We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wet weekend in January” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ellerthwaite Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ellerthwaite Lodge to your Saves list
Ellerthwaite Lodge
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   New Road, Windermere LA23 2LA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 112 Windermere B&B and Inns
Bolton, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wet weekend in January”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Regular visitors to the Windermere & Bowness areas of the Lake District. Exceptionally comfortable property, large car park, close to all amenities such as local restaurants, shops & pubs. First class breakfast. Staff really polite & friendly. If you want a bar, visit The Brookside pub a few minutes walk up Ellerthwaite Road.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillianB23, Guest Relations Manager at Ellerthwaite Lodge, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for your review and description of our facilities, we are well placed to get to local amenities, even the pub! Hope to see you again when you next visit the area. Remember to give us a call to book your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    59
    16
    5
    3
See reviews for
26
123
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Ellerthwaite Lodge for a couple of nights between Christmas and New Year 2013. We chose this B & B based upon their website and the general reviews seemed positive, for a room price of £88 per night our expectations were very high. I requested a high floor away from the traffic noise which was taken into consideration and we were allocated room 16.
When we arrived in the early evening we were shown our room. Upon entry it was immediately apparent that they hadn`t prepared for us because the heating had been turned off and the room was freezing cold. Upon first inspection were instantly disappointed, it was far from the luxury that we were expecting. Before unpacking we complained to reception but was informed that they could not re-locate us for the duration of our stay. It was too late in the day for us to try and find another B & B so we made do, but were very very disappointed.
In summary we were unhappy with the following:
Pubic hairs in the shower and on the toilet
Shower was very small, certainly not suitable for the larger build person
Bathroom décor/suite was tired, in need of replacement, if not maintenance
The bedroom, which had a huge window, was very cold, especially during the night when I suspected that the heating went off. The window itself was single glazed and not heat efficient thereby letting a great deal of cold air through it. It certainly disrupted our sleep.
The bedroom décor was tired although we were informed that it had been recently re-decorated. We did not see evidence of this.
The room facilities were basic certainly nothing extra than what you would get at any other 2/3 star B & B.
Breakfast was adequate, basic selection but nothing to write home about.
Overall we were very disappointed with our stay, we completed the room comments card and upon check out we re-emphasised our disappointment and requested a response from the owner. A couple of days later we got an email from the Manager who attempted to answer our concerns. Unfortunately instead of being understanding and empathetic to our concerns the Manager made it feel like it was our fault. Indeed in response to our comment regarding the room being over priced the Managers reply was to say “We charged £88 per night for a double room with breakfast but we get approximately £73.50 per night with Vat and other business charges taken out by the government and online booking agents”. In my reply I made it clear that I had no interest whatsoever as to what percentage of your room costs are taken by fees, agents and the government. I found it astonishing that they should use such information as a means of justifying their pricing.
After replying to the Manager and once again requesting a response from the owner we finally got a brief email from him simply saying he was sorry but nothing more could be done. Very short and not in any way understanding of the disappointments we experienced during our stay. Quite simply we felt he neither cared about our experience nor about addressing the issues for future guests.
My wife and I have stayed in many B & B`s, Hotels, Guest Houses over the years and surprisingly this is the very first review I have written. It is not written out of malice but is written out of complete disappointment, both with our stay and the attitude of the owner/manager who simply left us feeling that they don`t care. This establishment, in our opinion, is 3 star at best but an expensive one at that. We have stayed at other B & B`s in the Windermere / Bowness area which are far nicer and more reasonably priced. We wouldn’t return to Ellerthwaite Lodge if it were for free.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillianB23, Manager at Ellerthwaite Lodge, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Mr & Mrs F
We are sorry that you felt you did not have a good stay with us. We have expected this review as you did state several times in your correspondence to us that you would be doing this. We have apologised to you. We did offer you a heater immediately to boost the heat in your room and we also offered you another room as a free upgrade. However because we were unable to provide the room for the 2 nights as we were full you chose not to move. We have no intention of responding to your detailed feedback on this site as we have done this direct with yourselves.
We do take feedback very seriously and we have met with staff members who were on duty during your stay and discussed with them the points you have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

easy to find, looks good on arrival, parking was ok offroad
the room was more like a cell,pokey and cramped ,view of car park
.im 5.10,the bed was 5.6, when I asked to change rooms I was fobbed off
the restaurant was only for breakfast,there was no bar.
staff not very helpful,wouldnt stay again.
it is however close to windermere centre, where there are other facilities.
not value for money

