We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unlikely to find better value for money.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beechfield Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Beechfield Hotel to your Saves list
The Beechfield Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   106 - 110 Hornby Road, Blackpool FY1 4QS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Unlikely to find better value for money.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

Highly recommended hotel. Clean spacious building, car parking facilities. Easy walk to the promenade. Friendly staff. Single room was small but adequate, en suite and tea making facilities. Television and clean comfy bed. English breakfast was included and there was a wide variety of cereals, grapefruit, fruit drink and plenty of toast with a selection of jams. I could not have been better pleased. There was even a lift. I played my first game of pool ever, for a cost of 50p, I lost ! A well-stocked bar, with beer quite a bit cheaper than down south.Was able to connect my laptop to high speed internet for free. I was pleasantly surprised to get a first class hotel room for the price of a Youth Hostel bed in a shared room!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    217
    57
    33
    36
See reviews for
212
206
20
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
County Durham
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

Stayed here with group of friends in July,In no hurry to go back.
The downstairs bar and dining room were nice but cant say much about the bedrooms.
We had a wardrobe that nearly fell over everytime we opened it. Double bed was ok but 2 single beds were about 2 feet wide.The room was grubby and smelly.
We had to laugh about sign in shower telling us to close shower curtain while using it,the curtain was about 4 inches from the floor so water went everywhere.RANCID.......................breakfast was nice though.
Pleased we were there for one night :(

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights in August 2010. Staff are very friendly and will do anything they can to help you. Our double room was fine and had everthing we needed. Bathroom was good and although the water pressure in the showers was not excellent I understand this is somthing the hotel was aware of and to be honest it never bothered us! Breakfast was just what we needed in the morning. Bar prices were excellent compared to some of the other Hotels we have experienced. Parking outside too. In the center of town, you can't ask for more and was very well priced.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

rooms are reasonable for a night or 2, people are lovely

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

This is the worst experience I have ever had in a hotel! On Thurs 2nd September I phoned the Beechfield Hotel at about midday, guided by excellent reviews on trip advisor, and booked a two night stay for 2nd and 3rd September. My husband and I travelled to Blackpool after work and arrived at the hotel at about 7.45 pm. We went to the front desk and paid £96 cash for the two nights accommodation. We were then given the key to room 3.
We were concerned that the room was smelly, scruffy and unpleasant however we were both tired and hungry so we unpacked and went out to eat, hoping it would seem better when we returned. During the meal I noticed 2 bites on my ankle which I believed to be flea bites – we then made the decision that we would not be staying in the hotel.

We returned to the hotel at 9.45 to pack and asked for a refund. The desk clerk (Tom) showed us another room but this was not much better, he said he was not authorised to give a refund and said he would have to speak to the manager (Julie). Following a telephone call he said that Julie had told him to give us our money back, minus £30.
The following morning I spoke to Julie at the hotel, she said that Tom should have phoned the owners not her, she didn’t know if she had done the right thing keeping the £30 and was going to speak to the owners who were due into the Beechfield that day for a meeting with her that day. Julie said the owners would telephone me later in the day – they didn’t.
The specific complaints I made to Julie were:
The bedding did not seem fresh.
The panel covering the ceiling light was full of debris.
The room was not very clean.
The dralon headboard had a large hole in it (about the size of my palm).
The basin pedestal had manufacturers stickers on which had been ‘customised’ by a previous guest making them offensive.
The window was insecure.
The biggest problem however was the smell, when I pointed this out Julie said it was a smoking room – this was the first time this was mentioned, there were no signs up and there had been no indication of any kind that the room was a smoking room, I would definitely not have booked it if I had known this.
Having unsuccessfully tried (again) to speak to the owners I sent an email, which was replied to by another employee, he said that the room had been inspected and they found nothing wrong with it!
My advice to anyone who decides to stay at this hotel is do not part with any money until you have checked your room and you are satisfied with it.
I have passed my concerns to trading standards as I belive that the hotel owners have acted unlawfully in keeping my £30.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

we have justt come back from a two night stay the staff are great very friendly and helpfull the downstairs area is spacious and clean the bar prices are very competative no rip off here the only downside was our room walls a bit thin and we we were in room 17 on the front which would have been nice if it wasnt for the window that wouldnt shut properly so instead of fix it they have put clear mastic and sealed it so it was just noise from the outside people smoking and taliking till the early hours the room itself was clean ish but tatty and dated stains on the celing tiles dirty wllpaper and some old what looks like second hand furnature that went out of date in the 70s the shower has bad pressure and goes from boiling to cold value for money at £70 per night b&b a bit much for the poor rooms bed creaked everytime you moved so no hanky panky lol thin matress i would stay again if they modernised the rooms but untill then no stayed better and cheaper in blackpool

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stalybridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

from the very first phone call to the beechfield they were very polite and helpful, so friendly accomitate for all from young to the elderly and groups. very clean and a very warm welcome, could have stayed longer if we had more time.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beechfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beechfield Hotel

Address: 106 - 110 Hornby Road, Blackpool FY1 4QS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#17 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#28 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beechfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to The Beechfield for a warm Northern welcome! Situated in the town centre of Blackpool, we are only a short stroll to The Winter Gardens, Grand Theatre, Hounds Hill Shopping Centre and The Iconic Blackpool Tower.Our extensive car park caters for cars, coaches, vans and mini buses for the duration of your stay and we even offer to leave your vehicle with us on day of departure to make the most of your final day in Blackpool. All our en-suite rooms have 22" flat screen TVs, tea and coffee making facilities, free Wi-Fi and lift access. We offer ground floor rooms, smoking and non smoking rooms and late-check-outs (£10 per room) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Beechfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechfield Hotel Blackpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beechfield Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.