We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well kept guesthouse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cottage

Save Saved
You added The Cottage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cottage
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Elleray Rd, Windermere LA23 1AG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 113 Windermere B&B and Inns
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very well kept guesthouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights from 18th August with my boyfriend and i can highly recommend this B&B to readers on here.
The Cottage, whilst being traditional, has lovely clean modern rooms, nothing frilly and outdated here!.
The room had a tv/dvd player with a big TV, which was great for those rainy evenings in bed.
The couple that own this b&b are really lovely and are always on hand with help and advice. The breakfasts are to die for and i recommend the French toast & Waffles
All in all i fount this to be a great value B & B and would definately stay again on my next visit to the lakes

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    12
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
89
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The Cottage provided us with everything we could have asked for, in terms of comfort, cleanliness, location and quality and quantity of breakfast.

The rooms were very well appointed and serviced to an excellent standard. Our room had a huge super size bed, a very well appointed en-suite. The guest information is up to date and included maps of walks that could be undertaken from the doorstep.

The house is very attractive and dates from the early 1800's . The entrance hall area contains another excellent selection of guest attraction leaflets
Breakfast was served in a most attractive and comfortable dining room and as mentioned, the food was firs rate, being served to order, and the full breakfast was excellent.

Having stayed in Windermere several times before, location is most important and benefits from a onsite car park (a major bonus) and a very central location right in Windermere village

The owners of were able to provide for all of our needs and the word 'professional' comes to mind.

We are already booked to return in the Autumn and would highly recommend The Cottage.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Booked the cottage because a friend visiting from Australia was staying there. We caught up for the one night which was most comfortable. The property is beautiful and very well maintained. Our room was lovely, bedding , towels etc were tops! My friends room was absolutely gorgeous I could live there!!!! I would recommend this place to anyone wanting a good location and quality.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here for 4 wonderful nights in the Lake District. This was our first visit to the Lake District, and the location was wonderfully central for our needs. The location was within steps of the Orrest Head hiking path and the great restaurants of Windermere. Most of the main tourist sights are within 15-20min drive, including Dove Cottage, Beatrix Potter's house, and Aira Force.

The room was average in size, and well kept and appointed. Wendy and Steve kept the room clean, and even washed the carpets one day after we accidentally returned from hiking with dirt/mud on our boots. Breakfast was wonderful with a great variety of choices. The hotel had convenient parking in front of the house.

We would highly recommend the Cottage for anyone looking for a wonderful visit to the Lake District. Wendy and Steve will make you feel right at home.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Have just returned from The Cottage having stayed for 4 night's and had a great time the room we had was lovely, very tastefully decorated and very clean. So much choice for breakfast, tried something different everyday but have to say the eggs Benedict was to die for! Going to return soon.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We were so impressed with our stay at this B & B that I am writing my first review on TripAdvisor.We stayed here for 4 nights during a walking tour of the lakes. It was a shame not to be able to stay longer as we were made so comfortable. The property was clean, tastefully decorated with crisp sheets and a comfy bed. We were in room 7 on the 2nd floor, not a very large room but so cosy and romantic with a cute little bathroom and tub,
we ate just across the street at Greys inn, would highly recommend the steaks.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Just got back home from a weekend in this guest house,its supposed to be 4 star but i dont think so. mould on the curtains mould on tiles in shower,shower door wont shut,stains on carpet in bedroom.....if you decide to stay here be very carefull as the owners are in your room as soon as you leave or go out checking the sheets etc for spillages! we got charged £20 for a towel which had a stain on it, we paid this and took the towel,which went in our washing machine and presto no stain!!!! Also the conning owner wanted to charge £200 for the duvet cover which he claimed had a mark on it, when asked to come and show me he said the room had bad light and it wasnt visible but he had the credit card details and would charge accordingly. hence i,ve had to cancel my card, he knew we had just got engaged therefore a small dot of champagne on a towel etc shouldnt be something to lose his head over.. i have stayed in hotels and b&b all over the world and i have never met a couple like this, if they don,t wan,t people to spill things etc then don,t own a b&b, also they will move your personal things, but the fact he claims the house is haunted i,m sure the ghosts will get the blame for this... and finally i have contacted the necessary organisation to complain further as he should by law have public liability insurance and business insurance and can claim for any bedding and towels through this. so if you decide to stay here, hover over the carpets take your own sleeping bag and towels...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage

Address: Elleray Rd, Windermere LA23 1AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottage 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage Windermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.