We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view but thats about all.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of John Ruskin Brasserie at Lakeside Hotel

John Ruskin Brasserie at Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside, Newby Bridge, Windermere LA12 8AT, England
+44 (0)15395 30001
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 67 Restaurants in Windermere
Price range: $51 - $92
Restaurant details
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful view but thats about all.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I recently went for a fact finding mission to this hotel to see if I wanted to base my next holiday here. We went for coffee in the garden and sat down to wait for someone to take our order, and waited and waited. No one came so we went indoors to order. The staff were obnoxious and very self important. It was £14 for 2 coffees and a tea which took half an hour to arrive with no apology for the delay. It seemed that a select few of the guests were very favoured but the rest were an inconvenience. So my recommendation is go another mile down the road to the Swan Hotel which sits on a beautiful river, is very friendly and much more reasonably priced. The foods good too.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    18
    9
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Deelish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Really lovely setting, fantastic food and great service a bit pricey but well worth it we would definitely eat there again!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea in a lovely location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

My birthday present from my 12 year old son (via my husband) was Afternoon Tea for us both at the Lakeside, the hotel is in a lovely setting with wonderful views. However there were some down sides, firstly the Conservatory is an ideal setting for Afternoon Tea, but the almost constant stream of people walking through to access their rooms or the Spa is a little off putting, so perhaps it would be better to request a table a the far end of the Conservatory. Secondly the drinks and sandwiches arrived promptly and, when they were finished, a waitress brought the jam and butter. We then had to wait more than 15 minutes for the cakes and scones. I queried why it was taking so long and was told that they are hand finished to it takes time. I did query why then had they brought out the butter and jam so early and that, as we had booked in advance, our booking was not a surprise "walk in", but the waitress just shrugged an apology before disappearing. The final event that made my mind up not to return was when we were charged for my son's lemonade! It was clear from the voucher we handed over that it was his present to me. Being a fairly typical 12 year old, he is not keen on drinking tea, yet we were still expected to pay £2 for a glass of lemonade. The Afternoon Tea for 2 costs almost £50 and I would have expected that they could have run to a complimentary glass of lemonade in lieu of a pot of tea, but clearly not. I did not want to make a fuss as he was already embarrassed that his present to me had cost money so paid without saying anything. But then, with a hotel of this standard, I should not have to!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Nice pint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

Great beer, great service and fantastic location. The bar area is comfortable and the hotel itself looked top notch. Will plan to stay/eat here in next few months.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Steak and Ale pie to die for! Great service from well motivated staff who enjoy going the extra mile.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John Ruskin Brasserie at Lakeside Hotel also viewed

Newby Bridge, Lake District
Newby Bridge, Lake District
 
Newby Bridge, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to John Ruskin Brasserie at Lakeside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Ruskin Brasserie at Lakeside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.