We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cragwood Country House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cragwood Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Cragwood Country House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eccelrigg, Windermere LA23 1LQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 for 2 on midweek stays
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Windermere
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Amazing Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We recently stayed at Cragwood, from the minute we arrived we were welcomed like old friends, even thiough it was our first visit. Staff throughout heplful and friendly.Beautiful grounds, comfortable room with all you would expect, very good breakfast, all round a very good stay, and good value for money

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    55
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
113
236
9
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed at the Cragwood in early Sept, for 4 days 3 nights and had a wonderful time. The location was perfect for us to do a bit of walking, the hotel was picturesque and quite quiet although it was nearly full. The staff were attentive, polite, friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The food was exreemly good, 4 courses plus lovely hand made chocs with our coffee. Our room was quiet, which we liked, the bed was biig and very comfortable.We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is not the most modern hotel BUT IT IS one of the best for value, friendliness, quality of food and all round care!

We took our 85 year old mother - nothing was too much trouble including lending a nightie which she had forgotten, offering use of wheelchair, great advice for where to take her re access, fabulous generous brekfasts (you could cut back on amount of toast you leave out - there seemed to be loads going back!) and the beds were very comfortable and rooms were quiet.

We would certainly go back again with her!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

If you like the Derbyshire or Yorkshire Dales as we do, you'll love the scenery here - rolling hills, stunning Lake Windermere and stone-laden houses that all contribute somehow to the slowing down of the pace from city life. The Hotel is a converted stately home, still with its creaks, but just about brought into modernity. If you like spacious rooms, lounges and bars, good English food and a bit of 'northern' you'll love it! Make sure you're not after good weather as this is not guaranteed or a cut-price deal as the cost leans towards high, otherwise indulge and enjoy.

Room Tip: Take a lake trip
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llangollen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We booked a one night stay at Cragwood, there were only a few rooms left, so we booked a double room with a courtyard view. On checking in, we were shown to a small but beautifully furnished room, with fantastic views over the garden and lake! We took our dog with us and the hotel staff welcomed him as warmly as they greeted us. The grounds were great for walking (with or without a dog), with a path leading down to the lake. The hotel was busy, but the atmosphere was very relaxed, thanks to the roaring log fires, comfy lounge sofas and friendly helpful staff. We didn't use the dining room but had our tea in the bar so that the dog could be with us (the dining room is the only place in the hotel that dogs aren't allowed), and the bar food was of a really high standard and plentiful. I really recommend this hotel - it's halfway between Windermere and Ambleside too, so great for exploring. Gorgeous hotel in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

You won't be at all disappointed with Cragwood. Perfect setting, right on the lake. Gorgeous, well kept grounds To stroll around and with fabulous views. I booked for 3 nights but stayed for 6 and will probably return before the holiday is over. Handy location. Next to Brockhole for the ferry into Ambleside and Bowness. Food is great for breakfast and dinner. Staff are friendly and helpful. Top value.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We have just returned from a three night break at this hotel after reading the reviews on here. It lived up to all expectations and more! When we arrived at the hotel we were immediately greeted by the warm and genuinely friendly staff that cannot do enough for you. When we saw the view of the lake and the beautiful grounds my mother was moved to tears! The rooms are exceptional-huge, comfortable beds, fluffy towels, tea and coffee. Then there's the food- delicious! Be prepared to put on a few pounds.
We loved it so much we have already booked in again-can't wait.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cragwood Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cragwood Country House Hotel

Address: Eccelrigg, Windermere LA23 1LQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Windermere
#2 Family Hotel in Windermere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cragwood Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of England’s longest and most beautiful lake you will find Cragwood Country House Hotel.Set in its own secluded, twenty-acre estate of beautiful landscaped gardens and woodland and with stunning views overlooking Lake Windermere, it’s hard to resist a relaxing Lake District break at Cragwood. As soon as you step through the front door of this beautiful country house, you’ll discover an oasis of comfort, warmth and relaxation.The informal and friendly service is so good you’ll hardly notice it. It’s our job to make you feel at home…which isn’t hard once you sit back and unwind in one of our cosy lounges or drawing rooms and take in the spectacular lake views over a freshly brewed coffee or maybe a glass of chilled wine.From the mouth-watering food and drink to the stylish and comfy bedrooms, a short break at Cragwood will leave you feeling pampered, stress-free….and wanting more.If you are looking for the perfect Lake District hotel then look no further...you have just found us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cragwood Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cragwood Country Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cragwood Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.