We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smashing break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ravensworth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Ravensworth to your Saves list
The Ravensworth
Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1BA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 112 Windermere B&B and Inns
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Smashing break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Spent two days at The Ravensworth last week with my wife and it was for us a great return to the Lakes.The standard of the room,cleanliness of the room and bathroom,in fact the place was spotless,few of the bigger hotels we have stayed in throughout England have even come close in this respect.In our upstairs room we had a safe,a plentiful supply of top branded tea and coffee,all the bathroom bits and bobs,shower gels etc were supplied - fantastic.Good quality TV and also free WI-Fi even in our top room.Breakfast was a first class selection of quality cooked food,my wife took the vegetarian option and was well impressed.Nick and Cheryl have got this place really spot-on,we would come back anytime for this standard of service and of course the lemon cake!

Room Tip: Would stay in any room in this B&B as the building is just off from the roadside enough to give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you for your review and comments, we really do appreciate you taking the time to do this, thank you. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay here and took the chance to see so much of our fantastic countryside. We look forward to seeing you again soon in the near future. Best Regards, Nick & Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    25
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
129
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. Nick and Cheryl greeted us with a very warm welcome. Rooms are modern with good powerful shower. Access to a computer and also free WiFi, DVD library excellent idea which we took advantage of! Plenty of choice for breakfast from cereal to fresh fruit to full breakfast. About mile and a half from the lake which is a nice walk down through Windermere and Bowness spoilt for choice with places to eat on an evening. Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for your comments, we appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted you had such an enjoyable visit and had the chance to see our fantastic countryside and attractions. Hopefully we'll see you again soon, Best Regards, Nick & Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in the single room at the top of the house. It is on the third floor which for me was no problem and gave me some much needed exercise! The check-in process was very simple and Cheryl was really enthusiastic showing me around the guest areas. The room was compact but had everything you would need. Small TV, dressing table, mirror, modern and clean shower room en-suite. There was even a safe in the wardrobe free for guests use.for me. The bed was very comfy and it was lovely being able to stand up and open the velux window and sgaze at the view. I had pre-advised that I have a dairy free and wheat free diet and Nick and Cheryl were fabulous and provided different milk alternatives and bread too. The breakfast choices were plentiful and varied and definitely fill you up for the day ahead. They are taken in the large conservatory which is lovely. I was thoroughly pleased with my stay at The Ravensworth and the added bonus of a pass for the Olde England Spa in Bowness was the piece de resistance. I will most definitely be back. Thank you x

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon. We always do our best to accommodate all dietary requirements and it was really helpful to us you sending this information in advance. Glad we could assist. Best Regards, Nick & Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanerchymedd, , United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

warm and welcoming hosts, the room was spotless and well equipped with tea, coffee, biscuits etc....fantastic breakfast to set you up for the day(the Cumbria grill) highly recommended,,,will be returning in the near future hopefully

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and we are delighted that you had such a pleasant weekend. It is always great to hear that our guests appreciate all the touches that we have added to our guesthouse, it makes it all worth while. Best Regards and we hope to see you both again soon, Nick & Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Very nicely presented guest house with comfortable guest lounge and pleasant commendatory for breakfast. Room was spotless, bed was so conformable and breakfast was good.would recommend it as a perfect stay.there was also ample parking which is a bonus

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is always a delight to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay so much and that they appreciate the work that we have put in here. Hopefully we will see you again soon. Best Regards, Nick & Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Had a really enjoyable weekend at the Ravensworth which succeeds in so many ways - but is not quite as good as it could be.
Much was excellent - a really friendly and helpful welcome from the proprietor, an excellent deal, generally comfortable room with high quality and ample drinks and biscuits. The Ravensworth is well appointed with a pleasant lounge and very positive touches, such as free wi fi, a large collection of DVDs freely available. The breakfast was mainly delicious - an excellent "Cumbria Grill" and options such as Eggs Benedict and Scrambled eggs with Smoked Salmon.
However, in our eyes, it fell short of the top mark ... no fruit available for breakfast (although advertised), no croissants (ditto), bed sagging and rather uncomfortable, beam in the breakfast room heavily warped by the weather.
On the whole though, great value - extremely pleasant weekend.

Room Tip: We paid extra for a King-sized bed, which had a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us but it is a shame that there were a couple of points that have detracted from your time here. Apologies for there not being any fruit on the buffet on Sunday morning but the delivery didn't come, something that was out of our hands unfortunately. As for the croissants, they were available and, as per the menu, they are by request as we bake them fresh for you. Sorry if you misunderstood this. We are also sorry that your mattress wasn't to your liking, but this mattress was new last year and we have had a lot of positive comments about how comfortable it is. I guess this is just personal preference. The final, point, the beam in the conservatory, yes we are aware of this, we have had, as have many areas throughout the winter, a lot of rain and we have had a small leak in the conservatory but we are getting this fixed next week. As I'm sure you are aware, fixing a conservatory roof is not possible in the rain so we have had to wait until the sun has arrived before we can arrange it. We have been assured that there has been no structural damage but the beam does have a few marks and warps on it. Thank you for your concern and we hope to see you here again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We got to The Ravensworth to be greeted by Nick who was very welcoming. He showed us around the house so that we knew where the lounge and breakfast area were which was helpful. He then showed us to our room which I loved on sight. It was nicely decorated and spotless. It had a larger than average king size bed, massive patio windows and a lovely little patio outside, which unfortunately we did not use because of the weather, however my husband and I did say that when the weather picks up or in summer it would be beautiful out there. I can already see myself enjoying a glass of wine on that patio. The bathroom was fab, really modern and immaculate and the shower was amazing. We went to a local pub and had a really good night with all the locals and then returned to The Ravensworth where we slept very comfortably. I didn't go for breakfast as I don't really do mornings!!!! but my husband assured me it was lovely and he was sorry he didn't say I was coming down to eat so he could have mine. Overall a lovely Saturday night break. Thanks Nick and Cheryl. Nikki and Dave Phillips x

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, even though it was a short one. Many guests enjoy our patio rooms, especially in the summer and hopefully we will have some sunshine for you next time you are here. Best regards, Nick & Cheryl.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ravensworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ravensworth

Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ravensworth is a traditional Lakeland guest house with plenty of character offering a warm welcome and relaxed atmosphere. Only a few minutes walk from the centre of Windermere village and railway station, very close to shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Ravensworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ravensworth Hotel Windermere
The Ravensworth Windermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ravensworth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.