We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
The Ambassador Hotel
332-334 North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2JG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
Tipton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The 4 of us arrived on the 23rd as soon as we arrived they let us check in and gave us our keys. As we asked when booking if we could have the rooms next to each other we got that so that was 1 Tick. We arrived in our rooms and our room was great nice, clean and well presented how it should be and how it was advertised. We had a small issue with the shower the first night as the shower was too hot and i mean i felt like i was on fire lol but next day we asked if there could be a fix to this and as she promised if it wasn't fixed she would let us use another room to get a shower and get ready in and that was what had happened, our last day before we left the shower worked fine again just our luck ay.

The food was brilliant a well presented, nicely cooked full English with everything you would need at your call the staff all in all was well organised and extremely nice and would defiantly bend over backwards for us if we asked them.

The lounge was nice and clean, the bar was well presented with staff already on their waiting for customers to approach with drinks and the Strongbow on tap was nice and fresh.

All in all was a great weekend away in Blackpool the staff was well nice the hotel and food was great top notch to be honest and " YES i would gladly recommend them to anyone!"

P.S: We are thinking of returning for a weekend again before Christmas and we will be booking here if it isn't full. :D

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew G, Owner at The Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us! We really do appreciate it!

We're all glad you enjoyed your stay, and it was lovely meeting you all.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Please give us a ring when you wish to re-book to ensure you get best choice & Price!

Mathew Greenwood :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    62
    25
    25
    38
See reviews for
44
85
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

One night stay booked on impulse and can honestly say we enjoyed our stay. Warm welcome on arrival,clean comfortable room with a sea view (and we didn't ask for one so that was nice bonus). We took advantage of the hearty, tasty and well cooked full English breakfast on offer and was well enjoyed. Staff friendly,approachable and bent over backwards to assist with anything required.
Overall, excellent value,great stay (thank you)and will certainly return in the future. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew G, Owner at The Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate your comments. Most of all were glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm glad you enjoyed breakfast aswell.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Mathew Greenwood :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed here 3 times now and loved each stay – stayed in a number of different hotel around Blackpool but now that we've found this place we're happy as it ticks all of the right boxes. Good location – walking distance from the Tower and town centre - tram and bus stops are also nearby. Rooms are a good size with the side and front rooms having great sea views. Staff are friendly and always very helpful although on our last visit the room staff were a bit too keen to get the room turned around – twice coming to the door in the hour before checkout. Buffet style breakfast - well stocked and great choice. Parking can get a bit hectic but always found there to be enough spaces for everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew G, Owner at The Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we really appreciate your comments. I've had a word with the bedroom staff and reminded them that checkout isn't until 11 o'clock.

I'm glad you had a nice stay and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Mathew Greenwood :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

There were 6 of us staying here. It was my mate's 30th. I have to say the people who own it are lovely, they couldn't do enough for us.
We really enjoyed it. Yes, some of the rooms were a bit dated, but it takes time and money to do all you want to it. The breakfast was lush, the rooms were very clean and it was nice and quiet, so u had a great sleep. Thank you so much for looing after us. See you again next year.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew G, Owner at The Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we really appreciate your comments!

Please contact us directly when you next would like to book!

We look forward to welcoming you again!

Mathew Greenwood :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in room 301 for 1 night for a mates birthday. The hotel had a lovely presence, the receptionist greeted everyone with a smile. The room was clean and tidy, tea and coffee was available inthe room and there was free view on tv, not that we stayed in the room much. The beds were a lovely comfort level. The bathroom was spotless and the shower powerful. One of the bedside lights didn't work, and the toilet wouldn't flush properly, but those were the only slight cons of the overall standard of the room.

Breakfast in the morning is well received and they have a nice mix of foods. The staff are very friendly and always on hand to help if you have any problems.

Would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew G, Owner at The Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we really appreciate your comments. We're all glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

A lamp has been put in the room and the toilet has had its innards replaced.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon

Mathew Greenwood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Clean rooms, buffet cooked breakfast (eat as much as you want), freeview tv , public bar and lounge , optional evening meal
My only slight criticism is that the hot water for bath and shower is very slow.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew G, Owner at The Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate your comments.

Being such an old building the water does have to travel quite a distance, however it does arrive within a couple of minutes.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future :)

Mathew Greenwood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

the hotel was great 2 loverly rooms spotlessly clean and the breakfast was very tasty and staff very friendly, the only compaint was our room had too much sun coming in lol everything was great and would recomend it it all

Room Tip: we pick what must have been the hottest weekend for a long time room was very warm, but not complain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew G, Owner at The Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review, we appreciate you taking the time to tell others about your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future :)

Mathew Greenwood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ambassador Hotel

Address: 332-334 North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the prestigious north Promenade The New Ambassador Hotel offers guests a comfortable and relaxed stay in Blackpool. We are within walking distance to the town centre, under a mile away from the tower and 5 seconds from a tram or bus stop. We have many rooms all of which are en-suite and have a TV, full sized ironing board, welcome tray, shampoo & body wash and fluffy towels. We have irons, hairdryers and a range of different items available at reception. We Look Forward To Welcoming You :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.