We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food and service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Briery Wood Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Briery Wood Hotel to your Saves list
Briery Wood Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1ES, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% OFF Xmas & New Year
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Windermere
Cumbria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Spent Saturday night here. Having spent the previous night in a far more expensive establishment! The food and the service were excellent and they couldn't have been more helpful and courteous.
We decided to stay in the hotel for dinner, we had 2 courses and coffee for £30. The standard was amazing. The field mushroom soup had a depth of taste that was incomparable. I then had Pan fried salmon fillet in a chowder with saffron and Morecambe Bay shrimps which again was world class!.
Breakfast was lovely too, everything you would expect in a world class establishment with many more stars!
Well done!

Room Tip: If you're on the first floor, try and avoid a room near the rather noisy air conditioning system...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briery, Manager at Briery Wood Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hello TFStBees
Thank you for your review & your lovely comments about the food.
We try & source food locally, a lot of thought goes into the menu and the chefs take pride in the food they serve.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Thank you
Roger Benson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    90
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
39
113
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

tranquil grounds, beautifully maintained buidling, friendly efficient staff. I had a single room...which had a double bed and certainly enough room for two. the shower was powerful with hot water at all times, the bath was only half size so not for a soak. beautifully decorated room with all the facilities: hairdryer, tv, hot chocolate which is a bonus for a non tea/coffee drinker. the breakfasts were excellent and the cooked food served on a red hot plate...perfect. plenty of parking available.
the bar was expensive but handy as a meeting place as we were a very large group. minibus for 8 into Bowness just £2 each including tip. solo taxi back £10. we didnt have any evening meals whilst staying so cant comment. the only downside for me was the firmness of the bed and pillows which a few of our group commented on, but thats personal choice and others may love the beds. thats the only reason I've not given the overall an excellent as I didnt sleep too well even after lots of fresh air and alcohol. when using the sat nav code suggested the hotel is actually on the oposite side of the road, confusing in the dark so watch for the sign.

Room Tip: I suspect they are all as good as each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briery, Manager at Briery Wood Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hello AnnieK106,
Thank you for your review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Sorry about the bed but they are a standard Hotel mattress and yours was a new one, see review below.
The bar is more expensive to what you may be used to but we like to think we are competitive with other local hotels.
We look forward to seeing you & your group again.
Thank You.
Roger Benson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Comfortable, clean and warm. We sat in the lounge while writing a boring report that needed to be done, for Australians who had just left a hot summer, it was warm, friendly and delightfully furnished. Really good carparking (important for our profession - guess what this is!!!!), and the walk to Ambleside was a pleasure alongside the lake. The biccies were great and the bedrooms were comfortable and roomy, with spacious ensuite, fluffy towels. A perfect British experience.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briery, Manager at Briery Wood Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
hello Bear93,
Thank you for your review of the hotel.
We are glad you enjoyed it & found it relaxing.
Glad the car parking was a help, we love riddles, No what is it you do?
Thank you again & hope to see you next time your passing.
Roger Benson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnside, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We ended up staying here at late notice on a snow bound night and the staff were very helpful when we arrived. The room and ensuite were immaculate and had everything we needed. We had a really tasty and well presented dinner where the kitchen catered well for my coeliac needs without the usual warning and breakfast was the best we've had anywhere. Really tasty, good quality produce, freshly cooked and prepared and good and hot. Our only let down I'm sad to report was that the bed in our lovely room was broken! There was a severe gap/lump/broken springs across the width of the bed so bad nights sleep - definite new mattress needed I'm afraid - room 9! Overall though we would definitely stay again, although look for offers as a little pricey at std rates.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briery, Manager at Briery Wood Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Hello Jane G.
Thank you for taking time to write a review on the hotel.
Thank you for your kind comments on the food & service.
Yes you were right the mattress was certainly broken.
We have replaced it straight away as soon as we read this review.
Not sure what the last guests who used the room were doing.
We would have given you another room had you asked & would have certainly apologised had you told us at checkout.

