We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fir Trees Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Fir Trees Guest House to your Saves list
Fir Trees Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Lake Road | Windermere, English Lake District, Cumbria, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Fantastic hosts. Lovely clean & spacious room, we had a great nights sleep night after night. This was our second stay & we will not stay anywhere else in future when we visit the Lake District. Great location. We introduced our friends on this trip & they agree with us & will return to Fir Trees as will we. Cant speak highly enough, you should try it for yourselves.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    36
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
86
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My Husband and i stayed two nights at the Fir Trees guest house in mid April, and could not fault a thing. The room was spotlessly clean and very welcoming. The breakfast was delicious and filling, and served in a lovely relaxed atmosphere. The hosts were excellent and nothing was a problem. Fir Trees Guest House was also in an excellent location no more than ten minutes walk from Windemere town in one direction and Boweness town and the lake in the other. A fantastic stay and we have already booked to go back in the summer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthmadog, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Have returned from a lovely Easter break at Fir Trees. Have stayed here many times over the years. Would not choose anywhere else to stay in Windermere. Great breakfast, plenty of choice. Very clean nicely decorated rooms. Excellent hosts Bea and Bob also excellent service and very friendly manner from Laura. We highly recommend people to visit Fir Trees as we do every year and have the same excellent service.

Room Tip: The larger family room is much spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We booked a 3 day 'babymoon' on the strength of a family recommendation and we were not disappointed. On arrival, we found there to be ample parking and the exterior was very appealing. We were greeted with a friendly welcome from Bob, the owner, and the interior was filled with character and period features. The owner offered help with our bags and showed us to our room, which was nicely decorated, clean and spacious. There was even the added perk of towelling robes and slippers for our use, in addition to the well-stocked complimentary refreshments. The king-size bed provided 3 nights of excellent sleep, and the owner was more than happy to provide extra pillows for my wife to support the bump! The location was perfect with both Windermere and Bowness only 10 minutes walking distance, as well as being ideally situated for exploring the broader areas. The dining room was bright and well laid out, and it was lovely to be greeted with soothing classical music each morning, along with the aroma of freshly brewed coffee! The buffet table provided a variety of cereals, yoghurts and fresh fruit to get us started, and a range of cooked breakfast options were available. The staff were more than happy to accommodate requests regarding the preparation of the food. Overall, our 3 day break at the guest house was thoroughly enjoyable and restful, and we wouldn't hesitate to stop there again, only next time it will be a family room!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Have just returned from a lovely Easter break at Fir Trees. We have never stayed in b&b but it was a great experience!
Breakfast was great, lots of choices and very tasty.
The room was very clean, warm, and nicely decorated. The owners were a friendly and helpful, who made you feel very welcome. Very good locations only 5-10 min walk into Windermere. Car park just outside.
We would highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

room very clean. Free wifi. Breakfast lovely, catering for vegetarians, excellent location,a 5 minutes walk to the lake, with a wide range of restaurants to choose from. nice touch of freebies in the room when you arrive and stocked up each day. Will definatly come back.in summer.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just returned from a midweek break at Fir Trees Guest House, we found Fir Trees full of character and steeped with history. We were greeted with a very friendly warm welcome. The accommodation was very clean and warm. Our host Bob was very informative about the history of the house, and Bob was keen to assist us when we asked for his advice about the best restaurants. We enjoyed the breakfast it was amazing with plenty of choice. Fir Trees was situated in a good position central to both Windermere and Bowness. I would highly recommend this B & B and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fir Trees Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fir Trees Guest House

Address: Lake Road | Windermere, English Lake District, Cumbria, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fir Trees Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Fir Trees Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fir Trees Guest House Hotel Windermere
Fir Trees Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fir Trees Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.