for longer stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edward Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.