We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Strathdon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Strathdon Hotel to your Saves list
Strathdon Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   28 St Chads Road | South Shore, Blackpool FY1 6BP , England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 897 Blackpool B&B and Inns
2 reviews
“Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a weekend break at the Strathdon. This was our first visit there and won't be the last. Veronica and Ian (owners) are so welcoming and really go out of their way to make you feel welcome and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are lovely and clean, nice bedding with lots of finishing touches that make this place well deserved of their 4 star rating. We were on a couples trip celebrating our friends 40th birthday, I'm planning to visit again with our daughters in October , can't wait!!! I've finally found the perfect b&b in Blackpool.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
72
49
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We have just arrived home from a 2 night stay with our daughter,lovely place,nice and clean, Ian and Veronica make you feel very welcome. Breakfast was great, lots of choice. Good location, great all round. Would stay here again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

This was my 9th stay at the strathdon hotel and just like the very first time it was exceptional as always.

Located in between the south and central pier just off the promenade, this hotel has everything you need to help you enjoy an overnight stay or short break in Blackpool.

The moment you arrive at the strathdon you immediately notice how well kept and clean the place is. Ian and Veronica are always there to meet and greet you and offer to take your bags off you and with a tea or coffee on hand.

The check in process is quick and easy and no hassle, you are given your key and off you go to your room. The rooms are (unlike most hotels) decorated each season and are modern. The linen and towels are always fresh and the rooms are immaculate throughout. You have a flat screen tv with freeview and tea and coffee facilities. The beds are always comfy and give you a great nights sleep. The bathrooms have power showers and free complimentary soaps and gels.

During the nighttime there is a friendly hotel bar which Ian and Veronica will gladly help you have a night cap or unwind with a glass of wine , a pint of beer or something a little stronger from the top shelf..... I have never eaten here at night but you're able to eat your evening meal here.

Breakfast is served between 8:30 -9. While Veronica is working wonders in the kitchen , Ian is being a fantastic host in the restaurant. The breakfast is anything you really want, you can help yourself to as much fruit salad, yoghurt, cereal, apple and orange juice and coffee/tea as you want as well as Ian providing you with toast on tap, then the full english is by far the best I've tasted.

All in all, if you want a great nights sleep, friendly hosts who go out their way for you, a good priced hotel, a great breakfast, a few late night drinks with a great location.......you need to book this hotel

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veron1, Owner at Strathdon Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you Jaime for taking the time to write a review about your stay.
It was really good to see you both again, we are really pleased that you still enjoy your weekend breaks with us.
We hope to see you both again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just come back from a weekend away with my husband. All I can say i this hotel was absolutely superb. The hosts were very welcoming and the breakfast was amazing, you could have a much as you want. No problems with comfort or cleanliness. This has been one of the best hotels I have stayed at in the UK and will definitely come back here without a doubt.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Fantastic, great hospitality from start to finish.
Helped with luggage on arrival, took an interest in why we were staying in Blackpool. Friendly atmosphere. Wonderful clean, warm and comfortable rooms. Clearly a couple who take pride in what they do.
Fantastic variety at breakfast, food was fab.
Would highly recommend and would deffinatley stay again.
Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Second stay at the hotel,only for 1 night a couple of weeks back this time. Great hosts very welcoming. Great nights sleep. Very clean, well positioned GREAT breakfasts. We will be going back for the weekend in April for our little boys birthday :)

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here over Valentine’s day weekend 2013 and really enjoyed our stay. Veronica and Ian were very helpful and friendly.
The room was very clean and well equipped there was even a rose on the bed when we arrived. Veronica came round everyday and cleaned the room, replenished the tea, coffee and biscuits.
The en-suite had a good selection of toiletries. The breakfast was great with a good selection ranging from fruits and yoghurts to a great full English.
The Strathdon is in a great location close to Pleasure Beach and the Tower. We’ll definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Strathdon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathdon Hotel

Address: 28 St Chads Road | South Shore, Blackpool FY1 6BP , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 897 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Strathdon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Strathdon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strathdon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.