We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly and delightful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ivy Bank

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ivy Bank to your Saves list
Ivy Bank
Holly Road, Windermere LA23 2AF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 112 Windermere B&B and Inns
dizzie1981
1 review
“A friendly and delightful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2009

My partner and I wanted a 2 night affordable break in the lakes to relax and do a bit of mountain biking. Having never visited the Southern Lakes before, we really couldn't have picked a better spot. Ivy Bank is ideally located off the main road, just a couple of minutes walk from windermere centre and a short stroll away from Bowness.
We had a standard double room at the rear of the property on the first floor which was fairly small but very clean with the most comfy of beds!
Ivy bank has a good sized car park at the rear of the property and we also had use of the Garage to store our Mountain Bikes overnight.
The breakfast was delicious - we tried the full english and the kippers and were very happy with both!
Dick and Sue were very friendly & helpful and we would definately recommend a stay at the Ivy Bank

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
29
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

We stayed here for one night and were made to feel very much at home. Room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely with a full English plus toast, cereal, fruit etc. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2007

We had a wonderful time during our stay. Our hosts were very kind and made us feel like we were visiting family rather than just staying in an accomodation. There were several nice hiking paths as well as the town and lake all within walking distance. Our rooms were very well appointed with comfortable beds, nice shower facilities. The full English breakfast was delicious! Finally, we are a bit of a neat-freak family and found everything to be very clean and neat throughout.
Loved it!

  • Liked — Clean comfortable rooms with wireless internet
  • Disliked — No views
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cramlington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2007

Me and my partner had a lovely two night stay in a snowy Windermere in March. The room was beautifully furnished and extremely cosy. It was immaculately cleaned, with a handy folder of information contained in the room. The owners were both extremely friendly and helpful. In fact, they changed our room as it became obvious that my 6'6" weren't going to squeeze into the bed we were initially given. Breakfast was lovely and obviously freshly cooked. The location is great:-easy to find by car, and great for walking into Windermere or Bowness. Overall, nothing but positives.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2006

The Ivy Bank is a great find. We stayed here with our three year old daughter. The hosts are vey welcoming. The rooms are tastefully decorated. The place is spotless.

The location is walking distance from Windermere. One great thing about the Ivy Bank is the parking which is not on the street like a lot of B&Bs in Winderemere. Another special feature is a cosy reading room.

The breakfast was great and the dining room had a great feel to it. We really liked this place. Friends of ours had told us about it and we would highly recommend it to anyone!

Overall a delightful experience!

  • Liked — Hosts and location.
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Tips/Secrets — Good parking- off street.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2006

We always stay at Ivy Bank B & B when visiting the Lakes. In our opinion, it is quite simply, and without exaggeration, one of the best B & B's in Windermere and probably in the whole of the lake District. What you get is value for money, clean, tidy, cosy and very comfortable rooms and the owners are extremely helpful and lovely people. It is always a pleasure to stay there.

The breakfasts are also among the best we have had.

I cannot recommend this lovely B & B any higher.

Make this B & B your first choice-In our opinion: You won't be sorry that you did.

  • Stayed August 2001
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ivy Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Bank

Address: Holly Road, Windermere LA23 2AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within 30 minutes walking distance of viewpoints, tumbling waterfalls and the Lake shore, Ivy Bank is situated in a quiet position close to the village centre, shops, restaurants and station. There are comfortable beds, spotless en-suites, attractive decor, a superb choice for breakfast and a relaxed atmosphere. Aromatherapy massage available on site. Discounted use of local leisure club. Private parking, storage for bikes. Free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Ivy Bank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Bank Windermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ivy Bank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.