We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small & chic, wonderful food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jerichos Guest House

Save Saved
You added Jerichos Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jerichos Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   College Road, Windermere LA23 1BX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 113 Windermere B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Small & chic, wonderful food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Being billed as a "restaurant with rooms" made me a little disconcerted as to how adequate Jerichos' accommodation would be. Very as it turned out. My husband and I were travelling with my elderly parents. The hotel was full. We had the last two rooms. Our room was the smallest in the property, and whilst the room itself was quite adequate for us for one night, the shower-room was indeed miniscule. If only they'd placed the sink slightly higher it would have been possible not to graze one's knees whilst sitting on the loo. Pillows on the bed were rather uncomfortable too - perhaps replacing one of the two really thick ones with one thinner one? The restaurant food more than made up for these minor issues. We had a very enjoyable seasonal feast for dinner and a pleasant breakfast before heading on our way. Windermere itself is nothing special though so whilst the hotel is very conveniently located for Windermere, if you're wanting easy lake access this town isn't it.

Room Tip: Room #5 is the smallest in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    24
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
12
122
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Jerichos is ideally located in Windermere behind the main street so you are away from all the traffic. The food is good with a reasonably priced wine list. The room i had was small but had enough storage space. Personally, I was not fond of the decor in the place but that is down to personal preference. The staff were pleasant but at times if felt as though customer service did not come easy to them which left me feeling a little awkward. It's good that people try though! I would definitely return, however, because it is very good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Me and my new wife stayed there last weekend, we both had a fantastic few nights and would like to thank jo and chris for the great stay we had.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

From the moment we arrived we knew we were at somewhere very special. Our room was delightful with a very comfy bed and ample space. The dinner menu was wonderfully balanced to cater for all tastes - the starters included a shrimp risotto and a chorizo dish whilst mains had guinea fowl, wild sea bass or cod loin plus a vegetarian option. The desserts were incredible and we both shared the others one. The star of the desserts had to be the raspberry tart but the chocolate one was very close behind. We opted for the wine tasting as well with the food complementing the menu perfectly. Breakfast was equally superb and the scrambled eggs were creamy and melting in the mouth. Clearly at Jericho's food is cooked with passion and imagination. We shall be back and are busily recommending it to all. If. You get the chance - go and enjoy it as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

stayed one night the room was clean a bit on the small side and very basic. We ate in the restaurant the food was very good i would highly recommend it! The thing that let Jerichos down for us was when we went for breakfast there was someone one in a hoodie with their pyjamas on no slippers just socks!! I dont mean a child either. We complained and was told that was how things are these days people just roll out of bed and straight to breakfast without washing or dressing!!!! the management didn't care i found that shocking!!!! We stay in many hotels and have never come across this ever before. Needless to say we won't be going back to stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Spent the weekend of 15, 16 & 17 June 2012 at jericho's. Excellent accommodation, modern, clean & welcoming. We did not eat at the restaurant, but breakfast was very good with a large choice.
Very good location withing Windemere & only a short walk to Bowness.
I would not hesitate to recommend as a place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room's 10 & 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed at Jerichos for a 4 day break in May.
Lovely building, modern decor, close to the windemere main town and a short 15/20 min walk from Bowness on Windermere.
We had a deluxe room which was a nice size, comfortable, nicely decorated with a sparkly clean bath/shower. Toiletries were provided but these werent ones you could take away with you. Rooms were cleans daily and if you didnt want this there was a cute 'do not disturb' sign you could put up.
Owners were very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast is included, but we only had this once as its served only between 8 till 8.45/9 and for us this was a little early, we work in the City everyday and on holiday we like a little lay in, so if breakfast had been available until at least 9.30, or even 10am that would have suited us better.

There is a restaurant room below, we didnt have time to eat downstairs, but we only heard good things about it.

Otherwise a great stay and would definitely reccommend!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jerichos Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerichos Guest House

Address: College Road, Windermere LA23 1BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jerichos Guest House 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Jerichos Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jerichos Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jerichos Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.