We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent spot to enjoy the Lakes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Coach House

Save Saved
You added The Coach House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Coach House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Extra Special Offer
Ranked #34 of 113 Windermere B&B and Inns
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent spot to enjoy the Lakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just returned from a 2 night stay, the B&B is in the perfect spot between Windermere town and Bowness (where the Lake is) so we happily parked up and spent the rest of the time on foot.
The rooms are very clean and comfortable and we never heard any noise from any other guests during our stay.
The breakfasts were of a high standard, various options available and all cooked to order and severed nice and hot.
Cant fault it and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
49
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Spent a couple of nights here in July and had a truly wonderful stay. This is a lovely building which befits it's surroundings, everything (inside and out) is immaculate; decor and cleanliness is second to none. I can always find something wrong (some may say i'm picky), but not here. Helen was a wonderful host, welcoming and always making time to chat. Breakfasts were excellent, everything cooked to perfection, fresh and piping hot. Great value for money, alas the only downside is I may find it increasingly difficult to get booked here as it really is very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We wanted to enjoy a couple of days in the nature and this place turned out to be what we needed. The place was quiet and very tranquil. The room nicely decorated creating that cosy feeling. The breakfast area was also very beautiful and we enjoyed our breakfasts to the most (vegetarian option also available). The lake and the center of Windermere were in a good walking distance. We both got very happy with the place and we had the chance to relax and enjoy!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTHALLERTON
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

What a great find! .
You are made to feel most welcome on arrival and throughout. Lovely clean rooms. Lots of information both in reception and in the rooms. Nothing is too much trouble for Helen. WONDERFUL BREAKFAST!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed in the blue room, very nice, clean, tidy, tea, coffee and biscuits in the room and refreshed daily. Good shower. Free parking, central location, friendly owners and good service, good quality, tasty breakfast.

Only one thing I would change: no baked beans on the menu for breakfast, that is the only thing I can think of.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen D, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Hi
So glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and hope that you will return sometime soon, and please just ask for Baked Beans next time as I have loads! haha!
All the best
Helen and Julian at The Coach House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We were lucky enought to receive a stay over Valentines weekend at the Coach House as a wedding present. My daughter booked it on recommendation as a friend of hers had previously stayed there. The location is superb being a very short walk to both Windermere and Bowness, perfect when you just want to park the car, explore the area and forget about driving for a couple of days. On arrival Helen was at the door to greet us with a smile & show us to our lovely cozy room. We stayed in Room 2 which had lovely french windows but unfortunately with it being Feb and raining for the first half of our stay we never dared open them lol but I bet it's gorgeous to have them wide open in the warmer weather. The bed was extremely comfortable, the hospitality tray loaded with milk ( instead of the measly 4 cartons in most hotels...I like milky tea and lots of it) & hardly a sound to be heard outside our room for the entire stay. Breakfast was delicious (& I tried both the full English & continental)with plenty of cereals, yogurt, toast, fruit and fresh juice to accompany each choice. Helen was a lovely host making us feeling at home from the minute we arrived until we left and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if visiting the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen D, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Hello
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review, we do appreciate it very much, and look forward to your next visit.
All the best
Helen and Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Another January and our fourth stay at The Coach House and, once again, a great time was had! It's become an annual event for us to recover from the post Christmas blues and we eagerly look forward to it every year!
Helen's welcome is always brilliant and we feel 'at home' in no time. The room is always comfy and clean and the breakfasts are superb! In short....if you are after a great little place for a stay in Windermere / Bowness, you need look no further! We will be back next year!!!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen D, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
It was so nice to welcome you back to The Coach House, sorry for the delay in responding, but we have been busy painting the whole place from top to bottom. It is always nice to be able to welcome great people back, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best wishes
Helen and Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House

Address: Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coach House 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Coach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach House Hotel Windermere
Coach House Windermere
The Coach House Windermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.