We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT Location / Great Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fir Trees Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Fir Trees Guest House to your Saves list
Fir Trees Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Lake Road | Windermere, English Lake District, Cumbria, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 112 Windermere B&B and Inns
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT Location / Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My Husband and I stayed for a long weekend in November. We'd never stayed in Winderemere before, so weren't sure if we'd picked a good location or not. We opted for Fir Trees because it is described as being on the main road in between Windermere and Bowness on Windermere. We were not disappointed as this hotel has an EXCELLENT LOCATION!!! It's about a 5 minute walk to either town. There is a lovely atmosphere about this place and we received a very warm welcome by this family run business. The hotel is decorated to an excellent standard (rooms were lovely and warm which was great after coming in from the cold outside). It was previously a Vicarage and still retains a lot of the original features i.e. large hallway and grand stairway. Additionally, lots of little personal touches (tea, coffee and hot chocolate in the room, replenished often). Books, dvds and board games in the hallway/landing etc. The staff are very friendly and helpful and there was ample parking for our estate car too. Breakfast was scrumptious with plenty of choice! Fully English / bacon/sausage sandwich / cereal, toast, fruit, yogurt etc. We could not fault this hotel and would highly recommend it to others. We will definitely return :-)

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    33
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
35
84
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in room 6 king size bed so comfy spotless lots of little touches ie water wine glass and snacks. Breakfast was excellent and very big nothing was to much trouble with definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Room 6 garden view very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

We stayed in room 6 (superior double). Lots of good points: very comfy bed with premium quality linen, spacious room, immaculately clean, sofa in the room is useful, ample parking, good location and proximity to Windermere and Bowness, wine glasses in the room are a nice touch. Less good: the shower in the room was very weak, although the bath is large and makes up for this. Breakfast was tasty with nice coffee and sausages/ bacon, but the veggies (mushrooms and tomato) were a bit of a let-down. Overall a nice B&B.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Wonderful B&B with great hosts. Set in between Windermere and Bowness on Windermere. Lovely comfortable accommodation and a great breakfast to get you set up for the day. We will be definitely be back

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

We were welcomed by Bob to the wonderful Fir Trees guest house. A lot of the original features are still in the house and this felt almost like a step back in time. Upon viewing the room the tasteful decor really surprised us, it was far bigger and better than the photos related. The room (Garden Room 6) was immaculately clean along with the heating set to perfection and table lamps on upon early evening arrival. Breakfast was cooked to perfection, with a wide choice for both hot and cold options. Would definitely recommend for a relaxing break. Overall, this was a very good value for money 2 night stay in a beautiful part of the country.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in Room 9 on the ground floor which was the small family room. It was immaculately clean and tidy and was serviced every day with clean towels provided each time (not so in all Guest Houses we have stayed in ). The hosts Bob and Bea were very friendly and welcoming, striking the perfect balance with their attentiveness without crossing over into being intrusive. We could not fault this Guest House, the beds were clean and comfortable, the whole atmosphere is relaxing and the breakfast was one of the best we have had in any Guest House or Hotel. We will definitely be staying again, though possibly as a couple in one of the Executive rooms next time. I would fully recommend Fir Trees to anyone looking for a quality Guest House in easy walking distance to both Bowness and Windermere. Thank you both for a fantastic stay we will be back.

Room Tip: Visit the excellent website to review the room pictures to help you make a decision.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

Just spent 2 nights at the Fir Tree, upon arrival staff are welcoming, the hotel well presented, very well maintained and lovely and warm. You feel you are entering someone's home rather than their business. Our room was very nice, spacious , again very clean, warm and homely. Breakfast was lovely, full English as it should be, quality produce, well cooked, presented looking clean and appetizing . A proper cure after a proper night out. Bye the way .. A really comfy and spacious bed !

Staff are all pleasant and accommodating, they do not force themselves on you and stay in the background letting you get on with your day. Always available though should you need them. Parking is available and a nice garden round the back makes this place a pleasant stay. The price we paid fits well with what we got, no more expensive or cheaper than the other business`s around it and we would definitely stay here again. The only negative was the Wi-Fi didn't work for us.

Room Tip: Room number 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fir Trees Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fir Trees Guest House

Address: Lake Road | Windermere, English Lake District, Cumbria, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fir Trees Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fir Trees Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fir Trees Guest House Hotel Windermere
Fir Trees Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fir Trees Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.