We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definately worth a visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fir Trees Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Fir Trees Guest House to your Saves list
Fir Trees Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Lake Road | Windermere, English Lake District, Cumbria, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 112 Windermere B&B and Inns
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Definately worth a visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Just returned from a great weekend at the Firtrees Guest House, WIindermere, It was our second visit and we were pleased to be greeted by the lovely hosts Bea and Bob, the rooms were just as lovely, spotlessly clean and very comfortable, the breakfasts are delicious plenty of everything and great service from the staff, all in all its a great guest house definately worth a visit, in a great location with lovely helpful hosts at an affordable price!.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    33
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
35
83
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancahsire
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Myself and my family stayed here on 2nd March, and i would like to say what a lovely guest house it is, very welcoming the rooms are spotless and the hosts are very very friendly.

We will defo being staying here again without a doubt : ) very happy we was.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

A classic B&B on the main road down to the lake. Great location, clean rooms and lovely food, FANTASTIC value for money, you will not find this quality any cheaper in the Windermere area. Off road parking is a bonus and attractions around the lake and local shops are only a short walk away.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

As always our latest trip to the Fir Trees was excellant. Bea and Bob are fantastic hosts and the accomodation is clean, comfortable and very welcoming!!! The Fir Trees is in the perfect location between Windermere and Bowness with car parking not a problem. Stayed 3 nights this time and looked forward to Bob's cooked breakfast which was fantastic as always. Nothing is ever any bother to Bea and Bob no matter what your requirements are. Been going to the Fir Trees for over 20yrs and this B&B is as good today as it was all those years ago.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Made a booking here last minute, having never stayed in the Lake District before I wasn't sure how it would be placed location wise but it was perfect. Near enough to the shops & restaurants & from Lake Windermere & Bowness. Would I stay here again?...Absolutely! The room was spotless & the staff were more than helpful & knowledgable about the area & the breakfast was superb-cooked to perfection. The owners have taken great care & pride in tastefully decorating this guest house staying true to its lovely period features whilst making it warm & welcoming for its guests.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My boyfriend & myself have just returned from a one night stay at Fir Trees and we loved it just as much as our first visit, almost a year ago. We were welcomed by Bob who was extremely friendly and welcoming, he showed us to our delightfully cosy bedroom and continued his cheery personality each time we saw him.
Breakfast was delicious, cooked freshly by Bob and he catered to our every need.
Upon leaving, we again had a nice and friendly chat and we left feeling like we had stayed with old friends.
We love staying at Fir Trees and we plan on visiting the B&B many more times in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We have been to the lakes three times now, the first time we stayed here and I loved it then in 2010. The 2 nd time we stayed elsewhere and we hated it. So third time round I had to book fir trees. The house is beautiful and clean. Could not fault anything. It was very quiet we never heard anybody coming or going. Bob and beau are amazing. Very pleasant and willing to go the extra mile. Our breakfast was delicious and all you can eat. 1st class bed and breakfast and don't think I will ever stay elsewhere. Wish I was back there now. The rooms were cleaned and made up everyday. We was provided with bath and shower and the water was very hot too.

Room Tip: Stayed in exec doubles and they are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fir Trees Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fir Trees Guest House

Address: Lake Road | Windermere, English Lake District, Cumbria, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fir Trees Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Fir Trees Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fir Trees Guest House Hotel Windermere
Fir Trees Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fir Trees Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.