We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolutely fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ravensworth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Ravensworth to your Saves list
The Ravensworth
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1BA, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% discount
Ranked #23 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An absolutely fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were very welcomed from Nick and Cheryl from the first minute of our arrival ! They made us feel like being invited in their own home!! such a Warm atmosphere and a perfect room. We were treated so politely and the owners made and served the breakfast by themselves to all the guests providing top quality services every minute. The hotel is in an excellent position very close to the town centre and with very easy access to the lake. Parking available , really free wifi and a spacious lounge plenty of books, dvd and games.

Dear Nick and Cheryl, we thank you so much for your hospitality,

Eirini and Ioannis

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our hospitality. We have put a lot of work and time into our guesthouse and we appreciate you taking the time to put yours views forward. We look forward to seeing you both again soon. Best regards, Nick & Cheryl.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    29
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
147
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Service from Nick and Cheryl was excellent, location perfect but the room we had (which was meant to be an upgraded room) was a little tired and the bathroom was small, maybe some of the other rooms would be more to our taste. Breakfast was excellent, especially the sausages. Recommended,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
JB, Thank you for your review and comments. All of our rooms were individually decorated in February 2012 and we have placed brand new oak furniture in your specific so we are sorry if your room wasn't quite to your taste. We are delighted that you enjoyed the breakfasts,and as many of our guests agree, the Cumberland sausages that we use are very special indeed. We source all of our breakfast products locally from small independant businesses and are pleased that you appreciated the quality. We look forward to seeing you both again soon. Nick & Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Having researched all the local establishments I select the Ravensworth for our first break for years. On arrival we were warmly greeted and within minutes had the opportunity to talk about the local area and best places to go whilst enjoying an excellent cream tea. Our rooms were perfect and breakfast the next morning was served by a young lady with a smile that made our day. Overall a perfect location, hosts and staff who we would recommend to anyone who wants to have a relaxing break in an idyllic location.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you so much for your review and kind comments. We take a lot of pride in our guesthouse and we are delighted that you appreciate the efforts that we have been making. We will make sure that we pass on your comments to Becca, our girl with the smile. Best regards, Nick and Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Just stayed for five nights in one of the four poster rooms. Everything about the place is first class. The hosts are very friendly, offering to carry our bags for us. They were very helpful without being at all pushy. Food was of a very good standard with plenty to choose from, albeit severed a little early but we are just lazy! Will certainly be returning. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you so much for your review and comments about your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you were pleased with our guesthouse, even to the point of extending your stay with us. We like to make the impression that we are available for any assistance during a guest's visit but we don't like to encroach too much. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Best Regards, Nick & Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I booked this hotel as a surprise for my husband and I to spend his 50th Birthday. We spent 2 nights there and it wasnt long enough. We were met by Nick who was very friendly. Cheryl provided the spa passes and was also very friendly. The hotel was very well positioned for our needs, it was clean and extremely comfortable. Breakfast was amazing. For a fussy person, I couldnt fault it. We would certainly return again. Thank you so much x

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed not only your stay with us, but also the fantastic area that is The Lake District. It was a pleasure having you here and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit. Best Regards, Nick & Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is a lovely family run hotel, the owners and staff were very friendly, accommodating and helpful, we would definitely return. A lot of thought has gone into the running of this hotel and there were lots of little extra touches which made our stay very comfortable and enjoyable. Recently refurbished to a very high standard. Breakfast was excellent with a large variety to choose from.

Good location for breath taking mountain walks or strolls around quaint towns, we even managed to find some nightlife in this idyllic part of the country.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Naomi, Thank you so much for your comments, I hope the heads have cleared a bit after your night out on the Bowness tiles. We really appreciate you taking the time to make your review, future guests will hopefully have as enjoyable stay with us as you did. We look forward to seeing you both again soon. Many Thanks, Nick & Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hosts were fabulous, couldn't do enough. We had room number 1 and found the bed to be super comfy. The view from the room was lovely. Breakfast was much more than expected. Thanks to Nick and Cheryl.

More info about the area, cruise on the lake well recommended, Grasmere short drive away is well worth a visit for afternoon tea - the little cafe near the church was perfect.

Dinner was had at Lazy Daisies - absolutely spot on - large choice, wholesome food and not expensive. Stop for a drink on the way back at the Grey Walls pub. Both within 5 minute walk from Ravensworth. Lovely stop for a night or two or more if you have the time. One of the best stops we have had - highlight of our trip. Cheers

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Kiwioz, Thank you so much for your comments and it was a pleasure having you here for your stay (but next time please don't mention the rugby as much, we know we were poor in the World Cup and you guys won it). We also appreciate your comments about your restaurant choice for dinner, our guide in the bedrooms is very well appreciated by guests and we are constantly keeping it updated. We hope you have a good journey home and hope to see you next time you are over here. Best Regards, Nick & Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ravensworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ravensworth

Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1BA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ravensworth 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ravensworth is a traditional Lakeland guest house with plenty of character offering a warm welcome and relaxed atmosphere. Only a few minutes walk from the centre of Windermere village and railway station, very close to shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Ravensworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ravensworth Hotel Windermere
The Ravensworth Windermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ravensworth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.