Room Tip: not sure there is one available
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillianB23, General Manager at Ellerthwaite Lodge, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Vicky and Jeff, thank you for your review. We are fortunate to have a good sized car park for our guests. Being located on the main road close to the centre of Windermere and within walking distance for Bowness on Windermere does offer the opportunity of leaving your car and see the local area without the problems of finding somewhere to park. Having our own car park does mean, inevitably, that some rooms overlook it. As described on our website Ellerthwaite Lodge is a bed and breakfast; we do not have a restaurant. However we do serve freshly cooked breakfasts for our guests. There are several restaurants/cafes minutes away from us that offer a variety of evening food offerings. We do have a small bar where we sell wine, lager and soft drinks which is open during the day up until around 9pm, being a bed and breakfast we do not provide a 24 hour service. We do provide double beds in most of our rooms, which are 4’ 6” x 6’3, in others we have twin and king sized beds. We can also zip our twin beds together to make them into king sized beds. So we are able to offer different options to our guests and by ringing us direct we can discuss this with you. When asked we do try and facilitate requests from guests, obviously this is reliant upon us having the resources available to do this. We pride ourselves on our customer service and are obviously concerned that you feel that you did not experience this during your stay. May we wish you all the very best for 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Very friendly staff.
I stayed here for 3 nights.
Lovely breakfast, plenty of choice however would be nice to see Salmon on the menu.

The only reason I have gave 3 stars is because we wanted our room to be serviced however we were told the housekeeping team had gone home.

I have worked in the hotel industry for a number of years and I know it only takes 10 minutes to service a room. It was not busy at the time and I would certainly do that if asked by my guests.

Bathroom very small and freezing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillianB23, Guest Relations Manager at Ellerthwaite Lodge, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for the comments regarding our breakfasts we like to cater for most tastes and try to respond to guests who make special requests particularly if there are dietary needs.

Your comments regarding your room being serviced does concern us as we pride ourselves on providing great customer service and ensuring our rooms are cleaned and the hospitality trays are topped up. If we are unable to attend to the room due to guests staying in the room or do not wish to be disturbed we would normally service a room when requested. This obviously did not happen in your case and we can only apologise. We do hope that it did not stop you from enjoying your stay in the Lake District. Regards Gillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Deserved 5star review goes to this great little place i absolutely love. Me and my mum enjoyed our one night stay so much we are already planning out next trip to Lakes. Such a friendly staff, good location and delicious breakfast with comfy rooms where you can find everything one need after long day walking! Thank you sooo much for having us, will recommend to everyone!

Room Tip: room 2 was noisy as it is facing main road, ask for room at back if you are light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillianB23, Guest Relations Manager at Ellerthwaite Lodge, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
WOW, thank you for your review, it is good to know that we were able to provide you with a great venue for you to enjoy your trip to the Lakes. Thanks too for your recommendation we look forward to welcoming you back to Ellerthwaite Lodge soon. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed here again for a birthday weekend. On arrival discovered we had been upgraded to the 4 poster room. Great start and much appreciated.

The hotel has it's own large off road parking and is easy to find in the main road, just a few minutes walk from the centre. The building has history with wood panelling etc., different to many of the bland modern buildings. The staff are friendly, the rooms are nice, quiet and well presented and the breakfasts are great. Freshly cooked with plenty of choice.

We will definitely stay here again and why not. You get hotel efficiency with B&B friendliness. Recommended.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillianB23, Guest Relations Manager at Ellerthwaite Lodge, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for coming to stay with us again, we are so pleased that you had a great birthday weekend with us. Your review is superb and reflects what we offer our guests.
Looking forward to seeing you again soon. All the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here while away with work, lovely hotel very friendly staff and a great location, nice clean rooms and great location for getting around Windermere. Lovely home cooked breakfasts to start you off as well

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillianB23, Guest Relations Manager at Ellerthwaite Lodge, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review Ellerthwaite Lodge. Whether staying for a holiday or working away from home we aim to provide a homely feel to make sure you have a memorable stay with us. They do say a good breakfast gets you off to a great start and it sounds like this happened for you too. Remember to contact us direct next time you are in the area needing accommodation. Regards Gillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ellerthwaite Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellerthwaite Lodge

Address: New Road, Windermere LA23 2LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ellerthwaite Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short walk from Lake Windermere, this charming 19th-century Lake District town house provides 15 relaxing, comfortably furnished en-suite rooms for you to enjoy bed and breakfast accommodation in Windermere. Our rooms have been dressed with bespoke soft furnishings, excelsior deluxe mattresses, 20” flat screen Samsung TVs with 10 channels and in the lounge area you can relax on leather chesterfields and take in the far reaching views. Parking is also not a problem as we have private car park with ample space for all. You are only 2 minutes walk from Windermere town centre with its variety of shops and selection of good quality restaurants which is why we have chosen to only cater for bed and breakfast. Ellerthwaite Lodge is ideally situated and provides a great place to stay to enjoy the Lake District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ellerthwaite Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellerthwaite Hotel Windermere
Ellerthwaite Lodge Windermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ellerthwaite Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.