We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Autumn Leaves Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Autumn Leaves Guest House to your Saves list
Autumn Leaves Guest House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   29 Broad Street, Windermere LA23 2AB, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Run by Rob and Sara, this charming BnB is well worth a visit. This couple have clearly learnt that a warm and genuine welcome goes a long way, and they really seem to want you to feel welcomed and at home.

The room, in the eaves of the house was pleasant, clean and sunlit from a large high windows, and featured a compact but functional en suite. Quiet, comfy bed etc.

Breakfast, in a lovely dining room, is freshly cooked to order and excellent. The location, 5 mins walk from the train station, and 3 mins from the restaurants in town, is ideal. They provide a handy welcome note with advice on where is good to eat and drink (tip: have a coffee at Cafe Italia and dinner at Francine's - both are superb!).

I don't have a bad thing to say about the place. As and when I return to Windermere, I will stay with these guys again.

Room Tip: Room 6, up in the eaves, with its sloped ceilings is a lovely room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    23
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
35
122
31
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was my first time visiting the Lake District since I was very young. From the moment I stayed at the guest House to the moment I left Rob and Sara made me and my girlfriend feel at home.

I have stayed in many places in the UK but this was the best, Rob and Sara will help you with anything, including helping you get and find the best deals. Once again Rob many thanks for the 50% discount on the ferry :D

The bedroom was a decent size and was extremely clean. The bathroom was a fair size and again was very clean.

Would highly recommend you give this place a try.

Thanks for the wonderful experience.
Martyn & Sandy (Sheffield)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I would strongly recommended it to others. Everything is lovery, clean and warm. It was a lovery house with flower-decorated windows on the charming street. Windermere Railway Station is only 5 minutes away. It's short of nothing. Everything I want is there - cosy, fully-equipped room, great, hot and freshly cooked breakfast, strong Wi-fi signal, powerful hair-dryer, amenities made from natural ingredients. My bathroom was not en-suite, but it was on the same floor and totally private. The owners Rob and Sarah are very friendly and hospitable. They helped me kindly when I couldn't arrive on time and when I left my (heavy) luggage after check-out. And, I stayed upstairs and had a very heavy suitcase (about 30 pounds!), but Rob was very strong so he helped me to carry it. Actually, he lifted it up over his chest and carried it into room quickly, and was ready for more.:P
I had a great time. I'd like to stay once again. I'll learn English and get to speak English better till I come back someday. (I visited Lake District before I start to learn English in Edinburgh.) Thank you Rob and Sarah!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed 2 nghts after completing the Dales Way walk. Very friendly welcome, comfortable rooms and excellent breakfast. Great location close to the centre of Windermere with plenty of choice for eating out. Unfortunately wasn't able to take advantage of the spa pass. Perhaps next time?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We booked to stay at Autumn Leaves following reviews read on Tripadvisor and we certainly were not disappointed. We stayed in room 6 which is at the top of the house, the room is compact but that certainly posed no problems, and my husband is 6ft 3, the room was tastefully decorated, was exceptionally clean and smelt gorgeous. We had an en-suite bathroom which was also modern, clean and tidy. We were provided with towels and complimentary toiletries, which was a nice touch. The room was lovely and warm and my husband was totally enamoured by the veloux windows and the fact he could star gaze when lying in bed!
Breakfast was provided between 8 - 8.45 am, cereal, yoghurts, pain au chocolate, fresh orange as well as either a full cooked breakfast, bacon or sausage sandwich or vegetarian option. There was certainly enough on offer to set you up for the day and the quality was good as well as very tasty. Rob and Sarah were really lovely, we felt welcome from the minute we arrived, their friendliness was totally genuine and Rob was really helpful in recommending places to eat as well as giving us advice on where to visit. Spa pass for hotel in Bowness was an added bonus. We were able to park outside the B & B and it is ideally situated within a short walking distance of cafe's and restaurants.
Big thanks to Rob and Sarah, who once they found out it was our anniversary, surprised us with a lovely card and a bottle of bubbly.
We'll definitely be back and will happily recommend Autumn Leaves to everyone we know.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Was due to go to Wales with our friends the Smiths, but was let down very badly by Virgin, so trawled the Internet for last minute break and spotted this little gem of a guest house. Reviews were spot on, can only emphasis further. Rob and Sara were great hosts, full of good information on places to eat. Rooms were compact, but tastefully decorated and very well maintained, the ideal location for sightseeing of Windermere. Sara provided a hearty full English breakfast and beans (lol). Will definitely recommend to our friends and hopefully we will return at some point in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed for 3 nights at the end of august. The rooms were very modern and incredibly clean, the breakfast was delicious and the hosts were willing to cater to all our needs. The free spa pass was a lovely bonus and was a nice way to wind down at the end of the day. Brilliant recommendations for things to do/eat from Rob. Cant wait to come back in the winter, Joe and Hollie.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Autumn Leaves Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Autumn Leaves Guest House

Address: 29 Broad Street, Windermere LA23 2AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Autumn Leaves Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Autumn Leaves Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Autumn Leaves Guest House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Autumn Leaves Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Autumn Leaves Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.