We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOW APPALLING!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ali's Takeaway

Ali's Takeaway
136 Central Drive, Blackpool FY1 5DY, England
+44 1253 626796
Improve this listing
Ranked #408 of 533 Restaurants in Blackpool
Cuisines: Indian, Fast Food
Restaurant details
Blackpool, UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“NOW APPALLING!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

When I first came to live in Blackpool in 2000, I discovered Ali's, having been recommended by a friend. Over the years I patronised it regularly, and then moved away from the area. I returned recently to discover that it had changed hands, and whilst it LOOKED the same, the food was definitely not. An Asian kitchen is made or broken by its chef, and this one is not just broken, it's shattered. I've given it three chances, but sorry, three strikes and you're out. It doesn't help when you see that it now has a one start hygiene rating from the local council inspectors, which is a standard I would never visit. The surrounding area is also now very dubious; waiting outside and having a smoke while my food was being prepared I was propositioned by a prostitute and offered goods from a drug dealer!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    0
    1
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great little take away with friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We use Ali,s regularly and have never had a bad meal yet. Efficient and friendly staff the food is always freshly prepared and the prices are very good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“the best of a bad bunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Finding a decent curry seems really hard in Blackpool. This was about the best but not traditional. Priced ok and fast service though so if in a hurry its OK,. We also had pizza from here and that is really nice.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N E Lincolnshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Ali's Takeaway Blackpool”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

This has to be the worst take away I have ever been to in my life. We paid nearly £20 for a burger, veggie burger and a pizza. The food was a very poor standard, and the takeaway looked rather run down and grubby. They even sell cigarettes in what is supposed to be a take away. Give this take away a wide berth.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“yuk yuk yuk”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

food is disgusting, dont even bother go somewhere else and dont waste ya money

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ali's Takeaway also viewed

 
Blackpool, Lancashire
 

Been to Ali's Takeaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ali's Takeaway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.