We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, good location but dated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oakdene Apartment Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Oakdene Apartment Suites to your Saves list
Oakdene Apartment Suites
98 Oak Street,Windermere | Cumbria.The Lake District., Windermere LA23 1EN, England (Formerly Oakdene Apart-Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clean, good location but dated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We chose this apartment as it is one of the few being offered in the lakes districts. The apartments themselves are somewhat dated but are clean and comfortable. Parking on site was a bonus however we had endless trouble with the Wifi so if you are technologically dependant this could pose a problem. The landlady was welcoming and approachable and their cat, Poppy delighted our daughter with her friendliness. There are two supermarkets close by and a good number of cafes to choose from a few minutes walk away. Bowness was also a short car trip or slightly longer walk away too. Overall a decent place to stay if you need an apartment in the lakes district but for those looking for something more modern and swish, then this may not be the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topdropper, Owner at Oakdene Apartment Suites, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thank you for your review, I'm sorry you felt it was dated,we do redecorate and make replacements, every year.We use only quality furnishings, no flat packs.We are a 3 star grading and our price reflects this, however, considering the facilities we offer in a very expensive area,where property prices are not far behind London's, I feel we offer excellent value for money, probably one of the best in Windermere, yes you can get swisher places but none that offer the facilities we do where you can book a one night stay, and it depends on whether you want quality or bling, I am afraid I prefer quality and cannot bring myself to furnish with bling. I do hope regardless of our shortcoming's, you enjoyed your stay here.
Irene,
Owner,Oakdene Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    12
    2
    2
    9
See reviews for
19
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We visited the Lake District on a Bank Holiday weekend. Because of this we were badly delayed on our trip there. We kept good communication going with the proprietor throughout and everything went very smoothly. We were greeted and shown around and the lovely landlady, who was very warm and welcoming, did the quick tour so that we could go and get ourselves a much-overdue dinner.

We stayed in Apartment 3. We were lovely and cosy all weekend with the heating on. The apartment itself was perfect for our needs, hot water whenever we needed it, a nicely sized kitchen and very comfortable living/dining room. I would highly recommend staying here.

There are many nearby amenities. Just at the end of the street there is a Co-op open from 7am-11pm 7 days a week, a wonderful bakery with heavenly bread and a butchers with award winning bacon. Walking down into Bowness-upon-WIndermere took 20 minutes and we were very close to the Railway and the famous Lakeland Plastics home store. Lots to do nearby and a lovely area to stay in. We had a car with us so the parking was ideal although there is a very good bus service which passes close to the apartment.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topdropper, Owner at Oakdene Apartment Suites, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review,I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.
regards,
Irene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We chose this apartment for a weekend university reunion. The apartment was clean and fresh. We found it very homely and warm with loads of space to spread out. The location was great for walking into town to shop and eat, and parking on site was very convenient. The price was really reasonable too.
An enjoyable weekend all round.

We would recommend this for small groups and families. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topdropper, Owner at Oakdene Apartment Suites, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind review,we are glad you enjoyed your time here and hope to see you again soon.
regards,
Irene.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed there whilst we did the Fred Whitton ride . Location was good property clean but extremely dated it was freezing throughout our stay there heating only being turned on during last night and day of departure . It was warmer in our car with the heater on. Beds never made and landlady approached us asking if it was cold but didnt want to come into the apartment to disturb us to turn it up. The boiler was behind a locked door ! Two of us had to sleep in fleeces .Wifi didn't work Although told free. Informed electricity could go off. Sky box without any sky channels . For a base for 3 guys who only slept there the property met our needs. I wouldn't want to stay there again ,things like central heating are basics . We had a lecture for about 30 minutes by the landlady on what we couldn't do, don't leave plug sockets down , fan in bathroom on she had refurbished dining room table and made us aware if it was marked . The Venue served its purpose but is dated and basics are heating etc. This isn't four star . This seriously needs a mystery shopper visit and an appropriate grading of property. Only plus is off street parking but told we were to move it early as the husband had to go out early . We would have stayed elsewhere but Windermere full due to bike ride Two star at best .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topdropper, Owner at Oakdene Apartment Suites, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
This is a response to the two identical reviews written word for word by the same person and published on the same day by that same person,I feel this was done on purpose to bring down our grading on TripAdvisor.
These guests, booked one of our apartments for 3 nights on line through a Booking company, and were supposed to arrive on the Friday, we waited all day and stayed up until midnight waiting for them, but they did not arrive,we received no phone call although they would have been supplied a contact number by the Booking Company. We are not a hotel and don't have a 24 hour reception, a hotel or guest house would have put them down as no show and immediately re-let it, as this gentleman said himself accommodation was in short supply that weekend, we didn't do that but held it for them in case they turned up the next day, which they did in late morning with 3 vehicles (one of them a massive van), we accommodated these vehicles but had to tell them how to park them as they were parking them any old way and we needed parking for other guests, we offer one parking space per apartment but if guests arrive with more we will always do our best to accommodate them. They had arrived while I was busy trying to service the other apartments,none the less I checked them in and tried to show them around and how everything worked,but they were in a great hurry and didn't want to know,I asked if they wanted heating on but they said no, I put it on anyway the weather although it was sunny and warm that day,( it was May after all) tended to change as it did on the Sunday, all our radiators are fitted with thermostats, and they would not give me time to tell them this and as the previous guests had turned them down, they would have needed to turn them up again. I really thought they would know this.They didn't turn them up as I discovered after they left. We could not possibly allow them access to the boiler this would have been against health and safety laws. There is also a gas coal effect fire in the lounge which throws out an enormous amount of heat. We offer self catering apartments, the clue is in the name,guests have to look after them selves, including making their own beds, which is why they pay only £20 per person, for which they get a great deal of facilities. We offer Sky free-view, we do not advertise Sky programs. We do however offer free use of a Leisure Center and heated indoor swimming pool,guests get a lounge with comfy 3 piece suite a dining area a full kitchen including dishwasher, where they can cook during their stay and avoid paying high prices in restaurants. We leave dishwasher tablets and any cleaning materials they may need, we leave toiletries and tea and coffee making facilities, but there is just so much we can offer for just £20 per person.
I don't know what he is talking about when he say's I said electricity could go off,we are connected to the national grid, I think he must have been dreaming.I did ask that they did not turn off the carbon monoxide alarm for their own safety and asked them to turn off the fan in the bathroom when they went to bed as if not we would listen to it humming all night, as it is right next to our bedroom.
I am sorry they didn't enjoy their stay here, but we were just next door if they could not turn the heating on why not come and ask us?, any complaint they had we would have been only too happy to rectify, including their access to the WiFi,they needed a key code but would not wait for us to get it for them. We tell all our guests we are always available to help at any time.
I do feel very upset and aggrieved at been called "Eccentric", I do not feel there is any need for insulting personal remarks, in fact I feel this is quite libelous.
Irene.
Owner,Oakdene apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We had a very comfortable stay as a reunion of university friends. It is a handy location for exploring the lakes, has everything one could ask for in an apartment and the owner was friendly and welcoming.

