We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Fontana Italian Restaurant

La Fontana Italian Restaurant
17 Clifton Street, Blackpool FY1 1JD, England
01253 622231
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 563 Restaurants in Blackpool
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Established for over 20 years, experience a true taste of Italy at La Fontana in their modern Italian Courtyard Restaurant, set beneath a twinkling starry night sky, complete with roof slates, decorative trellis and of course, La Fontana - the fountain after which the Restaurant is named! Enjoy the first class Italian cuisine & warm Mediterranean ambience brought to you by long-time owner Franco and his team of loyal, passionate staff.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Really nice family meal. Steak, chicken and 2 kids meals.Couldn't fault it. Would definitely go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    87
    28
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Communication at a busy time....?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Went there after trying "Sappori" (an Italian restaurant opposite) the evening before. We arrived and it was really busy, as a large party had just arrived. We asked if they could fit us in and we were told that would be no problem.
We were waited on immediately... and told that they'd be back to take our order.
We waited 25-30 mins, before deciding to get our own drinks from the bar. We'd finished these and were on the brink of leaving before we were seated. We then had to go to the bar to order our own drinks. We were on the brink of leaving again (as others had already done) when we were offered some free garlic bread. After this, the meal arrived, which was averagely good... But by this time, too tired and hungry to really enjoy it. It was clear to see that the restaurant was busy, however, if the service (although very friendly) didn't meet expectations. I'm sure this may be a one-off, but I would have quite happily left (as others did) and dined at Sappori again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Whilst on a weekend break we decided to try after reading the reviews on here so glad we did,we were a party of four and we all said what a great meal in a lovely atmosphere with happy attentive staff, well worth a visit and somewhere we would eat at again now we know it's there.Would recommend to friends and family.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goole, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

nice cosy restaurant with a real buzz about the place, served drinks by a very attentive waitress with a good knowledge of the varied menu,1 litre bottles of house wine very good value and of good quality for around £13.there was 11 of us in our party and all the starters and mains food came piping hot and all together which varied from pizzas,pasta to meat and fish and everyone commented it was excellent, the service was very good with happy waiters and waitresses who interacted with you and were funny as well.to top the evening off they sung happy birthday to my nephew who was 21 then the owner took him for a quick spin in his farrari round the block,i thought this was very kind of him to put himself out which obviously sums this superb Italian up everyone gives 100% with good quality food ,service and drinks.will recommend this place and will return next time we are in blackpool,thanks for a wonderful evening

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

My sisters and I came for a pre theatre. Meal with our kids. I had sea bass which was maybe a little too salty but I liked it. The vegetables were plentiful and cooked to perfection. My sister loved the goats cheese and caramelised red onion pizza and our kids enjoyed their meals. We had a good laugh with the waiters too.



  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fontana Italian Restaurant also viewed

Blackpool, Lancashire
Blackpool, Lancashire
 
Blackpool, Lancashire
Blackpool, Lancashire
 

Been to La Fontana Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fontana Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.