We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Briery Wood Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Briery Wood Hotel to your Saves list
Briery Wood Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ambleside Rd, Windermere LA23 1ES, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Windermere
173900
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“First class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife booked a two night stay through travel zoo. The deal included a three course meal on the first night. The food was excellent and the service was first class.
Upon arrival at the hotel we were made to feel very welcome and received all the information we required for our stay. The hotel is spotlessly clean as was our room and bathroom. We had no complaints. The hotel is a 25 minute walk to Ambleside, which is just enough to work up an appetite before eating in one of the pubs or restaurants there, it is also a nice walk back following a filling meal!
The breakfast in the hotel is excellent I can personally recommend the porridge which comes with cream and brown sugar.....
A great base for walking in the south lakes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    99
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
44
125
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We booked our stay at Briery Wood country House Hotel through Travelzoo. We were admittedly sceptical about why this was on offer at such a busy time in the Lake District. But we have a dog who was also keen to have a break away from home and they are dog friendly, so we booked. Our room, (11) was extremely comfortable, large and included a settee (Bed settee) and a spa bath and shower in a lovely well equipped bathroom. Dinner... Wow, the cuisine is worthy of a starred restaurant, excellent good sized portions, served quickly and hot. My starter was a goats cheese mousse which on its own was delicious but was served with four differerent coloured tomatoes, caramalised pecans and a delicious chilli coulis. Throughout our meal every dish had an extra something, all homemade even the bread. The staff are friendly and informative, especially Louise. We found out that Briery Wood is one of three hotels and the other two have better views, so what I say, the grounds are gorgeous. Our dog was more than welcome everywhere apart from the dining room, the lounges and bar are comfortable, clean and well equipped. The breakfast was everything it should be, hot and plenty of everything. If you B and B here do not go anywhere else to eat, stay in you will not be disappointed. We will definately stay again.

Room Tip: If you have a dog, ask for a garden room, it makes letting them out to toilet easier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night first visit to the Lakes, booked hotel through travel zoo offer adding extra night. Room 12 was beautiful and immaculate overlooking the lovely peaceful gardens very comfortable and lovely bathroom with jacuzzi bath and good powerful shower.
DBB the first evening although it was very quiet in dining room as a thursday eve, we found the standard of the food to be very high end and the service was excellent.
Breakfast both mornings was very good with a lovely selection from the buffet and the cooked platter was to a good standard.
The only slight negative is noisy water system coming from the adjacent bathroom other than that I really can't fault it. We found it ideally located being close to both Windermere & Ambleside and an excellent base to visit the Lakes

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Very much enjoyed our two night break here, booked our stay via Travelzoo, which made it excellent value for money. Staff very attentive and friendly. We had a beautiful room,very clean and roomy, with lovely view over gardens and lake beyond.
Bathroom was spotless and shower hot and powerful. Food extremely nice, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

14 of us took advantage of the travelzoo offer 27/28th of July for a birthday celebration. Hotel easy to find. Friendly welcome on our arrival..some of the party had arrived early and had already had their scones and cream with tea/coffee the gardens were well kept and to sit out and enjoy the sunny weather. The hotel rooms were large, well decorated tea and coffee facilities with plenty of milk and biscuits, bathrooms clean and with lovely large white bath sheets..We had a family room and the shower was hot and powerful..lovely after a day of rambling around the lovely countryside. Food was very good and the staff very accommodating to some members of our party who like plain food..the evening meal was enjoyed by all...breakfast was very good as well. Dogs are welcome at this hotel too. We all had a good stay at this hotel and will certainly will return again..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

8 of us stayed here(26/07/2013) on a Travelzoo deal and all agreed this was a good quality hotel.
The location is fine for touring the lakes, with Ambleside town just a 2 minute drive away. The hotel has an elevated, off the road position and is surrounded by beatiful gardens / grounds.

The rooms are of a good size and pleasantly furnished. The bathroom had the most luxurious towels ever....
The meals were beautifully presented and of excellent guality; this includes the breakfast, which again was fabulous.
The staff were great and nothing was too much trouble.
All things considered this was a great overnight stay and we all agreed to stay here again when we next visit the lakes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on a Travelzoo deal with my husband and six other friends. Lovely friendly welcome on arrival and excellent value for money. Our rooms were well furnished and spotlessly clean and the towels in the bathroom were extra large instead of some hotel bath towels you can get which are only as big as a hand towel. The staff were really friendly and very efficient, food was excellent and there was a good choice on the menu. We would recommend this hotel to others and would definitely return again ourselves.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Briery Wood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briery Wood Hotel

Address: Ambleside Rd, Windermere LA23 1ES, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Windermere
#12 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Briery Wood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moments from the eastern shores of Lake Windermere and set in seven acres of beautiful secluded gardens and woodland lies Briery Wood Country House Hotel. This beautiful Lake District hotel is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a country house atmosphere with all the comforts of home, while surrounded by spectacular landscapes, lakes and fells. Briery Wood is within easy reach of the popular villages of Ambleside, Bowness and Windermere, so it's a great base for exploring the Lake District, whether you are looking for a spot of retail therapy or outdoor adventure. The informal and friendly service is so good you'll hardly notice it. It's our job to make you feel at home...Which isn't hard once you sit back and unwind in one of our cosy lounges whilst enjoying a freshly brewed coffee or maybe a glass of chilled wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Briery Wood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briery Wood Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Briery Wood Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.