We made good use of the cooking facilities and were delighted to find there is a dishwasher. Everyone loved the extremely comfortable sofas and the TV was perfect for a film evening. A good nights sleep was had all-round and with 2 bathrooms between 4 it was ideal for getting up and ready for each day. Finally we were able to use the pass to the associated spa facilities which was a good way to relax after a long days climb.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topdropper, Owner at Oakdene Apartment Suites, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your nice review,we were glad you enjoyed your stay with us and made use of our Free Pass to Parklands Leisure Club and Swimming Pool.We are happy you enjoyed the comfort and value and free parking facilities that all our apartments offer and hope to see you again soon.
kind regards,

Irene Oakdene Apartments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Excellent location, ground floor apartment good access from car parking area on front of apartment. V comfortable beds 97 year old Mum enjoyed it too. Very helpful, chatty owner, lovely company.

Room Tip: ground floor apartment, smaller bedrooms, but still comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Oakdene Apartment Suites, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review,we are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and that your mother found the ground floor apartment with its easy access to the car useful.
We hope to see you all again soon.
kind regards,

Irene Oakdene Apartments.Windermere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We had a girls' weekend away in the Lakes and decided to stay in an apartment rather than a B&B. We had two bedrooms for the three of us so another person could have stayed and the apartment was fantastic - nice living room, kitchen, bathroom and very friendly owner who showed us around when we arrived early. As others have said, location is great, right in Windermere and close to Boness. Really couldn't fault a single thing. Would definitely go back if visiting the Lakes.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topdropper, Owner at Oakdene Apartment Suites, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review,we are glad you ignored the "revenge reviews" on this site and gave us the benefit of the doubt and enjoyed your stay with us.We hope to see you again soon.
kind regards,

Tony Baker Oakdene Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oakdene Apartment Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakdene Apartment Suites

Address: 98 Oak Street,Windermere | Cumbria.The Lake District., Windermere LA23 1EN, England (Formerly Oakdene Apart-Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three modern apartment suites within 200 yards of Windermere village in a quiet side street,each has its own lounge and kitchen,Sky free-view channels,DVD etc,two have two bathrooms,all have a full size bath,this is let on a self catering basis daily or weekly.We offer Free off street parking for one car per apartment,Free Wi-Fi,Free use of Parklands Leisure Club and Swimming Pool at the Burnside Hotel Bowness.Each apartment has one double and one twin bedroom and sleeps (4)four.On request,we can accommodate five (5)persons in apartment No1 in one double bedroom and one triple bedroom(see photos),please advise if more than four persons will be coming at the time of booking as a small additional charge is payable and only this apartment,No1,will sleep five.If you don't all want to be squashed into a "family" room in a B&B this is ideal and if you need plenty of space this is for you.Ladies and Wedding parties please note; we have our own on-site Hair Salon,"Salon TK". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Oakdene Apartment Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakdene Apart Hotel Windermere
Oakdene Apartment Suites Windermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oakdene Apartment Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.