We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointed!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jerichos Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Jerichos Guest House to your Saves list
Jerichos Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   College Road, Windermere LA23 1BX, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Dissapointed!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

stayed one night the room was clean a bit on the small side and very basic. We ate in the restaurant the food was very good i would highly recommend it! The thing that let Jerichos down for us was when we went for breakfast there was someone one in a hoodie with their pyjamas on no slippers just socks!! I dont mean a child either. We complained and was told that was how things are these days people just roll out of bed and straight to breakfast without washing or dressing!!!! the management didn't care i found that shocking!!!! We stay in many hotels and have never come across this ever before. Needless to say we won't be going back to stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    28
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
163
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Spent the weekend of 15, 16 & 17 June 2012 at jericho's. Excellent accommodation, modern, clean & welcoming. We did not eat at the restaurant, but breakfast was very good with a large choice.
Very good location withing Windemere & only a short walk to Bowness.
I would not hesitate to recommend as a place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room's 10 & 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed at Jerichos for a 4 day break in May.
Lovely building, modern decor, close to the windemere main town and a short 15/20 min walk from Bowness on Windermere.
We had a deluxe room which was a nice size, comfortable, nicely decorated with a sparkly clean bath/shower. Toiletries were provided but these werent ones you could take away with you. Rooms were cleans daily and if you didnt want this there was a cute 'do not disturb' sign you could put up.
Owners were very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast is included, but we only had this once as its served only between 8 till 8.45/9 and for us this was a little early, we work in the City everyday and on holiday we like a little lay in, so if breakfast had been available until at least 9.30, or even 10am that would have suited us better.

There is a restaurant room below, we didnt have time to eat downstairs, but we only heard good things about it.

Otherwise a great stay and would definitely reccommend!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough! My husband and I stayed for 2 nights and the hotel really lived up to its reviews :) The food in the restaurant is outstanding. I would recommend when booking your room to book the restaurant at the same time ( It was fully booked when we arrived and it was only by chance a cancelation came through). Looking forward to returning very very soon!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed for one night in April. We were greeted warmly by the owner and tajen to the room. The room was nice and the ensuite spotlessly clean.The only downside was that it only had a shower and after an active day walking, a soak would have been very welcome. However, that is probably my own oversight for not checking when I booked. It was also a bit of a juggle with the tea tray on the dressing table and kettle by the TV as plug sockets were limited.
We ate in the restaurant in the evening and the meal was just superb. Chris is a truly talented chef and richly deserves the many awards displayed in the hallway of the hotel. The asparagus was perfectly cooked and my steak just fantastic. Portions are very generous and two courses would have more than sufficed but I was not going to pass up the opportunity to sample the lemon and lime tart. I was not not disappointed...it was heavenly!
We'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed at the Jericho for 5 nights the room we stayed in (room 9) was lovely and had a good size bathroom. We had breakfast there every day and this was also tasty and offered a range of different food you could choose from. The hotel is situated around a mile from the more busy tourist spot of bowness were you can catch the boat trips the walk there is pleasant and pretty easy. The best thing about the hotel though must be the food we ate there on the last night of our stay and both agreed the food was up there with the best we had ever eaten. Also must say the two owners are very good hosts and so were the younger girls who worked there at breakfast and the evening.

Room Tip: We had room 9 which we can reccomend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Lovely 2 night stay here in a superior room. Staff were excellent and can highly recommend the restaurant fab service and lovely touches.....the homemade chocolates were gorgeous. Excellent location too. Look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jerichos Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerichos Guest House

Address: College Road, Windermere LA23 1BX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jerichos Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Jerichos Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jerichos Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jerichos Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.