We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Michelin starred - why?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holbeck Ghyll

Holbeck Ghyll
Holbeck Lane, Windermere LA23 1LU, England
+44 (0)15394 32375
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 67 Restaurants in Windermere
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Michelin starred - why?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My wife and I ate here last night - we're staying in the lakes for a week and wanted to eat here to see what all the fuss was about. Given it's held a michelin star for 13 years, you'd expect nothing but perfection. Wrong! The meal was nothing short of a disappointment, although the location and decor in the hotel is fabulous. The evening got off to a bad start with an incredibly pompous Sommelier - unfortunately he managed to get my back up from the moment we stepped through the door. I was driving so couldn't drink, and my wife doesn't drink much, and only wanted a glass of house white. The attitude we received for asking for a house white was utterly unnecessary - I thought we'd moved away from this kind of service in restaurants, but obviously not. Anyway, putting this episode to one side we moved on to the food. Which was average at best. The canapes were bland, the starters not much better, and the mains were unimaginative. If you're looking for food with a wow factor, don't eat here. Holbeck Ghyll is a very old fashioned lakes hotel - the service is stuffy and the atmosphere staid, and it's expensive - in fact the cost is beyond a joke. We paid £150 for 2, and the only drinks we had were a glass of white and a coke. We won't be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    50
    38
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This restaurant was amazing. First class attention to detail. Food was perfect and the staff were brilliant. We will go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American in the UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Felt like I was dining at Downton Abbey :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Granted, my husband and I were given a gift voucher for a full dining experience at the Holbeck Ghyll (otherwise we probably wouldn't have been able to afford it under normal circumstances ;) but WOW, we had a special time we had! It was liking dining at Downton! Gorgeous setting, moving from room to room, drinks on trays, constant attentiveness, and obviously scrumptious food (I had the fillet)....It was an experience we will never forget!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Came here for my honeymoon, and had very nice canapes and champagne in the lounge before the meal, which is a nice touch.
Meal is so tasty and good portions, as sometimes top restaurant tend to go too small with everything! Lovely dining experience and service flawless.
Must visit in lake district.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Get it in writing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Booked a table for 4 for a Saturday night 2 months ago. Never received an e-mail or other contact. Thought I would confirm but was told the resevation had been made for Friday night, not Saturday and 'couldn't understand why an e-mail confirming the reservaton had not been sent'. Now searching for somewhere to eat to celebrate our 30th anniversary. Appalling service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holbeck Ghyll also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Holbeck Ghyll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holbeck Ghyll, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.