We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty grub!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Fontana Italian Restaurant

La Fontana Italian Restaurant
17 Clifton Street, Blackpool FY1 1JD, England
01253 622231
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 578 Restaurants in Blackpool
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Established for over 20 years, experience a true taste of Italy at La Fontana in their modern Italian Courtyard Restaurant, set beneath a twinkling starry night sky, complete with roof slates, decorative trellis and of course, La Fontana - the fountain after which the Restaurant is named! Enjoy the first class Italian cuisine & warm Mediterranean ambience brought to you by long-time owner Franco and his team of loyal, passionate staff.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Tasty grub!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Being a Tuesday in February it was empty! The service was good, if a little awkward at times as we were the only people needing serving.

The food was delicious, served really quickly unsurprisingly... If we came back to Blackpool we'd revisit La Fontana!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    87
    28
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We found this restaurant on checking Tripadvisor. We tried to book for a Saturday night, half term but staff said if we came along we would get a table. True to their word we were shown to a table immediately. Service was slick. Food was excellent and hot. My wife particularly enjoyed her chicken liver starter. House red wine was very nice. If we ever come back to Blackpool would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Flying Visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Gary Barlow was in town, we hadnt booked in to La Fontana but they found us a table within 20 minutes. You have to try the 'house red' a lovely fruity drink.
Also Calamari, done to perfection.. Lovely and clean staff, friendly and inviting atmosphere.
Loved it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food, very reasonably priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I went here with my boyfriend and his parents on a Monday night. Because it was a Monday the restaurant was quite quiet but despite this there was still a warm, friendly atmosphere. Nothing was too much trouble for our waiter, Davide, who checked on us a couple of times to make sure everything was ok. All of us had different mains which were all equally delicious and we ordered from the Early Bird menu so, not only was it wonderful food, it was a real bagain too! Can't recommend the meatballs highly enough!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“welcome return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

12 months since we last visited and once again thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Food quality is superb along with the atmosphere in this Restaurant.
Great value for a Central position, well presented food and generous portions reasonably priced, but most importantly the food is absolutely delicious!
Really busy on the saturday evening, but seated and served in no time at all. Its always nice to return somewhere and continue to enjoy the high standards, good luck to La Fontana.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fontana Italian Restaurant also viewed

Blackpool, Lancashire
Blackpool, Lancashire
 
Blackpool, Lancashire
Blackpool, Lancashire
 

Been to La Fontana Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fontana Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.