We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
The Ambassador Hotel
332-334 North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2JG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Arrived after a long train journey and found the hotel very easily, being only a short walk from Blackpool North. Was very pleased to find that we had been upgraded to a family room for free and even more pleased when we got to our room to find the sea view that I'd always wanted from a hotel. The room was spacious and clean with a great en-suite.
The buffet breakfast was great and really made you want to get up in the morning.
Staff couldn't have been more helpful, especially grateful for printing out our Pleasure Beach ticket.
Would recommend and definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew G, Owner at The Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we really appreciate your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and even more so our buffet breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon

Mathew greenwood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    62
    25
    25
    38
See reviews for
44
85
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Guardamar Del Segura
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Arrived at hotel and were asked to pay before being given room key. Found this disturbing but later found out why. Residents leaving without paying. Went to room and found bath not shower but on complaining to owners were offered another room or money back .This is the service given to you in this hotel. Nothing is too much trouble. Room on 4th floor with three windows and sea view. Just what we wanted. Perfect.
Breakfast is some thing else, Cereals, Fruit juice, Tea or Coffee and fried buffet breakfast.
Bacon, egg, sausage, beans, tomatoes, hash browns and fried bread What more could you ask for.
Fully recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Would pay little extra for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew G, Owner at The Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. We really appreciate your comments. Were glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

You'll find most hotels are pay on arrival nowadays, and any charges you accumulate during your stay for example dinner are charged when you leave.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Mathew Greenwood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

we have stayed at blackpool around 10 times .& this has to be the best place we have stayed in. plenty of parking lovely room.with a nice view & a great breakfast . only 15 min walk from hotel to the tower .we will use again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew G, Owner at The Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us! We really appreciate it. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Mathew Greenwood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

had a really lovely stay here, all staff very warm and friendly. our room was nice on the third floor, thankful of the lift! window a bit stiff, some parts of hotel are currently under refurb and will be really nice when done including the entertainment lounge. the downstairs lounge bar really comfy. the breakfast was excellent and the evening meal really good value. good location for trams and buses. if in blackpool again will definately return.thanks to matthew,liam,julie,tony? ,david and of course cynthia the boss for making us very welcome.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew G, Owner at The Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us we really do appreciate your feedback. We're all glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

If you are looking to book with us again please get in touch by phone e-mail or click on the link at the top of this page for our own website.

Thanks again for your review!

Mathew Greenwood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south yorkshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Well plus side was breakfast was fine buffet style .staff on reception friendly. After that nice sea view through dirty windows on entry to room.dated carpet that needed hoovering wall paper peeling in corner of room where paint flakes dropping onto drawers where drink cups were. Window wouldnt close properly .Bathroom well ,broken tiles loose tap fittings cracks all over horrendous pink suite,no hot water. All in all worst hotel been in for long time,not recommend,unless other rooms vastly different to one we were in,all hotel needs to be up dated

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew G, Owner at The Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your review.

If you were not happy with your room you should have come down to reception to speak with either myself or Julie we would have only been too happy to help, either move you to another room or a refund. But instead you went home in silence and wrote about it.

We have plenty of hot water, you just need to let it run for a couple of minutes. Again if you didn't know how to use the taps you should have come down to reception.

I'm glad you enjoyed your breakfast and found us friendly enough. None of what you've wrote about here was mentioned to any of my staff during your stay, otherwise something would have been done about it.

Mathew Greenwood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The 4 of us arrived on the 23rd as soon as we arrived they let us check in and gave us our keys. As we asked when booking if we could have the rooms next to each other we got that so that was 1 Tick. We arrived in our rooms and our room was great nice, clean and well presented how it should be and how it was advertised. We had a small issue with the shower the first night as the shower was too hot and i mean i felt like i was on fire lol but next day we asked if there could be a fix to this and as she promised if it wasn't fixed she would let us use another room to get a shower and get ready in and that was what had happened, our last day before we left the shower worked fine again just our luck ay.

The food was brilliant a well presented, nicely cooked full English with everything you would need at your call the staff all in all was well organised and extremely nice and would defiantly bend over backwards for us if we asked them.

The lounge was nice and clean, the bar was well presented with staff already on their waiting for customers to approach with drinks and the Strongbow on tap was nice and fresh.

All in all was a great weekend away in Blackpool the staff was well nice the hotel and food was great top notch to be honest and " YES i would gladly recommend them to anyone!"

P.S: We are thinking of returning for a weekend again before Christmas and we will be booking here if it isn't full. :D

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew G, Owner at The Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us! We really do appreciate it!

We're all glad you enjoyed your stay, and it was lovely meeting you all.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Please give us a ring when you wish to re-book to ensure you get best choice & Price!

Mathew Greenwood :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

One night stay booked on impulse and can honestly say we enjoyed our stay. Warm welcome on arrival,clean comfortable room with a sea view (and we didn't ask for one so that was nice bonus). We took advantage of the hearty, tasty and well cooked full English breakfast on offer and was well enjoyed. Staff friendly,approachable and bent over backwards to assist with anything required.
Overall, excellent value,great stay (thank you)and will certainly return in the future. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew G, Owner at The Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate your comments. Most of all were glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm glad you enjoyed breakfast aswell.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Mathew Greenwood :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ambassador Hotel

Address: 332-334 North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the prestigious north Promenade The New Ambassador Hotel offers guests a comfortable and relaxed stay in Blackpool. We are within walking distance to the town centre, under a mile away from the tower and 5 seconds from a tram or bus stop. We have many rooms all of which are en-suite and have a TV, full sized ironing board, welcome tray, shampoo & body wash and fluffy towels. We have irons, hairdryers and a range of different items available at reception. We Look Forward To Welcoming You :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.