Thank you
Roger Benson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

My sister and l stayed here for D,B and B, the food was lovely and l was served a very nice vegetarian souffle as l requested no goats cheese, pasta or rice. The garden rooms were lovely as were the staff. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briery, Manager at Briery Wood Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Hello carole3go,
Thank you for your review on the hotel.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
Thank You
Roger Benson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESHIRE
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night break at Briery Wood and have to say that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is in a great location and although not far above the main Windermere to Ambleside road it did not suffer from traffic noise even though we had rooms at the front of the building.
We were allocated rooms 12 and 14 on the frist floor, which were extremely spacious, nicely decorated and very comfortable. Good size bathrooms, particularly in No 12, with lovely fluffy white towels and complimentary toiletries. They had king size beds, ample wardrobe and draw space, TVs and comfy armchairs to relax in, tea and coffee making facilites (including biscuits) and a hairdryer.
We were staying on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis and I have to say that the food is outstanding. 10/10 for the chef !!! There was the usual breakfast choices of fruit jucies, fresh fruit, cereals and cold ham and cheese but the cooked breakfast was excellant. The evening meal had four choices for each course including a vegetarian dish. There were 3 courses with the addition of coffee and the chefs chocolates at the end. No matter what our choices all the food was excellant !!! Our compliments to the Chef !!
All the staff were exceptional and couldnt do enough to help you. They were all very polite, friendly and attentive.
My only disappointment, and the reason I havent given this hotel a 5* rating was because of the lounge, bar and dining room areas. They are sadly lacking any ambience or cozy comfort. The chairs, although plentiful, were quite grubby and needed recovering. There were hardly any pictures on the walls, The fireplaces were bear and there were no lamps giving a relaxed and subdued atmosphere which would have made a huge difference. We did appreciate that the Christmas decorations had only just been taken down and perhaps they were in the process of restoring the rooms to a more comfortable appearance but the furniture was poor and the rooms were stark. (A bit like an old waiting room at the doctors) Oops sorry Briery Wood....
If they invested some really comfy chairs and settees, big table lamps, rugs in front of the fireplaces and a few ornaments, it could be lovely. You should have gone to the January sales and picked up some bargins !!
Other than our one "observation" about the public rooms, as I would not call it a complaint, I would like to thank the manager and all his staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Rooms 12 and 14 are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briery, Manager at Briery Wood Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Hello Allnat,
Thank you for your comments on the hotel.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hopefully you will return.
We have just bought some new furniture and we do have a long term refurbishment plan.
Thank you
Roger Benson.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My wife and I have visited this hotel many times and we are always amazed at how standards are not just maintained but improved. The Hotel Manager and his amazing team continue to ensure that the hotel runs smoothly yet maintains the relaxed atmosphere with amazing food and service.
If anyone is looking for a good clean comfortable hotel with good bedrooms, comfortable beds and clean well maintained bathrooms with high class toileteries then go no further than Briery Wood. After staying for years at a number of so called 'Class Hotels' in Bowness who do not maintain standards and then overcharge for inferior rooms, service and food it is a pleasure to know a visit to Briery Wood will be as good or even better than your last and there will be no hassle and your expectations will be met.
Forget about Bowness Hotels and have a relaxing and pleasant stay in a hotel which cares.

Room Tip: Try one of the garden rooms with a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briery, Front Office Manager at Briery Wood Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Hello Magpie21,

Thank you for your kind comments.
It is always a pleasure to welcome back previous guests to the hotel and we hope you continue to come to Briery wood hotel in the future.
Every member of staff from housekeeping, kitchen and front of house work hard to make sure the guests enjoy the most out of their stay, so it is always so nice to read such lovely reviews.
We hope to welcome you back very soon.
Kind Regards,

Tessa Mitchell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Briery Wood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briery Wood Hotel

Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1ES, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Windermere
#12 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Briery Wood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moments from the eastern shores of Lake Windermere and set in seven acres of beautiful secluded gardens and woodland lies Briery Wood Country House Hotel. This beautiful Lake District hotel is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a country house atmosphere with all the comforts of home, while surrounded by spectacular landscapes, lakes and fells. Briery Wood is within easy reach of the popular villages of Ambleside, Bowness and Windermere, so it's a great base for exploring the Lake District, whether you are looking for a spot of retail therapy or outdoor adventure. The informal and friendly service is so good you'll hardly notice it. It's our job to make you feel at home...Which isn't hard once you sit back and unwind in one of our cosy lounges whilst enjoying a freshly brewed coffee or maybe a glass of chilled wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Briery Wood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briery Wood Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Briery Wood Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.