We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well worth the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colris International Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Colris International Hotel to your Saves list
Colris International Hotel
209 Central Promenade, Blackpool FY1 5DL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #617 of 897 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
“well worth the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

although an upgrade is needed
had a very pleasant and entertaining stay
ray does a fab brecky mel a very caring host/manageress
room/dining staff made up for hotel shortfalls as mentioned
entertainment on the nite time waves disco
the best ive seen played what you wanted to listen to and interacted with the guests inc young ones deffo worth a visit after refurb
see ya next year!!!!

Room Tip: sea view always!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    22
    4
    9
    17
See reviews for
30
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

booked for 2 nights with family.room was awful.handle on door was hanging off carpets were fillthy ,bath was dirty with hair still in.toilet wouldnt flush .no matress protectors on beds which were old and uncomfortable.cups were dirty .considering it was a family room there was 1 small cupboard for clothes..didnt know who managed the place as there was never anyone on reception.decor was old fashioned dirty and smell off air fresheners on stairs was disgusting.hotel needs a good clean and completly gutting .wouldn,t recommend to anyone .

Room Tip: go else where
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colrishotel, Manager at Colris International Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Customer,
I am extremely sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. As you can see from the other comments, we work hard to make every ones stay an enjoyable one. I totally agree that the Hotel needs up dating, like all Hotels in Blackpool. I do not agree that the rooms were dirty. My staff work very hard to ensure the customers are welcome and treated right. There is always a member of staff to speak to if you are unhappy, so I do not agree with your statement that there was no one to complain to.

Again, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us and I wish you all the best in the future.

Mel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leigh lancs
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

location is great, within walking distance to all piers and town centre. There is also a tram and bus stop right outside.

The rooms and hotel in general need a lot of updating but most areas are quite clean. We were given a family sea view room which was great (I don't think I would have liked to be in the back of the hotel), there was plenty of room and the bed linen and towels were clean and in good condition. There were no bedside cabinets or bedside lights and the only light switch was near the door. The bathroom was average size but needed a new suite.

Mel and staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was cooked to order and average, The dinning room was light, clean and the service was very good.

The bar and lounge area were ok, but somewhat spoiled by the constant opening and closing of the front door as smokers were going in and out. This made the area quite cold.

I would love to return to this hotel when the up dating has been completed.

Room Tip: sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colrishotel, Manager at Colris International Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing a review . I take every review seriously and I have taken on board all you have said in yours. We are looking forward to updating the Hotel and getting feedback from regular & new customers. We are delighted you found the staff friendly and the Hotel clean.
We hope that you will come back and visit us again.

Thanks again from Mel & all the staff at the Colris Hotel Blackpool
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Chose hotel due to location, knew there was no parking but we were lucky and parked in street behind hotel. The hotel is dated but the cleanliness and hard work put in by Mel,Ray and the staff is excellent and they have achieved a lot in a short time of taking over the hotel. With the weather it was nice to be able to sit in the lounge and have a drink in the warm and friendly atmosphere. Breakfast was brill, will definitely return and we also had the pleasure of meeting Winnie xxxx

Room Tip: Try to choose room with sea view, good to see the lights and get the atmosphere of blackpool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colrishotel, Manager at Colris International Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Linda,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am really glad you enjoyed your time with us and thank you again for the chocolates, they were lovely.
We all look forward to seeing you both again in the near future.

Thanks again from Mel & all the staff at the Colris Hotel Blackpool
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

We arrived to the most fantastic welcome from Mel...she is a credit to the hotel as are the rest of the team.
The rooms do need updating but what it lacks in this area Mel,Ray and the team make up for it in personality.
They bent over backwards and couldnt do. enough for you. Yes the hooleys will be back minus the grandma :-) and i hope Winnie will be in residence xxxxx

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

The location was the only good point. The hotel is dated, the shower didn't work, the room was falling apart & the breakfast was cold. This would be lucky to pick up 1* if rated at present. Do not waste your money.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colrishotel, Manager at Colris International Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Customer,

I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. I do remember you both,I agree there was a problem with the Breakfast the first morning of your stay, I was in the Kitchen that morning helping out. I know that the breakfast you sent back went straight in the bin and you were given two fresh hot breakfasts straight away.
I also know that I saw you both soon after Breakfast and asked was everything ok and what you had planed for the day, you replied that everything was fine and you were just doing a bit of shopping.If you read the comments on trip advisor you will see that the Hotel is under new management and we are trying very hard to improve all areas of the Hotel. If a problem is reported to us we make sure it is dealt with there and then, you did not mention to anyone that your shower was not working.
I believe it to be unfair to write a comment like yours without giving the Hotel a chance to amend the problems first.

Again I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us and I wish you both all the best in the future.

From Mel & all the staff at the Colris Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I booked this hotel for me & my partner who emphasised my choice of hotel should have parking. Unfortunately, within minutes I realised there was no parking & in a panic made contact with the hotel to cancel. The cancellation fee is usually the full cost of the booking, but Mel understood my dilemma and kindly waived the fee. Not many hotels would do this and I'd like to say a huge thank you for their excellent customer service :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colris International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colris International Hotel

Address: 209 Central Promenade, Blackpool FY1 5DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #617 of 897 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colris International Hotel is a newly refurbished hotel that offers a home from home atmosphere. We have 9 Sea-view Rooms that start at £30.00 per person per night, with a further 21 non-sea-view rooms ranging from £25.00 per person per night. Although we do not have a bar at present we have a number of items on sale in our Bistro. We do not offer a stag/hen or large group booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo so you can book your Colris International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colris International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.