We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Fontana Italian Restaurant

La Fontana Italian Restaurant
17 Clifton Street, Blackpool FY1 1JD, England
01253 622231
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 591 Restaurants in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Established for over 20 years, experience a true taste of Italy at La Fontana in their modern Italian Courtyard Restaurant, set beneath a twinkling starry night sky, complete with roof slates, decorative trellis and of course, La Fontana - the fountain after which the Restaurant is named! Enjoy the first class Italian cuisine & warm Mediterranean ambience brought to you by long-time owner Franco and his team of loyal, passionate staff.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very disappointing experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

Visited this restaurant recently on the back of some great reviews so we were looking forward to our experience. All I can say is we were a little let down .The starter I had was terrible,overcooked and fatty I sent the dish back straight away which upset the chef and owner of this restaurant to which i was told in 21 years he had no complaints I found him a little overbearing . The waiter who dealt with us was new to the establishment and when we asked him to change our wine because it was corked he looked at us blankly walked off and didn't bring us the wine list to pick another one. Overall it's a shame because it could a fantastic place.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFontanaRestaurant, Owner at La Fontana Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, January 24, 2011
Dear Waynef1

I'm sorry the fresh Mozzarella cheese starter you had was not to your taste, especially as it is one of our most popular starters which we genuinely haven't had any complaints about in the 21 years it's been on the menu. Upon realising your wine was corked, your Waiter immediately called for the Manager who swiftly served you a replacement/alternative. We're just a little surprised that you haven't commented on the fact that you thoroughly enjoyed the rest of your meal and that you said you would probably come back later that weekend for a second visit.

Franco
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    95
    34
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“a dining experience to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

My partner and myself stayed in Blackpool for my 40th birthday last year and were recommended this restaurant by one of the hotel staff who also worked there in the evening. We had a most enjoyable and memorable evening and the quality of food and excellent service were top notch. It's now my birthday again and boy do i wish we were back in Blackpool. Thankyou to all at La Fontana.

  • Visited February 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswaldtwistle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“you wont be dissapointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

This must be the best restaurant in Blackpool. We stumbled across it quite a few years ago and enjoyed the food and the service so much that we have gone back to visit many times since. I would advise anybody to go and you wont be dissapointed.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

Went for an anniversary dinner with my fiancee. Food beautiful and service spot on! We ordered champagne as it was a special occasion- the waiter asked if it was a special occasion so we told him. After the meal we were waiting for coffee when the lights went down and 'congratulations' began to play! The waiter brought us a little ice cream dessert with a candle in it, wishing us congratulations! Would go back to Blackpool just to go here again!!

Thanks for a lovely evening and amazing meal x

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

We went for a meal on new years eve the restaurant was very busy,we had a table booked for 8pm but was still seated by 8.15pm .The food we ordered was excellent the steak cooked perfect. To say how busy the restaurant was the sevice was very good we never had to wait for any thing.The best tiramisu by far

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fontana Italian Restaurant also viewed

Blackpool, Lancashire
Blackpool, Lancashire
 
Blackpool, Lancashire
Blackpool, Lancashire
 

Been to La Fontana Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fontana Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.