We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holbeck Ghyll

Holbeck Ghyll
Holbeck Lane, Windermere LA23 1LU, England
+44 (0)15394 32375
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 67 Restaurants in Windermere
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

The food and service here was simply outstanding. We would go back again and again (if only we could afford it!).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGB1, Guest Relations at Holbeck Ghyll, responded to this review, November 13, 2010
Dear ChrisWolf1980,

Thank you for taking the time to review Holbeck Ghyll on Trip Advisor.

All the team were delighted to read that you had an enjoyable meal.

We look forward to welcoming you to Holbeck Ghyll again soon.

With kind regards,

Hannah Britton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    50
    38
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice food, just don't go on a Saturday night!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

We went to Holbeck on Saturday night on recommendation of the Windernere Suites where we were staying.
The setting is good, we were shown into the lounge for drinks. About half an hour later we were shown to our table in a side room off the main restaurant. This seemed to be the overflow and was treated as such. The room lacked atmosphere, staff were attentive and food when it arrived was good but I found the menu very limited. After we finished dinner we were the only people left in the room and so went into another empty lounge for coffee. Once that was served we were left, we had to go a find someone to ask for the bill. which had a glass of champagne on it that wasn't ours.
All in all very dissapointing, the atmosphere was stuffy and front of house greeting wasn't good. Not what we expect from a restaurant of this calibre and wouldn't be in a hurry to go back again.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGB1, General Manager at Holbeck Ghyll, responded to this review, October 14, 2010
Dear g4gynny,

Thank you for your feedback; naturally we are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your meal with us. Myself and the management team have discussed all your comments and my team join me in sending our apologies.

The side room that you refer to is part of our restaurant; I am sorry if you were made to feel that it was anything less. Regarding the limited menu, we do prepare and cook everything fresh, on the day. We have very limited storage space, being an 20th century Hunting Lodge which help us keep the choice between five starters, five main course, five desserts and a gourmet menu fresh and exciting.

There is no excuse for lack of service after the meal and this is an area which we have improved on; thank you for highlighting this area.

Once again, thank you for your comments, they have been taken in the manner in which they were intended. We do hope that you will return soon to experience the improvements and changes for yourself.

Yours sincerely,

Andrew McPherson
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, good service & a quiet atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Me and my girlfriend booked Holbeck Ghyll for a Monday lunch on our recent holiday to the Lakes. The first thing that strikes you on arrival are the fantastic views accross Windermere (definitely worth taking your camera). The inside of the building was very charming, it is very different from so many of the ultra modern Michelin starred restaurants that you come across more and more these days. The dinning room has uncovered wooden tables and chairs so it gives a charming, if not slightly old fashioned feel. Unfortunately on this afternoon we were the only diners in the restaurant. This meant that there was no real atmosphere to judge, however the food was wonderful. My starter of rabbit was superb and the strawberry dessert that my girlfriend had was out of this world!! The service was not perfect considering we were the only ones in the dinning room, but this may have been because we had three members of staff seeing to us instead of one!! However each waiter was polite and the Matradee made us feel very relaxed and welcome by talking to us about our holiday, which we thought was nice. We were told we had to pay for the bill at reception, so when we received the total value we were pleasantly sursprised. The two of us enjoyed a three course lunch with Amuse-bouche and three glasses of wine and all of this was under £85!! Great value for money when you consider how good the food was. One thing to note is that Holbeck Ghyll (quite refreshingly) do not include a surcharge on your bill like many other restaurants do, so if you do wish to tip your waiter, do so before you go through to pay at reception. All in all we had a wonderful lunch and would highly recommend Holbeck Gyhll.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGB1, Guest Relations at Holbeck Ghyll, responded to this review, October 9, 2010
Dear YoungFoodie187058,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your dining experience at Holbeck Ghyll.

All the staff are thrilled to read that you had such a wonderful time and enjoyed the food so
much. I have discussed your comments in regards to the service with the Maitre d’ and he sends his apologies.

We are delighted to read that you will be recommending us and we hope to welcome you back to Holbeck Ghyll soon.

Kind regards,

Hannah Britton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Don't go here if you are hungry”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

The service was outstanding but the food was very disappointing. It was very expensive but fine if you are happy with an edible pattern on a plate. I am considered a small eater (I weigh 7.5 stone ) but I had to fill up on the chocolates at the end of the meal which was unhealthy.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGB1, Guest Relations at Holbeck Ghyll, responded to this review, September 25, 2010
Dear Norwich17,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent meal at Holbeck Ghyll. All guest comments are listened to and evaluated.

We hope to welcome you to Holbeck Ghyll again.

Yours sincerely,

Hannah Britton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“relaxing,great accomodation,service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

I stayed here on business in August 10.On arrival I stood on the front lawn for a long time just taking in the fantastic view looking over the lake.
We had a business meeting in the conference room which had excellent facilities and that view again.
My room was spotless and very comfortable with a balcony looking over the lake.
In the evening we were looked after very well by the staff.
The food was really really good accompanied by good quality wine.
This is the first time I have stopped here but hopefully it won't be the last.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGB1, Guest Relations at Holbeck Ghyll, responded to this review, August 27, 2010
Dear tcsales_10,

Thank you for taking the time to review Holbeck Ghyll on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your business meeting and overnight stay with us. I agree the view certainly is fantastic!

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Hannah Britton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holbeck Ghyll also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Holbeck Ghyll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holbeck Ghyll, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.